• Stop This 'Teach Patois' Nonsense!

Stop This 'Teach Patois' Nonsense!
    Published: Wednesday | August 29, 2012 6 Comments

Glenn Tucker, Guest Columnist
    By Glenn Tucker, Guest Columnist

Distinguished professor of linguistics and coor-dinator of the Jamaican Language Unit at the UWI, Hubert Devonish, is supporting the JTA president in his claim that English is not the native language of the vast majority of Jamaicans, and that Patois be taught in schools.

This is partly a response to Minister Thwaites' feeling that too much emphasis is being placed on memorisation and not enough given to higher forms of intellectual activity, partly to blame for poor exam performance. This is not a reason. It is an excuse!

The professor advocates: "... A fully bilingual or dual education programme involving the use of both 'Jamaican' and English as languages of education in the same roles, side by side." Textbooks would be translated into 'Jamaican', teachers would be trained to deliver the same lesson TWICE - once in Jamaican and once in English.

http://jamaica-gleaner.com/gleaner/2...cleisure2.html

Ouch...

Brilliant ! His argument is to deliver the same message twice. Why not just repeat the same subject in English? Ah well then it would be a memory drill, hence the solution is to create another language and say it twice Genius. England should adopt this policy too.

Uhmm...no...that is not his argument...read it again...slowly this time

Hey, the man is not so smart:

I remember two exam questions I got years ago:

1. If the desire of a company in selling convertible securities is delayed equity financing, would not it be wise to establish at the time the security is sold a 'set-up' in conversion price every few years?

2. Why do callable bonds typically have a higher yield to maturity than non-callable bonds, holding all other things constant? Is the yield differential likely to be constant over time?

Would the professor and the JTA president knock heads and translate those to 'Jamaican'? While they are at it, could they answer the questions in the same language?
          Huh!?!? But Glenn Tucker is an educator and sociologist. Maybe that explains the current passes at the CSEC level!

Maybe you missed my sarcasm.

I would like to ask him one question: Since it's language that is hindering learning. Why is it that not all students in Germany (let's exclude the immigrants for now) getting 90 and above in all subjects? We will then move to France (excluding all immigrants again)

Keep searching under the lamplight, with the hope of results.
              Last edited by Jawge; August 29, 2012, 01:20 PM.

Mo...how do you propose to use patois to teach English grammar?

how do you teach spanish grammar? nuh in spanish?!!!

Gamma says to teach English grammar in English...what is your proposal? Patois? If so, refer to my post causing you consternation
                    Last edited by Bricktop; August 29, 2012, 01:42 PM.

Read the other article I posted and maybe you'll find the answer to your question.

Yuh read any of them yet, or yuh have made up yuh mind and yuh refuse to listen to any divergent view?

Huh!?

Yes, mi have asthma.

I want your thoughts...not that of a third party...