Obama Debates Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Romney

• Obama Debates Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Romney

Republican presidential candidate, former Massachusetts Gov. Mitt Romney speaks as U.S. President Barack Obama listens during the Presidential Debate

Last night's first debate between President Obama and Republican nominee Mitt Romney may have disappointed the Washington chattering classes, as it was absent of a knockout punch by the incumbent or any well scripted zingers by the challenger. But one thing was abundantly clear: Romney's penchant for endless reinvention and flip-flopping, along with his lack of a political core, has not changed.
    The surprise that left many diehard Democrats and liberals scratching their heads was Obama's AWOL approach to Romney's most obvious liability: namely, the leaked tape of Mitt deriding 47 percent of Americans - claiming that his job is "to not worry about those people," because he could never "convince them to take personal responsibility or care for their lives." (Needless to say Romney's comments referred directly to veterans, senior citizens and much of his own Republican base: poor and working-class Whites.) The president also failed to mention Romney's refusal to release multiple years of tax returns, an issue that fueled debate for months over the candidate's foreign investments in the Cayman Islands and Switzerland, and whether Romney surreptitiously avoided paying taxes to the American government he now wishes to lead.
    Yes, on both these critical points President Obama was mute.
    But what critics may describe as the incumbent being 'off his game' may actually reveal a brilliant campaign strategy. The recent Drudge Report that sought to characterize (or caricature) the president as an 'angry Black man' is proof the GOP is still committed to Southern strategy style politics. Had Obama seemed angry or reactionary he would have played to the narrative into which so many Republican operatives wish to frame him. Instead Obama talked policy--- forcing Romney to answer to a proposed $5 trillion dollar tax cut which largely benefits high income earners, and an additional $2 trillion in defense spending--- which would decimate the national deficit and increase the tax burden on middle-class Americans.
    When pressed by PBS moderator Jim Lehrer on the $5 trillion gap, Romney called the president's interpretation "inaccurate" and completely reversed course on his past rhetoric, exclaiming---without facts to back it up---that the wealthy would not pay less under his tax proposal and all tax cuts or spending increases would be deficit neutral. The president looked on - almost in disbelief - and said, "Now [Romney] is saying that his big, bold idea is 'never mind'. The fact is if you are lowering rates the way you describe...it is impossible to come up with enough deductions or loopholes. It is math. It is arithmetic."
    This same flip-flopping appeared in the healthcare discussion. When asked about Obamacare---a policy idea originally developed by Republicans and implemented by Romney in Massachusetts---the GOP candidate quickly agreed that despite his previous "Replace and Repeal" mantra he would keep most aspects of Obama's plan---citing, in particular, provisions on preexisting conditions and ability of young people to stay on their parents' plans until 26 years old. What then would Romney replace? That, of course, remains a mystery. But he didn't end the conversation without spewing false claims that Obama's healthcare plan increased taxes by $1 trillion, something that has consistently been debunked by non-partisan economists as yet another GOP myth.
    Pundits on CNN, MSNBC and Fox News have been chewing over the details---with many liberals angry that the president didn't deliver a blow to the jugular. After weeks of debates among the political classes over who'd win and who'd lose, it now seems they're all still trying answer that silly question. Some wanted President Obama to keep talking, keep explaining, keep expounding, but when he does they accuse him of being professorial, condescending, too long-winded.
    So here's the rub, the president's record speaks for itself and is undeniable: 5 million jobs added; universal healthcare coverage for millions of previously uninsured Americans; DADT repealed; equal pay for women signed into law; the Dow Jones is at record highs---which means the average American's 401K is doing better than ever; the Iraq war has ended--on schedule, as promised; GM and Chrysler are still in business and thriving; Osama bin Laden is dead.
    What more can he say?
    Edward Wyckoff Williams is contributing editor at The Root. He is a columnist and political analyst, appearing on AlJazeera, MSNBC, CBS Washington and national syndicated radio. Follow him on Twitter and on Facebook.

http://www.ebony.com/news-views/obam...-mr-romney-117
    Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Mike Lux

Partner, Democracy Partners

GET UPDATES FROM Mike Lux

Romney: So Desperate He's Playing a Democrat on TV

Posted: 10/04/2012 11:15 am

There's no spinning this one, babe: my guy lost in last night's debate. Obama was off his game, and Romney was so much better than usual he looked almost lifelike. But the real story of last night's debate reinforces the fact that Democrats are winning the overall debate in this race, because the way Romney won last night was by acting like a Democrat -- and by being a stunningly blatant bald-faced liar. Last night's debate will not change the basic dynamic of this race because Romney is playing on our turf. The biggest question coming out of last night is not whether the election dynamic is different, it is whether the press corps does its job and calls Romney on his lies. Having lived through the Al Gore debate where a couple of tiny exaggerations set off a media firestorm over whether Al Gore was a serial liar, if the media doesn't nail Romney on his BS, it would be a moment of shame. Based on a video I got sent this morning by the Obama campaign, it looks like last night reporters started to dip their toes into the water on a Romney Pinocchio routine, so we'll see if they do their job and that keeps building.
    Whether the media does its job, though, Romney's strategy last night was remarkable: after years of thoroughly sucking up to the right wing base of his party in every conceivable way, Romney last night sounded more like a Democrat than a great many Democrats I have seen over the years. He talked about how important regulations were to a market economy. He decried Too Big To Fail banks. He said he wanted to lower the tax burden on middle income people but didn't want the wealthy to pay any less than they currently pay. He emphasized that our society needs to take care of poor people and seniors. He passionately disparaged cuts to Medicare. He talked about the importance of helping the middle class and how we needed rising wages and incomes, not just more jobs. He emphasized the importance of high quality teachers and schools. He said he wanted to keep people from losing their health insurance because of preexisting conditions.
    Romney's policies put the lie to all these things, and the rhetoric is the precise opposite of what he said during the Republican primary and his remarks on the infamous 47 percent video. But no matter: we still have the Etch-A-Sketch device. And we have a candidate who is willing to say absolutely anything if the moment calls for it.
    The most fascinating thing about all this isn't that Romney is so willing to say anything, even if it contradicts his policy stands and past rhetoric, because he has been doing all that for quite a while. The fascinating thing is how the Republicans are walking away from their own arguments about the economy. For years now, we have been hearing from Republicans that we have to cut taxes and regulations for the wealthy so that they can create more jobs. We have been hearing that since 47 percent of Americans pay no income tax, we will need to tax lower and middle income people more. We have been hearing that we need to cut programs that help poor and middle income folks because people were growing too dependent on government, that we had too many "takers" and not enough "makers."
    We heard absolutely none of those arguments last night. In his most blatant lie of a night that was chock full of them, Mitt even tried to frame his and Ryan's budget proposal, which openly lowers taxes for the wealthy and massively slashes funding for virtually all domestic programs, as a budget that would do the opposite of what it does. What we heard from Mitt last night is that you should vote for him because he really is a Democrat.
    The only good news from the night was that, while polls show voters thought Romney won, the debate really did not change the nature of this race at all. Whether the press corps does its job or not and calls out Romney for all the lies, this election is being fought on our turf. In the campaign ads and speeches, in the next three debates, the Obama team needs to clearly and definitively show, as all the evidence makes obvious, that Romney really is not a Democrat and does not share the values or support the policies he said he did last night. If we stay true to ourselves, we will show that Romney and Ryan are definitely not true to what they believe, or being honest with the American public.

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/mike-l...comm_ref=false
    Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

what critics may describe as the incumbent being 'off his game' may actually reveal a brilliant campaign strategy
      Delusional but I suppose one has to find some way to spin things when they do not go as expected. Similar to when some Repugs said that the 47% tape would actually HELP Romney.

What these people seem to be ignoring is that lack of "anger" is not what made Obama underperform the debate , it was that he didn't even defend himself well.

Obama NEVER gets "angry" in debates. Not with Hillary, not with McCain , not even with the eediot Alan Keyes chatting nonsense in the IL Senate race back in 2004. But he is usually quite effective and passionate while defending his position. He was not that last night.

plus it was the man's wedding anniversary ... you see how quick he exited stage right?

game on!

plus it was the man's wedding anniversary ... you see how quick he exited stage right?

game on!
            HAHAHA ... him never know it was his anniversary when they agreed to the date of the debate?

Listen to his closing statement .... its as if he didn't have any points planned.

That is actually the most reasonable explanation for what happened.

He didn't look like he wanted to be there.

Spending a littlw quality time last night with Michelle......He should have brought forward the anniversary celebrations one night forward.....or maybe he did that's why he looked so tired.

Obama got a severe beatdown....no excuses, and I may have to follow you to Ja if the moron becomes president.

Obama mocks Romney as ‘getting tough on Big Bird’

By Olivier Knox, Yahoo! News
                    White House Correspondent

By Olivier Knox, Yahoo! News | The Ticket – 3 hrs ago

Big Bird (Matt Sayles/AP)DENVER—President Barack Obama, stung by bad reviews in his first debate of the 2012 White House race, joked that the "very spirited fellow" onstage with him was "not the real Mitt Romney." Obama also mocked the former Massachusetts governor's pledge to cut government subsidies for PBS as "finally getting tough on Big Bird."
                    "When I got onto the stage, I met this very spirited fellow who claimed to be Mitt Romney," he told cheering supporters here. "But it couldn't have been Mitt Romney, because the real Mitt Romney has been running around the country for the last year promising $5 trillion in tax cuts that favor the wealthy."
                    "The fellow onstage last night said he didn't know anything about that," Obama said. The president then gave the same treatment to Romney on education and other issues—and hit back at one of Romney's debate zingers, "I maybe need to get a new accountant," uttered in a spat about outsourcing and whether companies can take a tax deduction for shipping jobs overseas.
                    "We know for sure it was not the real Mitt Romney because he seems to be doing just fine with his current accountant," Obama said.

The president also riffed on Romney's vow to rein in government subsidies for things like PBS. Romney said at the debate that "I like PBS. I love Big Bird. ... But I'm not going to keep on spending money on things to borrow money from China to pay for it."
                    "Thank goodness somebody is finally getting tough on Big Bird," Obama said. "We didn't know that Big Bird was driving the federal deficit." Someone in the crowd shouted, "And Elmo!" "Elmo too?" Obama said with a smile.
                    Obama's wry comments—comebacks to criticisms Romney leveled the night before—came as a top aide told reporters the president's campaign would likely make "adjustments" to its approach to future debates.
                    At the Denver rally, DJ will.i.am tried to set the mood before the president spoke, playing a song touting "a new day" and a remixed version of Journey's karaoke favorite "Don't Stop Believin'" as the crowd massed in Sloan's Lake Park sang along. Some 12,300 people turned out to see the president, according to a city and county of Denver official.
                    "A lot of us came out here because of last night, to let him know 'Don't worry, we're still here,'" said Mary-Ellen Turner, a 64-year-old homeopath wrapped in a green sleeping bag for warmth in the morning chill. "But it's good for us too."
                    "This makes me feel better after last night, you know. Seeing all these people out for the president. I was worried, I'll tell you," said Jack Walker, 76, a retired Greyhound bus driver.
                    Turner and Walker, who said they met in line, were unhappy and unsettled about Obama's subdued debate performance.
                    "I thought he should have attacked him [Romney] more, been more assertive," said Turner. "I don't know, maybe it'll all work out."
                    "I really hope that was a strategy to make Romney look like the bully he is, an attack dog. But I don't know if that's what really was going on," she said.
                    Democratic Sen. Mark Udall told the crowd that Obama had been "thoughtful, dignified, substantive and truthful." "He told us what he's for," Udall said, as the crowd cheered.
                    Udall later told reporters that the Obama campaign's energy level was "a little low this morning." "But campaigns are peaks and valleys," he added with a shrug.
                    Top Obama campaign strategist David Axelrod told reporters on a conference call about the fight going forward that "we're going to take a hard look at this" and "I'm sure we will make adjustments."
                    "He may win the Oscar for his performance last night, but he's not going to win the presidency for his performance last night," Axelrod insisted, saying Romney's strong showing "can't make up for the gap" in battleground states that will decide the election.

To me , from the little I saw...about 1 hour....OBAMA WON!

Romney won the style contest but lacked substance and did not speak to the 99% and 47%. Obama spoke to people without insurance because of pre-existing conditions. Romney spoke highly of Insurance companies, but normal people dont trust Health Insurance companies to fix anything in favour of their clients.

Obama spoke to college kids and the 99% fed up of Wall St shenanigans, Romney was seen defending Wall St and Banks.

Romney seemed more in favour of Corp welfare to the likes of Big Oil, while Obama seemed balanced in his tax policy and more visionary in supporting alternative energy.

So yeah, Romney was more glib, but he touted goals, but not plans. Obama was plodding but spoke to the issues that the struggling voter cares about and to me seemed the safer bet to trust to do stuff in their interest.

Got an article to share from the daily beast , title knockout really , cant post from here but it resonates your theme.

I think Obama won on substance, too cool and too calm came off as indifferent but he spelt out the difference clearly.

Like I said he needs to put some emotions in it , was it calcaculated to allay fears of the angry blackman I think so.....I think it will show in the polls in a couple of days.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

But To the people who ultimately matter, Obama did poorly. Every focus group and poll of undecided voters had Romney winning easily.

Obamas team is now trying make lemonade out of the lemons by focusing on the things you have mentioned from the debate. I think they will be able to minimize the damage, but things did not go as planned, that's for sure.

We will see , another poll among some college students had Obama as the winner , anyway my sentiments are along this line.

http://www.thedailybeast.com/article...e-changer.html

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

What is the goal?

To please the chattering class or sway the actual voters?

If so, Obama scored point with vast pool of single issue voters!
                              How many millions have pre-existing conditions?