• Guyana says T&T discriminating

http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/news/...t-its-citizens

Guyana says T&T discriminating against its citizens

Saturday, September 15, 2012

Print this page Email A Friend!

BRIDGETOWN, Barbados — The Government of Trinidad and Tobago may need to take some quick action to resolve a recurring human problem that, unless appropriately handled, could well sour the normally good relations that exist between that country and fellow Caribbean Community (Caricom) partner, Guyana.

Guyana’s Foreign Minister Carolyn Rodrigues-Birkett said there has been “recurring, hurtful discriminatory treatment” against Guyanese visitors, including intransit passengers, at Trinidad’s Piarco International Airport.

The long-serving Guyanese foreign minister chose to go public with the matter during a television interview on the State-owned NCN, when dealing with a range of nationals issues on the programme The Factor.

Commenting on negative experiences and perceptions faced by Guyanese travellers within Caricom, the foreign minister singled out T&T as perhaps “the current worsecase scenario” of harassment and discrimination against her fellow citizens, and stressed that it was high time for this long-standing problem to be resolved.

“…This problem has been officially ignored for far too long, despite our (Guyana) repeated efforts at the highest and other levels to stop this practice,” said Rodrigues-Birkett.

“I actually witness with my own eyes the embarrassment, the inconvenience and ugly treatment meted out to Guyanese nationals as they are ‘herded’ at the Piarco Airport for no known reason, while other Caricom nationals and other travellers are allowed to continue with their flight arrangements, bound for home or other destinations,” she said.

Rodrigues-Birkett added that he was “at a loss” to understand why actions to curb and eliminate the discriminatory treatment has not been undertaken by the Government of Trinidad, in cooperation with the relevant airline authorities, including Caribbean Airlines (CAL), operating out of Piarco International.

The obviously angry foreign minister said “CAL has its single biggest flying business among Caricom countries with Guyana and, therefore, it and the Ministry of Civil Aviation in T&T have a moral obligation to help bring an end to this ugly and disgusting situation affecting Guyanese travellers at the Piarco airport”.

T&T’s Foreign Minister Winston Dookeran, when asked by the Jamaica Observer to comment on the concerns raised by his Guyanese counterpart, said: “I am very concerned to learn about what the Guyana foreign minister has said, and I intend to make an early assessment of the relevant problems to which she has alluded.”

Dookeran said Trinidad and Tobago was “naturally interested in fostering good relations” with Guyana and, therefore, would seek to resolve the problem.

In the meantime, Rodrigues-Birkett said she was please with the improved treatment of Guyanese travellers by immigration officers in Barbados, as Guyana once had serious concerns.

Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/news/...#ixzz26emmfr86

The Hapless Guyanese People

The poor treatment of Guyanese in Trinidad & Tobago is no secret. However, I’m not sure that I can agree with the foreign minister in describing T&T as “the current worse-case scenario”!

There is no doubt in my mind that the treatment and lack of respect meted out to black Guyanese in Barbados and by Barbadians is probably worse than the treatment these hapless people receive in other Caricom countries (T&T, St Lucia, etc.).

Historically, there has been close movement of people from Guyana to Barbados (Barbadian superstar Rihanna's mother, for example, is Guyanese), but over the past several decades as the economy of that South American country nose-dived, the contempt for Guyanese in Barbados, where in addition to teaching they do menial jobs, has been clearly shown from the moment they land at the Grantley Adams International Airport.

Ironically, the headquarters of Caricom is in Georgetown, the capital of Guyana.

guyanese also get a very hard time in barbados.

Absolutely. Ironically, in spite of our difficulties, Jamaica has been the most welcoming of all the islands. Maybe we are a litle more enlightened. NB the bad treatment is almost always directed at AfroGuyanese, and not at IndoGuyanese, or Guyanese of Chinese or Portuguese extractions.

It's time we take off the gloves and start calling a spade a spade. This CARICOM and caribbean unity thing is a sham. Everybody needs to go his own way. Jamaica is certainly not getting any favors from these little islands with their little economies.
          Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Huh, Gamma?

guyanese also get a very hard time in barbados.
            Maybe it is that time for you to visit an optometrist?

This is what I posted last night:

Originally posted by Historian
            There is no doubt in my mind that the treatment and lack of respect meted out to black Guyanese in Barbados and by Barbadians is probably worse than the treatment these hapless people receive in other Caricom countries(T&T, St Lucia, etc.).

My take on the matter

Originally posted by Reggaedoc View Post
              Absolutely. Ironically, in spite of our difficulties, Jamaica has been the most welcoming of all the islands. Maybe we are a litle more enlightened. NB the bad treatment is almost always directed at AfroGuyanese, and not at IndoGuyanese, or Guyanese of Chinese or Portuguese extractions.
              Reggaedoc, I’m not sure if it’s because we are “more enlightened,”although you could of course be correct here.

Rather, I feel that islands like Barbados and St. Lucia, because of their small size and tiny populations, probably feel more threatened by large scale movement of other regional people (“foreigners,” so to speak) into their countries than Jamaicans would. And Barbadians in particular probably have reason to be concerned, as I can assure you that Guyana is right up there with Jamaica as far as inter-regional migration is concerned. Many of the Guyanese migrants head straight to Barbados.

The negative response is directed more at Afro Guyanese because they seem to make up the bulk of Guyanese migrants. To be sure, the PPP, which has been in power for some two decades now (I hope I’m correct with the timeline) has tended to look out for the interests of the East Indians more than theblacks (revenge for the Forbes Burnham era?).

The Portuguese and Chinese, who make up a small percentage of the Guyana population, whenever they migrate are treated in the same way that their counterparts in Jamaica are treated; that is, with much greater respect when compared with blacks.

Storian, I agree with you 100%.

I don't think that the solution is to dismantle CARICOM as Jawge suggested. Jamaica has benefited somewhat from Caribbean integration, but the reason we are crying foul is due to the inefficiency of our crony capitalists, who are basically haberdashers or quite frankly, glorified higglers who have been beaten at their game by the Trinidadians in manufacturing, and the Bajans in finance and insurance. Now they want our government to protect them or get out of CARICOM. I don't buy it.

What little economy??? Go check your facts again.

Why would they go to Jamaica and join the mass of unemployed...they go where they can find jobs, make a living and and live. Trinidad has welcomed a lot the Guyanese for general farm work etc. some who may be illegal...like the Mexican migrant labour in the US, they work twice as hard for less pay....

Yuh right! If. I did know seh mi was agreeing wid yuh .......