Jamaican USA success story - PETER FREW

• Jamaican USA success story - PETER FREW

The New York Times reports that Peter came to New York with that all important skill and now the “33-year-old Jamaican immigrant works out of his ground-floor apartment near Flatbush Avenue, in Brooklyn, and makes around $50,000 a year”.

http://moneymax101.com/20120911/jama...-we-can-learn/

Trust me that likle income just does not compute as real(?)!
    Mi seh wi bredda gone clear...right?!!!

$50,000 a year in New York City? Not too sure how much of a success that is...but anyway...

Shhhh, di tax man...

Let's see...
          2 suits a month for 11 months a year at $4,000 a piece is $88K.

Even at 10 months a year is $80K.

I would have thought that he could know out 1 suit every 3 days and charge only $2K apiece and still mek $96K a year working only 10 months.

A lie him a tell. Him not reporting all that he makes.

I remember back in Jamaica, your tailor was as important and as necessary as your barber. You followed them around when they changed locations. I had a tailor who had a shop on Duke Street downtown, he moved to Duhaney Park then to Mandeville. It ********ed me off that I had to drive all the way to Mandeville to get two pants "build". That's what you did, build a pants or build a suit. This guy was so good that all I needed to do was just buy the cloth and give it to him and tell him the style. He knew my measurement by heart. Now there was a Bespoke tailor who had a shop above Derrick "Chariott" Harriott record store. He made all the blazers for the institution that I worked for.
              Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

LoL

Yes, Jakan tailors didnt sew or make, they BUILT!

"just buy the cloth" (sounds like a badwud) you mean "buy a pants lent" .... i wonder if is Spencer's yuh was talking about?

...and to this day, some of them never got paid! Me know - because one of my cousin was a tailor, and had a soft spot for all the sad stories etc.

I had a dressmaker/designer in Portie named Ms. George (used to live up at Birch Hill, the lane by the Gleaner shop). Ms. George was around that machine well into age 80+++.

"just buy the cloth" (sounds like a badwud) you mean "buy a pants lent" .... i wonder if is Spencer's yuh was talking about?

Yard and turd (1/3) was the average pant length. I used to buy yard & half...since i was on the tall side.

George Odom Fabric, Terylene, Crimplene, shinaz fabrics were among the pants-length I used to wear.

Thanks for the memories!!

Actually Will, that is the term used by custom tailors the world over, especially those on the Row.

A nuh my tailor - Ruddy!
                          Dat bredda was 'baaaad'!!!

Pepperseed. Orange Street where you go to get your cloth from the haberdasheries. I used to tief the styles out of the. GQ magazines my tailor did wikkid.
                            Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

LoL

Mi wouldnt know...not my league... LoL