• Reneto courted by PNP

<DIV id=printReady>

Reneto courted by PNP
    published: Saturday | March 24, 2007
    <DIV class=KonaBody p4E55="true">

Senior Superintendent of Police (SSP) Reneto Adams says he had been approached by the People's National Party (PNP) to run on its ticket in South West St. Elizabeth in the upcoming general election. The party's general secretary, Donald Buchanan has, however, categorically denied this claim.

In an <SPAN class=kLink style="FONT-WEIGHT: 400; COLOR: orange! important; BORDER-BOTTOM: orange 1px solid; FONT-FAMILY: Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif; POSITION: relative; BACKGROUND-COLOR: transparent">interview</SPAN> with The Gleaner yesterday, SSP Adams said the PNP had asked him to represent the party in the constituency, adding that an internal poll had shown that he would emerge victorious over the <SPAN class=kLink style="FONT-WEIGHT: 400; COLOR: orange! important; FONT-FAMILY: Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif; POSITION: relative">Jamaica</SPAN> Labour Party's candidate, Dr. Christopher Tufton.

Mr. Adams, who hails from the constituency said, however, that he had no interest in the political process at this time.

But the party's general secretary told The Gleaner that at no time was Mr. Adams approached to represent the party. Mr. Buchanan said he was confident that the current PNP candidate, the Reverend Stanley Redwood, would take homethe seat for the party.
    </DIV></DIV>

RE: Reneto courted by PNP

You have a high toleranceof pain..

Can someone explain to me the resistance for change in the face of mind numbing incompetence, corruption and arrogance ?

If a dis mek the JLP can count on yuh vote, then obviously yuh not teking this seriously. Renato running for the PNP is the least of all the problems.

Why would they even consider asking him to represent the PNP? His unit has been responsible for the loss of so many lives. But then again, he might fit in just well with the comrades.

They would consider it because even though he seen as murderer many people in the country still see him as a man of strength who will stand in the face of badmen. You nuh see the Portmore major seh him wish he had a lot more Adams that he could use in his community.

Politics is all about psychology and they probably knowfor every Mosiahthere are 20 people who would vote for him.

Thats the problem, nobody cares until s hit reaches their doorstep.

As wrong as it seems Lazie. A lot of these people look on it as Renato killinga few people who hang out with the criminals vs the criminals killing them and them family because them "nah work wid the order"

Look like them feel that the better odds is to be on Renato's side.

It okay for Lazie to sit in the safety of his environment and state that people who are living in an environment where criminals are killing two year old children should notwant somebody like Adams whois aggressive as the criminals and who tramples over thier rights in the same way they trample over the rights of innocent people every single day in Jamaica. I'm not arguing the correctness of Adam's approach but if I was living in the ghetto amongst criminals who have no regard for my life or my family members, I'm the last person who is going to be criticizing an Adam's type police officer as a matter of fact I welcome them. Speaking about the due process due to criminals does not help the innocents whoare existing undera terror-like reign. It is naive for us to sit back nice and safe and not contextualize the circumstances facing innocent people daily.

<DIV>
                  Briggie (3/26/2007) I'm not arguing the correctness of Adam's approach but if I was living in the ghetto amongst criminals who have no regard for my life or my family members, I'm the last person who is going to be criticizing an Adam's type police officer as a matter of fact I welcome them.
                  </DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>Really? When last yuh talk to someone in the ghetto re Adams?</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>Why can't we have tough policing which doesn't abuse people's rights? </DIV>

Tough policing doesn't necessarily require the abuse of human rights but in Jamaica it is near impossible to accomplish the type of policing without some infringement. When you consider corruption in the police force, witnesses afraid to come forward and general public skeptism it makes policing extremely challenging. In New York when Guiliani was mayor thier was a defacto suspension of certain civil liberties whislt the crime problem was being tackled. Now as a black man it was specifically my group whose liberties were the most curtailed but at the same time we also were major beneficiaries of the policy as our neighborhoods were no longer open drug markets with wild wild west killings. Amadou Diallo, Loiuma and others suffered as a result of these policies but the good accomplished outweighed the bad in my opinion. Jamaica needs a radical appproach to crime and sacrifice has to be made by the populous. We can not expect the necessary progress without the sacrifice and pain that will accompan\y it. Everything else is a form of academic masturbation where we espouse approaches that sound great but are devoid from reality.

Where does the 'Radical' approach start ?

The Govt being SERIOUS about allocating the required budget towards it AND cleaning up the force ?

OR 'Radical' meaning infringing on civil liberties..

I noticepeople like to talk about radical approach as if 'reasonable' approaches have been seriously attempted.

Crime is a problem because the Head of the Stream is not serious and has other priorities.

When you can grasp that then you ready to start sensible discussion about crime problem in JA.

I wonder if Diallo and Louima would agree with you.

We should probably liken the 'crime problem' in Jamaica to a situation on a Slave Plantation where particulary harsh conditionsencourage certain violent acts and disturbances primarily localised in the area of the Slave Quarters. The Plantation owner suffers the occasional embarrasment when having guests over for dinner and the commotion is noticeable or when the Plantation Owners gather for social comraderie and the gossip is about the indicipline on a particular estate. Said owner however is able to overlook these inconveniences since he is saving money he would normally use to improve conditions and pocketing it or spending on certain luxuries.

If the Slaves are particularly unruly, the Owner sends in a few especially overseers to knock a few heads together. The organized slaves are able to improve their conditions by creative methods that do not directly impact the Slave Owner or his staff.. one or two might cross the line but are summarily dealt with to set an example.

The Plantation long term eventually suffers the consequence of the neglect and siphoning off of monies.. the owner is not that concerned however since worst case he can turn it over to a sucker or simply abandon the estate and live off his riches.. in the meantime he will enjoy the power and short term luxuries..

Gentlepeople correct me if I'm wrong but other that a few aberrations homicide's in Jamaica has been on a consistent upwards trend since we became independent. When we speak of "head of the Stream" not being serious is that reserved for current leadership or our kleadership since our independence? Diallo and Loima paid greatly for the sacrifice of civil liberties but many more people are walking around today as a result. The police are underresourced in Jamaica just like our healthcare andeducational sectors amongst others. Bottom line we have to be willing to make a sacrifice or else we will just be engaging in fancy talk and people will still lose their life's on adaily basis. I agree that the conditions that exist have contributed to our crime problem but it is not the sole contributor. The same reason that spanglers and shower man was creating mayhem in the "land of opporunity" in the eighties early nineties is the same reason some of the people in Jamaica going on the way they are.

<DIV>
                              Briggie (3/26/2007)Gentlepeople correct me if I'm wrong but other that a few aberrations homicide's in Jamaica has been on a consistent upwards trend since we became independent. When we speak of "head of the Stream" not being serious is that reserved for current leadership or our kleadership since our independence? Diallo and Loima paid greatly for the sacrifice of civil liberties but many more people are walking around today as a result. The police are underresourced in Jamaica just like our healthcare andeducational sectors amongst others. Bottom line we have to be willing to make a sacrifice or else we will just be engaging in fancy talk and people will still lose their life's on adaily basis. I agree that the conditions that exist have contributed to our crime problem but it is not the sole contributor. The same reason that spanglers and shower man was creating mayhem in the "land of opporunity" in the eighties early nineties is the same reason some of the people in Jamaica going on the way they are.
                              </DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>What unbridled crap!</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>Briggie, the holocaust has enlightened us about man's inhumanity to man and has kept us on our guards against repeating such a crime. Let's give thanks to the 6 million who were sacrificed so that we can live in a world that has gone 60 years without a world war. </DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>SUCH GARBAGE!!! Let's not even touch the slavery thing.</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>Briggie, can I invite you to be our next sacrificial lamb so that I may continue walking around today? I knew you would accept. Thanks!</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>Talk about educated fools!</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV></DIV>