I remember some years ago, shortly before I migrated, I was coming from one of my favorite hangouts, Gemini (hey don't knock it, the music was great there) or was it Palais (I was a pool shark). I was driving along the Washington Blvd at about 3:30 in the morning when all of a sudden I saw blue lights flashing behind me. So I pulled over right at the old cigarette factory to make them pass. Lo and behold, they pulled up right behind me and jumped out of the car with guns drawn. "Hey bwoy, come out a di cyar!" So I slowly stepped out of the car with my hands held high. I walked to the back of the car and was told told to spread over the trunk. One of the officer was shouting, "hey bwoy yuh never see seh yuh nearly run over the police!" (it wasn't a question). I said/asked which police? "The police a di roadblock on Red Hills Road!" My response, "Star me a come from HWT, me nuh know nutten bout Red Hills Road!!!!". Click-click.....the man cock him gun. "I have a good mind fe just shoot yuh now!"
"Star a bank me work, me nuh know weh yuh a talk bout, see me ID yah!" I saw my life flash in front of my eyes and start wonder what my wife and little baby girl in foreign going to think. To make matters worse, I WAS being a good boy. The situation was diffused when the other officer searched me and found my bank employee ID. They gave me back my wallet and told me to "GWAAN".
Just think how many ways that could have ended.
"Star a bank me work, me nuh know weh yuh a talk bout, see me ID yah!" I saw my life flash in front of my eyes and start wonder what my wife and little baby girl in foreign going to think. To make matters worse, I WAS being a good boy. The situation was diffused when the other officer searched me and found my bank employee ID. They gave me back my wallet and told me to "GWAAN".
Just think how many ways that could have ended.