Origins of Jamaica Towns - Help

Thanks, I will pursue this lead, I have seen births for Flint River recorded(low 1800), therefore they are saying the slave plantation has village/town status.

I have been going by that place from early 50' and as never observe any activity to say it's a town, matter of fact I spoke to a Public Health Inspector during the late 40' who can't recall Flint River as a village.

I am not sure if they have ever done a significant research on that Plantation.

Here is a good link, rivers that sinks etc..http://books.google.com/books?id=-Lw...amaica&f=false

Thanks...that name Recovery (Pen) slipped me.

https://familysearch.org/

As you mentioned "Records of Births and Deaths" here is a great site that was recently brought to my attention by a retired UWI Mona librarian friend - https://familysearch.org/

So far I have been able to trace some of my relatives going back to the 1800s. Hopefully I shall be able to go even further backwards.

Stonigut mentioned Issac Jackson as a former owner of the property. Maybe you would find some interesting facts.
        Last edited by Karl; October 2, 2012, 08:55 AM. Reason: Additing infomation

Actually Karl, I meant to say that is where the gold is, this guy was a prolific writer, apparently there are hundreds of pieces of written correspondence that are in a collection, just google him and you will see a ton of stuff.

there are a whole heap of isaac jacksons

I am using that LDS very useful, especially if you can speak to someone who are in their 80's that is willing to fill in the gaps.....

I will try the Gleaner archives for Isaac Jackson...did you know that Donalva is carried as Mt Hannah, Cascade as Brownsville?

one may have been in St. Thomas!

Check this link, Flint River had one of the First PO in Hanover.

Wow this link shows Ramble, Copse & Chester Castle PO under St James..http://www.jamaicaphilately.info/10_...manac_1877.pdf

As you mentioned "Records of Births and Deaths" here is a great site that was recently brought to my attention by a retired UWI Mona librarian friend - https://familysearch.org/

So far I have been able to trace some of my relatives going back to the 1800s. Hopefully I shall be able to go even further backwards.

Mi find one too, my mother's great-grandmother - Sarah Wellington!!

Thank you Karl. This is a project towards our family reunion!! Now I have to trace the Speids!

Originally posted by TDowl View Post
                        Wow this link shows Ramble, Copse & Chester Castle PO under St James..http://www.jamaicaphilately.info/10_...manac_1877.pdf
                        Damn?
                        Wonder if it was an error or the boundaries were different then? Help?

Got yuh, sir.

Originally posted by TDowl View Post
                            I am using that LDS very useful, especially if you can speak to someone who are in their 80's that is willing to fill in the gaps.....

I will try the Gleaner archives for Isaac Jackson...did you know that Donalva is carried as Mt Hannah, Cascade as Brownsville?
                            I can speak to Cascade - Still 'carried' as Brownsville.

Originally posted by MdmeX View Post
                              Mi find one too, my mother's great-grandmother - Sarah Wellington!!

Thank you Karl. This is a project towards our family reunion!! Now I have to trace the Speids!
                              You are welcome.

Speids?
                              Damn! Ruddy Speid a yuh fambly?
                              He is president of KSAFA and JFF Executive Member.

http://www.amphilsoc.org/mole/view?d...;brand=default

Here is the right one, google Isaac Jackson, flint river estate.