• Jamaica introduces Garveyism in classrooms

Jamaica introduces Garveyism in classrooms

KINGSTON, Jamaica (AP) — Struggling with a chronically stagnant economy and one of the highest crime rates in the world, Jamaica is turning for help to a black nationalist leader who died more than 70 years ago.
    Marcus Garvey, who inspired millions of followers worldwide with messages of black pride and self-reliance, is being resurrected in a new mandatory civics program in schools across this predominantly black country of 2.8 million people.

read more

http://news.yahoo.com/jamaica-introd...172134723.html

Hortical One, don't mean to throw cold-water on this very noble idea. But Garvey's standards for Black people require some basic things.

Family structure is one: By this I mean the presence of a Father (Dad, Daddy) in the home. I would like to see the stats on the % of Jamaican household that have a Father figure present..........

It requires also education: It's tough teaching those with below formal education. On every trip to Jamaica, I visit a certain Primary School. The conditions at this school are heart rending. I met the Principal (who should NOT be incharge of any school). If my tear-ducts were not dry...i would literally bawl at the appauling state of this place of learning. And it is not unique to this school. I have seen (so called High Schools) that looks like bomb shelter.

I pray that the idea of teaching Garveyism works. I have read a fair amount of his works...and try to pattern his ideas.

Jamaica need lots and lots of help. Just that change can come from grass-roots ideas like the one proposed. More immediate change come through good government leadership. And that don't seem to be coming soon.

Love the idea a lot though!!!

noice!

which comes first?

Family first...with Dad at the head and stability of the household!!!!

can't it begin with teaching them that through garveyism? isn't that a way to get to those children from the households that may not have that structure and in so doing impress upon them the value of it so that they do not REPEAT their circumstances?

if 10 or even 1 out of a hundred gets it then that is one out of a hundrd less for the next generation and garveyism is at the moment perhaps the perfect vhicle for this....my 2 cents

um.. suh all chiney pickney haffi tek dat class ?

:-)

um.. suh all chiney pickney haffi tek dat class ?

nuh fret....yuh pickney safe

ok.. but is it mandatory ?

suppose mi prefer dem study Jesus or Confucius ?

Mi nuh know aks di PNP.... but unnu cudda juss deal wid it like foreign culture immersion
                    No travel below Cross Roads necessary....but nuh expek nuh latte wid unnu lesson dem
                    Last edited by Don1; September 23, 2012, 12:22 PM.

why not?

How Chineyman gwine resolve going 'back' to Africa ??

these chinese persons in jamaica....do they do jamaican history?

mi nuh know.. why ?

is a similar question to yours above. think about it from the same perspective .....