Admit it, PNP, you can't handle the job
Originally posted by Islandman View PostIn a functioning democracy with alternatives, they would never have been put back in power.
But the JLP is barely a party these days."Jamaica's future reflects its past, having attained only one per cent annual growth over 30 years whilst neighbours have grown at five per cent." (Article)
That is a very blinkered version of events Lazie.
I would not have voted for PNP in the last election (once Bruce left) but given what happened if you cannot see why the public would have been turned off from the JLP govt then there is no point debating this."It is easier to build strong children than to repair broken men" - Frederick Douglass
Originally posted by Islandman View PostThat is a very blinkered version of events Lazie.
I would not have voted for PNP in the last election (once Bruce left) but given what happened if you cannot see why the public would have been turned off from the JLP govt then there is no point debating this.
"if you cannot see why the public would have been turned off from the JLP govt "
We don't have to debate anything I-Man, Jamaicans have once again proven that democracy without education is useless. I see Mark Wignall refer to them as "low-information voters" Eventually people one by one see the light."Jamaica's future reflects its past, having attained only one per cent annual growth over 30 years whilst neighbours have grown at five per cent." (Article)
I hope the powers tha t be in the JLP are not following the same path as you or they will never win another election in Jamaica...Again, the people are not to be blamed...As uneducated as the people are, the PNP won the election because of the wrongs of the JLP..not what the pnsaid or did. No one expected us to close a deal with the IMF in 2 weeks whenwe have nothing to offer...maybe if JLP took sometime in negotiating the original deal they wouldn't have failed some of the requirements that was in that stanby agrrement.
The people basically saw the JLP as a bunch of lying crooks with controversey after another. Manatt hurt the JLP alot because it showed up the leaders. Whether u believe it or not, or call it uneducated, no one wants to vote for a people they can't trust...How many of those who testified at Manatt kept their seat at the elections?
Remember the debates? A strong inteligent Holness barely got the edge over what is suppose to be a dumb ass leader called Portia.
Rember Bruce stepping down and storeis after stories contradicting JLP comments?
After 4 years in power, JLP was telling people that this year would be worse than previous..remember that bitter pill?
Sow hy is anyone surprised that this year is worse than last? Because of what the PNP said? give me a break..Go ask Obama, he said alot of things when he was voted in and how much has he fulfilled in his 4 years?
You have voters you consider to be uneducated and you let the PNP go out and tell them what they want to hear...when they were already p********ed of that the bunch of JLP leaders were croked liars...and u blame them..wheel and come again and stop blame the people..blame the campaign and all the mistakes Bruce and co. made.
Plush it has been 9 months. More than enough times to conclude an IMF deal. AT least Obama kept some of his promises. All people are asking from the PNP is to keep the economy stable and do the the things they should be doing. Nobody expecting a miracle, the JLP lost and that is politics, it is not that this year was not going to be easier but people thought we would have a new IMF agreement or some sort of stability, but there is uncertainty which will lead to more pain in the long term and short term.
The only blame I give the people is to be better stewarts of their country and their government. Election is win and lost but how many times are they going to sit back and take this crap, dollar running away, inflation about to pop, interest rate about to pop and business confindence is falling like fly.
I am sure you are not saying the PNP aren't a bunch of liars as well. If nobody expected IMF deal in two weeks why wouldn't the PNP at least clarify that? Are you saying it is ok to lie? Is it ok for Portia and other to lie because they don't know better or the people know better but then the JLP is just "wicked"?
Is that the standard? Are we to expect nothing from the PNP because the JLP is a bad bunch? Are we are suppose to hold them to the same standard?
The PNP knew the environment. I gave them six months to get the ball arolling before I started to say much but we need action NOW!!!! not next year. I don't care if PNP rule for 50 years, just get the variable right and perform. Nothing substitute a stable country and economic growth. The rest can be dealt with.Last edited by Assasin; September 28, 2012, 04:36 PM.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
Sass,, I do agreee, something needs to happen and we need to push for accountability from both authorities...My earlier points were more about balming the people for JLP losing the election.
Peter and company exaggerated things in the run up to the election but where was the JLP to discredit them...anyway, enough of that, the election is over.
THe uncertainty in the economy is hurting us bad and JEEP we know is a crap feel good project. I criticized this a few weeks ago...money is being wasted cleaning up banks, cutting grass and all kind of crap across Jamaica..is that the best use of the scarce dollars...Can't we think of anything that will create sustainable jobs and produce something that will benefit the country...instead of giving a man a job for a week then he is back to where he was.....
I do think six months is a short time and I'm giving them a year to see their accomplishments then.
It's never ok to lie but the stupid points that were made by the PNP teams should have been challenged instead of now asking them to live up to what we know were unrealistic goals....I bet you half of Jamaica don't even know the pros and cons of an IMF agreement..that's why we have lected reps and opposition to challenge these guys and keep them honest..but if ur not honest yourself, how are u going to be credible in front of the people...
Plush my thing is the PNP had 4 years and instead of coming up with some plans they actually didn't. It has been 10 months now and not one major economic speech from the PM. Peter Phillips knew the urgency of the IMF deal and just started to negociate with them? He said in May, then summer then by the end of the year and we know the chance of an IMF deal by Demember at best is about 20% chance.
If there was the leadership I would wait for a year like you but they are showing no such conviction as it seems all ministers are on their own.
We can do better than Jeep but are we going to actually ask our people to change the culture or give them feel nice symbolic stuff? Do you realise how many HEART students JEEP money could have employed for six month or a year to actually learn a trade? A waiter training is 6 months, so too is a bartender. Hair dresser, electrian is also under 1 year, They could also support small entreprenuership venture when they are done? Identify projects like the women in Mango Valley St. Mary and the ones I see in St. Elizabeth and St.Thomas doing and try duplicate it in communities accross the island.
I have been to Ja even recently and I notice the person who work in an hotel, even the all inclusive who smile with the guest, ask them simple question like "where are you from"? "what the weather like in your hometown" " Are you enjoying your stay" and the bus driver who point out spots and help the guests always end up getting good tips. Some can earn a good 50 dollars a day. The fact is we have to maximize this and people need basic training.
We can't depend on politcal parties to decide the facts and numbers, we need analysts and other experts to acutally crunch it and question the politicians. You notice for example after debates in the US how the facts are actually been checked by indepenent groups? You can get away with certain things on political platform, I have no problem with platform but when you present things tothe media and public at large, through parliment, releases or the public forum it must be questioned by analyst and experts.
What we can do is so redundant but we don't believe we can. One good thing little thing I saw is that we are actually distrubing our own bottle water as oppose to some years ago when people would tell me it was cheaper to import. If we go through the lines of the things we can make instead of importing, and instead of giving break to people who import and work in Jamaica from other countries, the breaks should go to people start business and we need cheerleaders for people who try to start a little thing on the side or invest their little savigs and make sure the environment is ripe for them to succeed. Otherwise there is NO sustainable job creation.Last edited by Assasin; September 28, 2012, 07:13 PM.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
Yuh know wha really frightening, not ah word from supportahs, media, private sector, analysts, journalists nuh baddy. is jus peer silent night, mi jus nuh understand it at all, tall tall. Ah kyaan believe people partisan suh dat dem kyaan speak up bout di non direction ah di island, dats is di most surprising part. Ah wondah, if all dem said partisan people weh hah pickney ah dem si dem pickney ah guh dung a path of no direction inna dem life, if ah suh dem wouldah jus silent suh.Last edited by myYout; September 29, 2012, 07:52 PM.