The Colour Of Money In Multiracial Jamaica
Yuh talking external appearance or genetics?
If its genetics, then I doubt if 5% of Jakans have "pure" sub-saharan AFRICAN genes.
We are much more mixed than U are pretending. The blackest person in Jamaica likely has more than 10% genetic derivation from outside Africa.
Emmit King the US former pro football player was the person most "african" of all the many black people they tested in England. He was only 81% black! Colin Jackson was 39% white, for example and somehow seemed surprised. LoL
We people in the Western Hemishpere totally mixed up. FACT.
Now, I agree with you that the Devon house pickney photo is far from representative, unless dem draw dem from Seaforth Town or sumpen. I also agree that anyone who thinks that being black is somehow shameful is an idiot at best. African culture is one of the most important elements in what gives Jamaica its identity. I notice how all and sundry clinging on to Bolt's coattails!
It is all a cruel joke anyway, as WE ARE ALL AFRICAN. A desso all life come fram and mi nuh care who try deny dat, reality is reality.
Originally posted by Reggaedoc View PostI read that article yesterday and found that it is in keeping with my own observations. There is definitely a profound attempt to "lighten" Jamaica, as I have noticed in the major newspapers, especially the "society-type" sections eg Lifestyle columns. This reminds me of the old tourism campaign ads for the Dominican Republic. If one wasn't aware of the demographics of the DR in those days, you would think that it was located in Scandinavia. I can see clearly where there are elements within Jamaica who wouldn't mind that sort of thing, until it comes to them making money from "all things Jamaican", then all of a sudden, Rasta, Jerk, sprinting, reggae etc and other things created by the Jamaican "darkies" become central to their existence. Take away the financial incentives from those cultural artifacts, and in the privacy of their relatives and friends in Miami, they are "Not like those other Jamaicans". "They can fool some people all of the time, and they can fool all of the people some of the time, but they can't fool all of the people all of the time". Words of wisdom from Abe Licoln. Pay attention. Only one man's expression of his observation of the disgrace.
...my wife at a number of institutions she has worked since 'coming to America' has been asked if she is 'really Jamaican' and on occasions asked why she talks 'white'...yet on others 'you can know a Jamaican anywhere' - referring to actions and speech...
Never heard that in reference to me save once when on a TSA conference call with associates from another country Gamma mentioned I changed my 'tone/intonation/accent'... I have to plead guilty as I am a teacher and salesman and write, speak...deliver myself as per what I am trying to achieve...all without false messages. As with my "TEAM" message on this board which I decided I had to preach over a 3 or so years period (notice I rarely preach on it now - as I think mission accomplished?) the message must always be targeted.
May have to return to the FORWARD message?
...but the real question on the topic addressed by Carolyn Cooper is; are we not beyond my father (not my Mom) and the generations before him still with inbedded 'self-hate'?
Yup! My Dad from time to time makes class and anti-black (self-hate) statements...perhaps we (his kids, other relatives, his friends and acquaintances) are complicit in that somewhere I think we give him a pass (Cannot help giving my Dad a pass...can I? ...May I ask you about you giving your parents a pass in this and many, many other areas?) saying/thinking he is a product of a bygone era?
...and oooh yes, I often...too often perhaps lay my 'past' and present bare on this board. Guess I have always been examining 'who am I?'...and I am not afraid of the answers after all is said and done - I am, who I am! Growing each day...but present as present moves FORWARD , I am, who I am!"Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has."
If dats di case I am equipped to meet her needs if she pass di qualifying examination
All di same mi nuh find har writings offensive or even particularly controversial....whether I agree with her or notTIVOLI: THE DESTRUCTION OF JAMAICA'S EVIL EMPIRE
LOL...well mi nuh too anxious fi find outTIVOLI: THE DESTRUCTION OF JAMAICA'S EVIL EMPIRE