Paula Kerr-Jarrett's ugly, vulgar decision to impose her

THE EDITOR, Sir:

Paula Kerr-Jarrett's ugly, vulgar decision to impose her personal image upon the Jamaican flag is only one of other serious violations of the Jamaican people. The other violations are far worse.

Her decision to promote herself and her ambitions by putting her personal image on the covers of exercise books distributed to Jamaica's young, impressionable, needy children is a cynical, abusive attempt to impose and embed her personal brand into the minds and hearts of Jamaica youth at their most vulnerable.

Kerr-Jarrett's not-so-hidden agenda is encapsulated

in what every inner-city don and his victims know all too well: "Ketch dem when dem young an dem a fi you foreva!"

Kerr-Jarrett's outrageous, contemptible, bizarre act of self-promotion and raw ambition, the likes of which has not been seen in Jamaica since the British royal family used that tactic on their colonial victims - putting their images on the cover of every exercise book distributed to poor, needy, youth.

Now, 50 years post-Independence, here comes Kerr-Jarrett reimposing this colonialist tactic to warp and control young minds. Worse still, in an interview carried on CVM (August 30, 2012), Kerr-Jarrett seeks to hide her grotesque act of self-promotion and raw ambition behind the veil of benevolence and goodwill towards Jamaica's poor, needy children. This kind of cynical Anancyism must be condemned and rejected.

I and the rest of thoughtful Jamaicans say to Kerr-Jarrett, it is impossible to believe you when you say the exercise books are just a reflection of your benevolencce towards our poor and needy children. If the exercise books are only about benevolence, as you claim, what in the world is your image doing on the cover of the children's exercise books?

Since we all know the reasons why Kerr-Jarrett's image is on the books, I join others in demanding that the exercise books are withdrawn and challenge benevolent Kerr-Jarrett to replace them with exercise books that do not have her image. This way, she can donate books without recolonising the minds of our very young children.

PAUL JACKSON

pauljackson6449@gmail.com

Recolonializing?

MDYADWL

Most of the article is passable, but at the end the writer lost the plot.

[at the end the writer lost the plot]

why?

How recolonization come innah dis.. she look Chiney tuh yuh ?

is she using "colonialist tactics" ?

yes or no

mi nuh know wheh dat mean.... mek mi refer tuh di Manley chronicles.. see if I can get some insight..

Good answer!

He left the realm of facts and start to project fantasy.

Was Ronnie Thwaites or his peeps being neocolonialist? Him near white like PK-J, or you have other convenient definitions.

Some of unno need to get real.

Mi see you building and raise yuh dis:
                    http://www.jaweb2.com/jaalumni/stgc/gat55/can55_4.htm

Not even Termite can stop wi! LoL

Mind yuh tink seh StGC is only bout Manning Cup!

Even in my own class we have Nasa Mission specialist Engineer, Xylinx top notch chip engineer, Harvard Summer Skool Dean and Grace CEO/Specialist Finance minister and now independent Senator. Just off the top of my head...

[you have other convenient definitions.]

why you seh that...mi just ask you why/explain..........i didnt say anything

StGC near Liguanea ???

mi nuh know weh that mean either........thats why mi ask yuh

http://news.cvmtv.com/index.php?id=1391&news=watch

It is real sad indeed. In fact I have had people refer to red, green and gold as the "Jamaican colours". The overuse of a total foreign icon has done that to us.

This reminds me of a recent incident in Emancipation Park, where a red, green and gold carpet was rolled out for the premier showing of the Marley documentary, I think, and of course our rastafarian brethrens were up in arms over that. I asked the question, "Would they be equally, or more exercised if it were a black, green and gold flag that was used". I have my own suspicions of what their action would be. Quite frankly I thought they were a pack of idiots, but that is only my opinion.