Damn!!! We have the heart talking bout Brown man etc?

• Damn!!! We have the heart talking bout Brown man etc?

The heights of prejudice

Published: Monday | September 10, 2012 0 Comments

Latoya Latty graduating with Master of Arts in early-childhood education at Shortwood Teachers' College earlier this year. - Gladstone Taylor/Photographer

Qualified, experienced teacher says employment eludes her because of stature Jodie-Ann Gilpin, Gleaner Writer
    It was in February of this year that Latoya Latty graduated from the University of South Florida, with a Master of Arts in early-[COLOR=blue !important][COLOR=blue !important]childhood [COLOR=blue !important]education[/COLOR][/COLOR][/COLOR], attaining a grade-point average of 3.8.
    Despite being 3'7" tall, the 35-year-old has been making big strides as an academic, as she was among the top of her graduating class in the programme administered through the local Shortwood [COLOR=blue !important][COLOR=blue !important]Teachers' [COLOR=blue !important]College[/COLOR][/COLOR][/COLOR].
    However, Latty yesterday complained about being denied access to a job as potential employers have made her height an issue.
    Latty has garnered five years' experience as a teacher as she taught at the Holy Childhood Academy.
    "It has been an issue for years, even when I was employed, but it has become worse now. I was teaching at the Holy Childhood Academy, but it closed in June. I've been to several interviews and one employer told me that the interview was good, but we are concerned that you won't be able to reach the board and some say they would call me back but their facial expressions say it all," she said.
    She noted that many parents at Holy Childhood Academy had complained to the school's administration, saying they were not comfortable with her teaching their children.
    "I had situations where parents have gone to the administration to make complaints that they don't want no short person teaching their children and some, when they come to the classroom, you see it on their faces. There are those who support me to the fullest, but for the most part, there have been a lot of complaints about my height," she lamented.
    Sister also concerned
    Latty's sister, Cecile Cameron, also voiced her concern, saying she hopes something can be done to address the issue.
    "She is currently unemployed and her height is a big issue, which should not happen and is like everybody is paying scant regard to the issue. I am really hoping something can be done," she said.
    Latty told The Gleaner she wrote to the Ministry of Education in April and after receiving a response signed by "the minister of education" in May - about possible employment - nothing has been forthcoming.
    However, when The Gleaner contacted Education Minister Ronald Thwaites, he said he knew nothing about the issue and would not be commenting.
    "If that had come to my attention, something would have been done because that concerns me. But until I am aware of the issue, I will not be commenting," he said.

She can teach kindergarten. She need fi link up wid crayons counts and do good for ja.

mi know yuh woulda suggest dat..

Ok so correct me if I'm wrong. Thanks.

I know it was mean't to be a joke but it ain't funny at all to me.

We cry predijice at the first cry but we are not ashamed to melt it out to our own.

Joke boss? Yuh see no Lol or smiely? I was thinking within the context of her physical disabilities. Okay she should teach at Cornwall, Munro. KC, Campion or Immaculate.

I am just a little concern as she must have to put up with those jokes on a daily basis.

My friend from St. Lucia not much taller and has managed to move herself to department head after getting a chance. Although she is qualified she is been pushed out of the bus.

Being pushed out the bus after becoming Dept. head is politics. It was up to her to hold her position by reading the tea leaves of the job and satisfying the requirements of her Dept. Not all people can function in the day to day politics of the real world.

sorry I mean't the young lady in the article is been pushed out of the bus. My friend will not be pushed out she is one fiesty but nice lady who gets things done.

How muss guh wrang wid Dieka ?

I don't really know, you tell me.

No problem boss. I think if she network with do good ja, her problems can be solved. Now if she wants to teach at the secondary level, there will be many hurdles for her.

so is ongly Do Good Jamaica can solve her problems.. ?

Boss I don't live in Ja. I see do good and Crayons for kids in the papers all the time (wanting to reach out and help jakan kids). My apologies as you guys organization is too good for her (disabled teacher). I dare not mention digital yard 2.0

Again my apologies.

who was the prime minister at the time you left jamaica?