What about the Trelawny Multi-purpose Stadium?

• What about the Trelawny Multi-purpose Stadium?

<TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=1 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR><TD>
    <SPAN class=Subheadline>ASKS THE QUESTIONS</SPAN></TD></TR><TR><TD>Mark Cummings
    Thursday, March 22, 2007
    </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>
    <P class=StoryText align=justify>The spectacular opening ceremony of the ICC Cricket World Cup (CWC) 2007 at the new Trelawny Multi-purpose Stadium is undoubtedly still fresh in our minds.<P class=StoryText align=justify>After all, the local organising committee (LOC) of the event went all out to ensure the historic staging exceeded the expectations of many of us.<P class=StoryText align=justify>Residents of Trelawny are said to be still basking in the tremendous amount of exposure and entertainment that the parish received from the staging of the opening ceremony, and the four warm-up games, played at the stadium.<P class=StoryText align=justify>Constructed at a cost of US$32 million on 60 acres of virgin land, the stadium gives an unobscured view of the beautiful Caribbean sea and the historic town of Falmouth.
    It has 10,000 permanent seats, but this can be raised using temporary seating to reach 25,000.<P class=StoryText align=justify>In recent weeks, several outstanding cricketers, including West Indies cricket captain Brian Lara, have spoken highly about the facility. In fact, Lara has suggested that the West Indies Cricket Board considers staging test and one-day matches at the impressive venue.<P class=StoryText align=justify>It is widely believed that the facility, which was handed over to the LOC last December, can also accommodate the staging of several other sporting events, including football, baseball and athletic meets.<P class=StoryText align=justify>But the fate of the facility after the LOC relinquishes its hold on it at the end of the World Cup tournament in April has ignited much debate. It's been made official that a committee will be put in place to manage the facility, but when? Will such a committee be able to market the facility effectively to ensure the viability of the facility?

Already, a price tag of $2 million monthly is being bandied about for the proper maintenance of the vast property. Up to now, it is still not clear who will foot that bill. And who will provide the funding needed to upgrade the facility to make it able to stage sporting events, other than cricket?

I believe it is full time that the government makes public its plans for the stadium, post-World Cup Cricket 2007. Failure to do so could result in further anxiety among Jamaicans, particularly Trelawny residents.

It would be a pity to see such a beautiful facility go to waste.

RE: What about the Trelawny Multi-purpose Stadium?

Amazing! I think Mark Cummings should be looking for the positives and forget the negatives if any exist.

At U$2 million / month, how much would this venue be rented for? As a comrade told The Icon of Jamaican Journalism last week, that is no money! These people are friggin amazing.

I'm still amazed that we spent so much money to put up this stadium and all it does is host the opening ceremony and some practice games. What the hell .. Jamaica No Problem(Cheers)

I know that you know it's not

2 million USD a month. Why are you trying to make it appear as if it's USD?

Whew!

Minister of State for Foreign Affairs and Foreign Trade Senator Delano Franklyn, who had been specially assigned by the government to oversee the preparations for CWC 2007, told the Senate recently that it would cost approximately US$2 million per month to maintain the new Trelawny Multi-Purpose Stadium in Falmouth.

Lazie don't mek up this stuff Comrade Jawge.

Lazie (3/22/2007)Whew!

Minister of State for Foreign Affairs and Foreign Trade Senator Delano Franklyn, who had been specially assigned by the government to oversee the preparations for CWC 2007, told the Senate recently that it would cost approximately US$2 million per month to maintain the new Trelawny Multi-Purpose Stadium in Falmouth.

Lazie don't mek up this stuff Comrade Jawge.
          Cho Lazie man!- Is that U$2 million per month maintenance cast believeable?

BTW - Could you post the stats on this stadium - Yuh kno - size, fixtures, number of acres on which it sits, number of other fields proposed, etc, etc?

Thank you!

OKay, Mr.Delano needs to come and explain

in details why such small astadium cost 2 mil USD to maintain (per month)

Karl, nuh come wid the foolishness. The man in the know says its U$ 2 million, why shouldn't I believe him? We borrowed the money from the Chinese at a rate of 3% for 30 years. Calculate the repayments nuh? Unuh duh thinks off emotions, I am nat in dat.

2 billion @3% over 30 years. Work it out nuh? Thats just the loan repayments.

Lazie the article you posted clearly states "$2 million" for the maintenance. Where it was speaking about U.S. dollars it specifies "U.S." obviouslyFranklyn misspoke or is being misquoted.

The article with Franklyn was from Sunday. Tday name Thursday. If you see a correction, mek mi know. FACT! The man went to the SENATE and said U$. Why should you, Karl or I assume he misspoke or was misquoted?

The original article didn't say J$ or U$, this one indicate the curreny.

Until there is a retraction .... I'll say its U$.

Okay, let's use Jamaican dollars. Can we afford maintenance of Ja$2M? What are the plans in place to secure that amount for maintenance?

I speak of maintenance and you divert

to loan repayment. I see it's pointless talking with you.

Jawge (3/22/2007)I speak of maintenance and you divert to loan repayment. I see it's pointless talking with you.
                          At U$ 2 million per month, yuh better hope that the loan repayment is included in that figure. I suggest yuh tek a seat, there is no room for yuh banned books argument here.

Firstly whilst your waiting on the retraction Lazie if we employ our commonsense it would dictate that a stadium that cost $32 million US to build is not going to require $24 million US per year to maintain. To your point Mosiah, I believe the asset will be maintained by public funds similarly to the national stadium with the hope that at minimum it will become self sufficient through rental costs for various uses. Time will tell, lets hope for the best.

Mout mek fi talk.

Where are the concrete plans ?

We don't have a very good record of maintaining structures, end up with nuff White Elephant..

After 10 years the North Coast Highway is still under construction... is it possible that this is not on purpose ?

10 Billion of FDI and almost JMD 1 Trillion debt.. to what end ?

A 5th Term ? These people should be loaded into a dump truck and disposed of.