• Retire in Jamaica?

Jamaica's Growing Violence Threatens Retiree Economy

August 11, 2010
    COMFORT CASTLE, Jamaica—Two elderly pensioners in this mountaintop village joined hundreds of Jamaicans with a grisly fate: expatriates who spent their working lives abroad, then moved home only to be killed.

Read More
    http://online.wsj.com/article/SB1000...614635158.html

Why people retire in Jamaica and choose the most remote places to settle? Get a townhouse in a gated community or sitting nuh...

The fact is...folks should be able to live anywhere in Jamaica.

No kidding...but why push your luck? Who the hell gonna help you if anything happens in a remote mountaintop village? Elderly couples living on their own in remote locations...what is an easier target than that?

Retirees who have not visited Jamaica over the years have a more difficult time adjusting to the security demands of living in a dangerous society. I have family who returned, and they were advised to install grill in the most obscure areas of the house, in places where a cunning criminal could take advantage of a potential security flaw.

The last thing I would want to retire to is a gated community. I would want a remote place. Never lived in a gated community or within a town for a long time. Always lived between 20-40 miles out of the city and that is what I enjoy and would want.

These people are not asking for extraordinary protection, just basic service but I guess "welcome to Jamrock".

Well then if unnuh waan dead a fi unnuh problem dat...i don't trust none a dem dutty neiga...they got guns...i got guns...

As long as we change the national motto and stop wear black to funeral, all will be well. What U worried about? Help has arrived!
                Last edited by Willi; September 30, 2012, 01:02 PM.

I don't want talk too loud but Portland have a lot of returning resident who has intergrated fine in our communities. The people look out for them as they are a good source of income, constantly building, want personal taxi service, and have nuff grand kids and kids coming to visit and spending in local communities.

lol ! woiee !

tek time nuh..

Garvey in School is the silver bullet !

Is dat save all di Campion students dem..

Just curious, a wha yuh packing? Mek sure yuh go range once/month fi stay sharp, cause yuh nuh waan a try fire sumtin in a life & death situation and it deh pon safe.

We refuse to get serious as a nation.

serious bout di wrang tings yuh mean.. yuh nuh tink all like Jawge serious bout him 'Blackness' ?

For self-esteem purposes raise my Children inna Yard before Babylon everytime.. mek dem gwaan..

At this point I know you are serious...Leaving NYC to live in high density....

When last you attend a funeral in JA, yuh out of touch, dem backless dress and sports out fit ah su eh gu....