Why are you proud to be Jamaican?

Wheh yuh surprise bout ?

Mi drive a cyar innah farin fi 2 years widout license plate.. is Jamaica Flag was mi plate until it sell !

Di karrec colors tuh !

awoah..

I am proud of Jamaica because of the education that I received. I feel superior to the average Americans with just a high school education.
      Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Wi produce suh much outstanding people from suh likkle , dere is no odah island dat can compare not eben close. Plus wi flavour, culture, style, food an music captivate di worl. An last but not at all di least wi ancestors fi di special bran.

It is too complicated to explain in exact term(s). ...and the emotions attached to and with 'proud' make it impossible to fully express that 'why'.
          ...having said that there is a real perception of...an acquired belief (inherited belief?/in the genes?) that the country (= Jamaica's culture and environment) and its people having produced an unending 'assembly-line' of individuals with the capacity to achieve anything under God's Earth.

Aside: It is true that I most often think of the achievements and possible achievements as being only on the positive side...but acts such as the terrible atrocities committed by our leaders and our criminals remind that the gift of being able to scale greatest heights is equally joined by ability to sink to the greatest of depths.

Fact: Our record of achievements are visable and documented!

Emotion: The feeling of being able to achieve the greatest of heights - inbred!

The Belief: A people with unlimited potential and ability. A people who have achieved much of which to be proud.

Reality is we have far to go...but nothing is beyond our reach! ...and our destiny to attain great heights is within reach. (More of my unwavering belief of 'poised to take off').

The nearest I come to a full explanation is a comparison with days of my youth (up until 30-45 years old?) I had a feeling of being invincible - there was a fearlessness that looking back it was frightening.

Our strong sense of self Identity, The culture we've develop for ourselves.
            The freedoms that we enjoy, because we know when not to take our selves too seriously. The political stability (even though it haven't yet translated into economic prosperity) I still think it's something to be proud of. No violent overthrow of government, we may have violence at election time, but we always
            accept the government. The hardworking Jamaicans that have accomplished a lot on the world stage. Compared to most, our acceptance of other peoples culture. We might joke on them, but we still accept them and we are not too xenophobic. oh and our motto, even though Mo thinks it's silly

Thanks for all your responses.

Sometimes I wonder what is there to be proud of. I mean, and allow me to list them:

1. a justice system that sentences someone 7 years after the incident
              2. a country where we molest boys and girls with impunity. yes, this happens all over the world but our record of punishing the criminals is woeful
              3. a country where it is impossible to put a stop to everyday traffic violations, including in front of schools, and the reason may be because many of the violators are operating cars owned by police officers.
              4. a country where our police are incapable of making a dent in the actions vigilante mobs, maybe because they are so guilty themselves of carrying out jungle justice when it suits them
              5. a country where the politicians have failed the people for several decades
              6. our Coasters blast offensive music every single day and we are incapable of doing anything about it
              7. a country whose police officers can murder pregnant women
              8. a country that is so sold on its stupid motto that it doesn't realise the damage it has contributed to its people
              9. a country that dismisses and disrespects its institutions and renders their findings null and void.
              10. we can't produce anything that brings in decent foreign exchange. we only have tourism going for us and yet the tourist capital looks the way it does.
              11. a prime minister can defend an international druglord and crime boss and the rest of his cabinet supports him
              12. a prime minister who is clearly out of her depth.
              13. a country whose people dump garbage into the sea as if that is where it's supposed to go.
              14. govts. that have not done anything to make a serious and long-lasting blow to the crime monster

Forumites contributed the following reasons which I like:

A. I am proud of the strong recognition and identity that Jamaican culture has developed all over the world.Quite remarkable for a small country of a few million people.
              B. Our strong sense of self Identity
              C. I am proud to be Jamaican cause it is the land of reggae. Marley, Marcus Garvey & Usain Bolt who are worldwide icons which gives me a whole leap of pride.
              D. per capita footprint in terms of global cultural, music and sports influence is #1
              E. Plus wi flavour, culture, style, food an music captivate di worl.
              F. I am proud of the influence and respect Jamaica has had in the African diaspora and on the continent.

Can't be proud of Jamaica's natural beauty.

So, having considered all of that, I think I am proud to be Jamaican.

A notice you left out 18 years of leadership like FINSAC and running the dollar from 5:50-70 in one go and brining manufacturing to standstill.

To be proud of your country and be proud of your gorvernment is two different things.

Is there anything you are proud of in Jamaica?

Yuh read the post above?

you specifically pointed to a lot of government stuff, and also only pointed out one Prime Minister. Why not others?

Anyway as I said been proud of government and the country is two different things.

You said there are things you like that others posted but what you didn't say is that you are proud of, two different things in my book.

you specifically pointed to a lot of government stuff, and also only pointed out one Prime Minister. Why not others?

Anyway as I said been proud of government and the country is two different things.

You said there are things you like that others posted but what you didn't say is that you are proud of, two different things in my book.
                      Really?!?

11. a prime minister can defend an international druglord and crime boss and the rest of his cabinet supports him
                      12. a prime minister who is clearly out of her depth.
                      Are those the same person?

So, most of my problems with the country have to do with her govts. I think those are valid reasons with which to be proud or not proud of one's govt. It makes more sense than "natural beauty" which is merely accidental. And, as I have said before, there are more beautiful places on earth than Jamaica!

Yes, the things I said I like, I also share some amount of pride in them.

"Yes, the things I said I like, I also share some amount of pride in them."

Thanks for clarifying. As I said like and pride are two different things in my book.

Simply out of her depth is the least of what our former prime ministers have done.
                        Last edited by Assasin; October 4, 2012, 11:49 AM.

Ok. Thanks!

oh yeah ?

where more beautiful than Jamaica ???

Vietnam

Vietnam
                                whe she name? Phan Thi Huong Giang??