so when the jakan police solicit funds in their own particular ... uhm...let's say .. idiom ....aren't the funds used to support the police?
By the way, I pay to get on my way fast
"When stopped, if one is in possession of one such card, or sticker on the windshield the officer is usually entitled to give the holder a pass for minor infractions"
So Bignall woulda get away easy then- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
Originally posted by Reggaedoc View PostI agree with you Bricky. I say the same thing. If your papers are in order, why do you need to pay a bribe?.
Yuh don't think some will just give them $2,000 and be done with it?!?
By the way, cops in some parts, maybe many parts, of Europe take bribery money too!
Vietnam? Don't even think of reporting it! You may have to pay off the entire police force of that province!
In many towns in NY the judge will tell you to go outside and talk with the police and work something out before coming back. The police more than likely will take the points off your license or reduce the office but most likely the fine will stand. If you can't agree then the judge will try the case.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
Mawning Reggaedoc. I get the feeling that you have totally misunderstood what I have been saying. It is not that I want to be a part of corruption. I actually dont like corruption. As many friends who have travelled with me or with whom I have travelled, and who are included among strong supporters of both political parties say, the police in Jamaica is not just the JCF, it is a major force unto itself. If folks dont pay them what they want, they have a broad range of realiatory measures which they can and do employ. It can be as simple as delaying you and it can go up from there.
When I am in Ja, my travels take me intensely all over the country. Speeding and document checks are experienced all over. Because of the intense and frequent travels within a short time, I am guaranteed to be stopped, regardless of whether I am driving or someone else is driving. Most people know of the locations of the frequent stops. If you are traveling at night or along some lightly traveled areas, you are much more likely to be stopped, even if you are traveling at a legal speed near a known "enforcement" location.
What many find odd is that some taxis and minivans will speed ahead and will never be stopped. The explanation that the public has is that those vehicles are known to the police and the owners/drivers of those vehicles have some kind of understanding with the police. yet the police also have stops for just taxis and minivans so they can show they do enforcement for those groups.
I think that before there are any more prosecutions for bribery, the JCF needs to address the reason why bribery occurs. It is in anticipation of a shakedown, usually at regular shakedown spots, often by the same artists. The JCF must also be understanding of the public's fears about the consequences of reporting shakedowns. In spite of what the police union says and does in support of the Sgt who is alleging attempts to bribe him, the JCF must understand that the majority of the force, if not participating directly in it, has first hand knowledge of many colleagues who are active in it. The majority know and do nothing about it and they actually believe it is ok as a practice to make additional money.
Finally, I always mentioned that I strongly suspected, because of many factors I listed, that this case has some political motivations. As I read the online paper early this morning, I saw a photo of the Sgt in question. He was wearing a blue suit. However, his complete attire made him appear to be dressed like Exile; in Gator colors. By itself it may mean nothing. But as I put it in with all the other circumstantial stuff, the picture gets clearer and clearer to me. Location of stop, Mr Bicknell having history of publicly stated disappointment with the behavior of fans and officials when his team goes to that area, and other factors as well. The picture went from abstract to a Van Gogh to the vivid Da Vinci for me. So, in my mind, the real corruption here is the very targeted pursuit of justice for political reasons while keeping the practice of JCF shakedowns alive. Many people who I know to be on both sides of the political fence share this view. So there will be a shakedown when it suits them and a prosecution when that suits them."Jah Jah see dem a come, but I & I a Conqueror!"
"What many find odd is that some taxis and minivans will speed ahead and will never be stopped."
This is so true. They may just blow at the police. Seen nuff roadblocks and was thinking it is good then car going about 80 miles an hour pass and blow. My friend said "them stop who them want". I had to smile.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.