• Preaching the Gospel of Hope (Rd) : From Boyz to Man

JC's Blake-Williams Happy Moulding Boys Into Men
    Published: Thursday | September 13, 2012 0 Comments

It was quite a busy morning for Annie Blake-Williams. One student after another streamed in and out of her office jostling for her undivided attention to address their varied needs.

Outside her door, parents queued patiently waiting to have a word, while the constant thrilling ring of the phones and the continuous knocking on her door only added to the demand for her attention.

With a warm smile, charm and professionalism, she juggled them all, seemingly unperturbed by the demands of the job.

This was a typical day for Jamaica College's dean of students affairs, a role in which Blake-Williams has been performing for close to six years. Addressing the needs of approximately 50 boys within an hour each day, students and parents have come to heavily rely on her office.

"The boys and parents have come to appreciate my role very much. They now have someone they can relate to with whatever needs they may have. They come for everything … lunch money, bus fare, guidance, someone to talk to about a problem they are facing, or just for a hug … you name it," she shared with The Gleaner yesterday.

http://jamaica-gleaner.com/gleaner/2...RKMrA.facebook

JC Makes Religious Start To The School Year
    Published: Tuesday | September 11, 2012 2 Comments

Saied Beckford (centre) sings along with fellow students at the Jamaica College commencement service at the St Andrew school's auditorium yesterday. - Rudolph Brown/Photographer
    Jamaica College (JC) is making sure its boys start the school year right.

The Karl Hendrickson Auditorium was packed with blue yesterday morning, at the school's commencement service, the school body's first full devotion for the year. A fiery principal, Ruel Reid, used the gospel of Luke from the Bible to give his charge, alluding to the parable of the three servants who were each left with a different number of talents.

"You represent those who have been given the 10 talents. We are not going to allow you to put those talents in your handkerchief. We are going to root them out," the principal declared.

Reid told the students to feel privileged to be at the institution, while also warning them not to get complacent and live off the legacy of past JC achievers.

"We (the present students), too, must perform, we must achieve. We must go out there and do the work," he said, opining that the school must retain core principles such as honesty, integrity and discipline. Earlier board chairman Michael Bernard asked for the boys' support to help achieve JC's vision - of being the number one school in the island.

http://jamaica-gleaner.com/gleaner/2...ead/lead6.html

They now have someone they can relate to with whatever needs they may have. They come for everything … lunch money, bus fare, guidance, someone to talk to about a problem they are facing, or just for a hug

********!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Portia cyan get dat deh job afta she flop ...she love di poor an she love huggup...Poifect!!!