• Brothers ambushed, robbed

[FONT='Times New Roman','serif']Brothers ambushed, robbed

Published: Thursday | September 20, 2012 Comments 0

Horace Fisher, Gleaner Writer

From deal of a lifetime to near-death experience
    MAY PEN, Clarendon:

WHAT INITIALLY seemed like a deal of a lifetime for two St Mary brothers became a near, death experience for them.

Al and Paul journeyed from their St Mary-based home to May Pen to purchase a motor car advertised in the newspaper, but ended up ambushed, robbed and pistol whipped by two masked gunmen in May Pen.

"We see the car a sell a May Pen, and when we come a May Pen to buy the car, a rob the gunman rob we and beat we up," mumbled Paul whose mouth was still bleeding from Monday's incident.

Al told The Gleaner that he saw an advertisement in the newspaper for a 1998 Toyota Corolla, selling for $210,000. He said, when they called the number, a female who identified herself as a nurse, said she was migrating and needed to sell the motor car immediately. A deal was struck on the phone and both parties arranged to meet at the May Pen Police Station Monday afternoon.

"When we reach the police station in May Pen and called the lady, she said she waiting on her niece, so we should come to the Tiger Mart to meet her. But when we got to the Tiger Mart and called her back, she said to us, 'just come down in a de lane and you will see me,' recalled Al.

He added: "When we go down inna the lane, two masked men jumped out on us with gun and started beating us up, so me give them the money fast, cause me nuh want them kill we."

The brothers whose cellphones and approximately US$2,997 along with $50,000 in local currency were taken by the masked gunmen, explained that the plan was to pay by cheque, but the 'nurse' said she preferred US dollars, because she was leaving the country in short order.

"In all, we did have about US$2,997, along with the J$50,000 on us, and now we lose everything, with we phones, and the man them say a lucky we lucky, because a kill them should a kill we," said Paul before he was taken to the May Pen Hospital by police personnel from the May Pen Police Station who are investigating the case.

rural@gleanerjm.com

[/FONT]

May Pen again, out on bail again

Two half eediats. They should be counting their blessings

http://jamaica-gleaner.com/latest/article.php?id=40041

Would-be Mandeville robber on murder charge

Published: Thursday September 20, 2012 | 1:30 pm 15 Comments
    The Honda motorcar that was being driven by the Mandeville businessmen who was shot by gunmen who attempted to rob him. - Dave Lindo/Photographer

The police are reporting that one of the two accused would-be robbers who were arrested in Mandeville, Manchester yesterday had been out on bail in connection with a murder charge.

According to the police, the murder case is now before the May Pen Circuit Court.

The police say both men remain in their custody and arrangements are now being made to question them.

According to the police, about 3 o’clock yesterday, a man and a woman were conducting business at the Manchester Shopping Centre.

The woman reportedly left her companion in the motor car and went to a nearby restaurant to purchase items.

While sitting in the motor car, the man was reportedly approached by two men, who demanded money.

The driver of the car sped off, however, the gunmen opened fire at the car, injuring him and causing the vehicle to crash into an embankment.

The police say the gunfire alerted cops who were nearby and they responded almost immediately.

The gunmen reportedly challenged the police, but were eventually captured when reinforcements were sought.

The police say two Browning 9mm pistols, one with two rounds and the other with ten, were taken from them.

The Police Commissioner Owen Ellington has commended the response team saying its members exhibited a fine display of restraint and strict adherence to the use of force and human rights policy.

Ellington also says the cops displayed discipline, care for others and bravery in the face of extreme danger, and should be a model for others.

editorial@gleanerjm.com