Why are you proud to be Jamaican?

• Why are you proud to be Jamaican?

In this our 50th year, what makes you proud to be Jamaican?

It's one thing to love Jamaica, but proud to be Jamaican is another thing altogether.

Seriously looking some serious responses. Hijackers beware!

I'll take a shot at this....

I am proud of the strong recognition and identity that Jamaican culture has developed all over the world.Quite remarkable for a small country of a few million people.

I am proud of the individual success that some of our outstanding Jamaicans have achieved in various fields.

I am proud of the influence and respect Jamaica has had in the African diaspora and on the continent.

That's about it.

Proud to be Jamaican because of love, heritage and kindness given to me by My strong grandparents, mother and a strong community base including teachers etc who instill a lot in me and made me who I am. I am proud of Jamaica because of the struggle of our foreparents and the achievement of individuals who transend to the highest level and remain humble, such as Dr. Joyce Robinson, Merline Bardowell, Myrtle Dwyer, Monica Stimpson and others who always gave me a word of encouragement when needed and have made Jamaica stronger.

I am proud because I have many good friends who have made their lives great and not just in monetary terms. For me what I have achieve maybe nothing to you but to me it means the world as I know where I am coming from and I feel blessed. There are things that happened to me that some people, maybe would think different and think less about Jamaica but for me I am grateful and regardless of the violence, indiscipline and a troubled economy, I will always be proud, even when we have no more Bob Marley or Usain Bolt.

Hmmm...proud to be Jamaican because of other people whom you respect?

Okay! That's a valid reason.

But what the country itself that makes you proud to be Jamaican?

Mosiah this is the country that my people has worked hard in. I am not very proud of political or economy achievements. I am proud of my country and its beauty and continue to sell it and I am proud of the Jamaican people who try against all odds and thankful for the role it played in mine and other lives. That is what makes me proud to be Jamaican. There are many unsung heroes which I have met and I respect them for their work more than anything else.

In my opinion they transend the development(or lack of it) and make or made Jamaica a better place to be proud of.

We likkle but wi Tallawah.. no fear on the World Stage..don't try diss.. wi guh anyweh and duh anyting..

Our Brand is strong.. per capita footprint in terms of global cultural, music and sports influence is #1

To give some perspective.. pretend you were from Trinidad...

I rest my case..

My personal view is that things such as the beauty of the island or the cool breeze by the beach do not qualify as things to be proud of.

Are they great assets to have and to enjoy and talk about? YES! But they would be there if the island was still inhabited by the native Tainos . Their existence have absolutely nothing to do with anything we have done as a people(well other than destroy some of them but that's another story).

What you are blessed with is something to be thankful for, what you do with those blessings is what you should be proud or ashamed of.

Not talking about the beaches and the mountains. Trust mi, there are places with much better beaches and mountains!

So when I said what about Jamaica that makes you proud, I was referring more to accomplishments in the areas of education, crime, other social conditions...whatever.

Thanks! I like this and I am surprised by your response!

accomplishments in the areas of education, crime, other social conditions...whatever.
                    Well lets stick to the whatever because the report card for the others is quite dismal.

You were going well until you spoil it...and of course pandering to Mosiah...imagine you BOTH in the same pot now...how dem sey..."politics make strange bedfellows"....

"Politics make strange bedfellows".

But hold on sah, how yuh being judemental with dem responses suh. If someone sey dem proud cause of the sunshine & beaches etc, a just so.

I am proud to be Jamaican cause it is the land of reggae. Marley, Marcus Garvey & Usain Bolt who are worldwide icons which gives me a whole leap of pride.

The fact is we have some unsung heroes and some accomplished heroes as well but first of all I must say parenting in Jamaica is not where it should be and that is what in the first place creates the kind of crime we are having. Too many fathers walk left there children and too many grandmas and neigbhours are left to bear the work parents should be doing.

As you talk about discipline, we disregard basic stuff and our environment is left to itself and god to take care of it. There is a lot to be desired of our economic leadership, our country should never be where it is today. We talk about brand and all the good things we have including our reggae music but what are we selling? We are not getting nowhere near the royalty we should be getting and others take the big cut. It sound's good yes but we have work to do in entrepreneurship and creating wealth for ourselves.

I know it is hard and even I have to work on that but that is why I encourge even little yard man who I see trying, if he is selling icement or have a 2 million dollar house because it is not easy. As a nation we have accomplished a lot but we have a far way to go in actually harvesting our wealth.

well me mention Trinidad suh him can relate bettah.. but mi coulda call any country innah di Caribbean and most of dem in di Hemisphere...