• Bombastic Trinidadians

Bombastic Trinidadians
    published: Sunday | March 25, 2007
    <DIV class=KonaBody p4E55="true">

Dawn Ritch, Columnist

Any reader will know that I think the country's domestic financial sector was handed to Trinidad and <SPAN class=kLink style="FONT-WEIGHT: 400; COLOR: orange! important; BORDER-BOTTOM: orange 1px solid; FONT-FAMILY: Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif; POSITION: relative; BACKGROUND-COLOR: transparent">Barbados</SPAN> on aplatter. By any measure this is a strategic industry.

Also by any measure there is nothing more bombastic than a Trinidadian. The Barbadians are still conscious of the fact that they occupy a little atoll, even if its real estate prices now beat those of the <SPAN class=kLink style="FONT-WEIGHT: 400; COLOR: orange! important; BORDER-BOTTOM: orange 1px solid; FONT-FAMILY: Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif; POSITION: relative; BACKGROUND-COLOR: transparent">Bahamas</SPAN>, which were high to begin with. Their sea-front villas are being snapped up by rich people from the industrialised world. As a direct consequence, the Barbadian <SPAN class=kLink style="FONT-WEIGHT: 400; COLOR: orange! important; BORDER-BOTTOM: orange 1px solid; FONT-FAMILY: Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif; POSITION: relative; BACKGROUND-COLOR: transparent">prime </SPAN><SPAN class=kLink style="FONT-WEIGHT: 400; COLOR: orange! important; BORDER-BOTTOM: orange 1px solid; FONT-FAMILY: Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif; POSITION: relative; BACKGROUND-COLOR: transparent">minister</SPAN> has had to defend himself against charges of selling out the country to rich foreigners. In effect, he's replied that he doesn't regret it.

In the case of <SPAN class=kLink style="FONT-WEIGHT: 400; COLOR: orange! important; BORDER-BOTTOM: orange 1px solid; FONT-FAMILY: Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif; POSITION: relative; BACKGROUND-COLOR: transparent">Trinidad</SPAN>

RE: Bombastic Trinidadians

I bet is mosiah wrote this in the gleaner

Dawn Rich(3/25/2007)

Nevertheless there is suddenly a big hue and cry, about how wicked the Trinidadians are, when all they're doing is what comes naturally.

What the Jamaican Government must now have realised are baleful consequences of the Amerindian heritage of Trinidad. They are not Taino but Carib, and those were cannibals. We were not, and it's not part of our make-up. Murderous today, but still not cannibal.

The only thing to do with cannibals is drive them out with prosperity. That way we will have the economic independence to buy back that which they have gloatingly captured here on the cheap.

The article is filled with venom and hatred and Dawn Rich is sick b!tch. Granted the trinis are our rivals in the Carribean, but demonizing them goes below the belt.

. First, the black ones came because the Indians were running them out. Now that the blacks are in control down there, the Indians have come to Jamaica to run our show up here. They're making a very bad job of it.
        Suh is the Trinidadians fault? How can these stupid ass half wits be blaming Trinidadians for being smarter that Jamaicans?:w00t: How can Lazie say that? Remember, Lazie keep it real. Unuh continuously elect idiots to lead the country, then pray that God give them knowledge. God must fed up with a set of people that continue to mek an ass of themselves.

The article is filled with venom and hatred and Dawn Rich is sick b!tch. Granted the trinis are our rivals in the Carribean, but demonizing them goes below the belt.
          You are right Horti, I would leave that type of behavior to the Trinis.

You know, I never had any reasons to hate Trinis and during my days in college, some of my better friends were Trinis. I will therefore not make a generalization about the entire naton.

I will say however, that years gone by when a very good friend of mine decided to go to T&amp;T to study engineering, I asked him if he was comfortable going there considering they way we hear Jamaicans were mistreated down there. He said to me, "Tilla, me not going down there to have anything with the people. I am going to their country and I am going to treat it as such."

After his first year and he came home for holidays, I sat with him to talk and asked what were his thoughts on T&amp;T and if he would recommend me going there to study as well. His response was, "Tilla, di people just nuh like wi! If you can go somewhere else, avoid T&amp;T."

Anyway, I decided not to go to T&amp;T and came to the USA to do my studies. It so happened that at the same house I was to live, there was a Grenadian, an American, A Trini and me a Jamaican there. The Trini arrived a bit late at the start of the semester, so he did not really meet me officially. He heard that a Jamaican was living there as well as I know that we were expecting a Trini. The first afternoon I was to meet the Trini I was coming in and when I got to the front door and opened it to step in, as I walked into the corridor, I came face to face with this guy Ithought was the next person to be living there. as I was about to pass him, I raised my right hand and said hi how are you doing? Before you know it the man had jumped into a karate stance! I just looked at him and walked passed leaving him feeling embarrassed.

As the months went on and he learned to relax around me, I got to realize the heavy burden of hate and misconceptions some of these young Trinis were carrying for us Jamaicans. I had to listen to a whole gamut of stories about Manley coming to T&amp;T with hat in hand begging money. For one thing, the fool was so mixed up that he actually thought it was Michael Manley they were talking about (not to say Michael may not have sought funds too, but his time frame was more in reference to father Norman).

I am saying all of this because I found it surprising the hate the older Trinis were breathing into their young for Jamaicans. I told this guy that Jamaicans in his age group (at the time he was 21 and I was about 6 years older) do not have those sort of thoughts about his people. Most do not even care about what Trinis do or if they are the richest people in the Caribbean etc.

In all of that, we must ask ourselves if hate can run so deep that Trinis would invest their money into businesses inour country only to make it fail. I do not think so. I think they have every interest in being successful in Jamaica, but they may have the money but lack the requisite managemnt skills to run a business successfully in Jamaica.
          "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

tilla i have you heard stories of the Jamaican behaviour on the campus at st augustine. A few of my friends told me that they have no problem with JA people but some of your country men get out of hand and are very very bad mind .

A friend of mines told me a story when he was at howard and they was a caribbean week celebration . On the organizing committee there different nationals from varous island . A suggestion was made for some pan also .A few of your country mensaid that they dont want that stupidness and soca is one set a stupidness etc... Tilla Jamacians netball team boo us in trinidad in 1978 against new zeland or austraila for the netball . Tilla peter tosh come trinidadand call our steel pan noise!! .....

Who understands Jamaicans?<P align=left><P align=left>http://www.guardian.co.tt/bussguardian3.html<P align=left>Clearly, there are those in Jamaica who have not paid enough attention to economic and financial events in their own country in the last decade. <P align=left>Some people choose to ignore the fact that Jamaica’s indigenous financial institutions went into melt-down mode a decade ago and that as a result, the Jamaican government felt it had to intervene to maintain confidence in the financial system. <P align=left>That intervention cost the Jamaican people close to US$2 billion—money which the then PJ Patterson administration had to borrow. <P align=left>As a result of the melt down and the intervention, investors from throughout the Caribbean were invited to save Jamaica. RBTT invested US$33 million to acquire Union Bank. TCL made an initial investment of US$29 million to buy the Jamaica government’s 43 per cent stake in Caribbean Cement. TCL also assumed US$100 million in debt and has made additional capital and equity investments in the Jamaican cement company. <P align=left>Guardian Holdings acquired three companies. Sagicor bought Life of Jamaica for about US$350 million. Butch Stewart’s bought the Jamaica government’s majority stake in the 237-room Sandals Ocho Rios for US $14 million. Michael Lee Chin bought NCB Jamaica. <P align=left>In other words, as a result of the financial melt-down ten or 11 years ago, the Jamaica government had to raise money by selling state-owned assets as well as borrow money to bail out financial institutions whose owners got rich by borrowing short and lending long. <P align=left>Maybe there is a message and a warning in there somewhere for us here.

Come now Triniman ... because some Jamaicans don't appreciate soca music justifies not liking Jamaicans? That nuh mekno sense. It is their choice. I am quite certain there are Trinis that don't like Reggae and Dancehall music. A nuh nothing, its their choice.

One correction, the financial services went into meltdown because of Omar's policies. The rest I have no problem with.

I am shocked.

Did anyone else in here realize Tilla was a child prodigy ?

Dem deh breed ah argument at 6 ! and Worse yuh all me di man jumpy just by saying hi !

I nevah have a clue rasta.. rispec.

"US$500 million trade surplus” with T&T. The only country Jamaica probably does not have a trade surplus has got to be the Fauklands.

Tilla peter tosh come trinidad and call our steel pan noise!! .....
                        Remember Namishirt, Peter Tosh did not speak for all Jamaicans. Peter Tosh had a tendency to be controversal and allways went against the ways of thinking of the common man. It is really a bad example to use Peter Tosh to paint an image of the Jamaican population. I for one did not agree with a lot of what Peter Tosh stood for and preached, although he was one of my favorite reggae artists. I am sure that there are Trini's as well who consider reggae and dancehall music as noise or garbage. On the other hand, there are Trinis who love music.

I personally do not have a liking for two types of music and they are Country and Soca. I do however like the Trini steel pan music or pan jazz as they call it. I know when I was in Jamaica if you were going to a "session" as it was called back then, you had to have some soca at some point during the proceedings.

The experience wth the Howard students now is something with the individuals, not all Jamaicans. Some Jamaicans like some Trinis are close minded and are only comfortable with their own. Those type of people did not deserve to be on an organizing committee as they are making thier personal taste be the deciding factor in coming to a decision affecting a wide cross section of people. My time at Howard was a time when we tried toshowcase the Caribbean to the rest of the student body during Caribbean week. They did not chose or allowpeople who were culturally myopic on those committees. You have those types in every country, but you should not use the few to make a generalization of the majority. (N)
                        "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Dawn Ritch is really
                          a SICK BITCH!@!

What a VENOMOUS article!!

Apart for her obvious vitriol, Ritch shows her complete ignorance of BASIC Caribbean history, politics and sociology.

To even try to objectively respond to this piece of garbage disguised as journalism is a waste of time. What is this nonsense about Caribs and Arawaks? This Eurocentric mis-history and view of the Amerindians have long been thrown out - there were no cannibals, there were no separate tribes. Furthermore, the small percentage of original peoples left in Trinidad is miniscule at best. Her total infantile perspective on Black vs. Indian socio-politics is out of syncwith what is pertained. This kind of gutter journalism is what drives the stupid and ignorant people on both sides of the Caribbean sea and continues to fester the intemperance that exists. The politicians have always done their utmost best to divide the people. Do we really need bitter, self-centred and obviously lazy journalists to do that??

Trinidadians smarter than Jamaicans?!?! I don't know which is worse - Ritch's article or your statement. Toss up, I guess.