Ben, ah your video this? It lick hot!
The video is very accurate, but very one-sided. The JLP has their share of the blame too and the present JLP is not much different to the present PNP.
Jamaica needs a new viable party/alternative. One that strips out the few viable candidate from both sides and injects a lot of new blood.
People like Terrence Williams and his bro, Milton Samuda, Hero Peter, Julian Robinson, Bartlett, maybe the Dread Damien and maybe Tufton (not convinced totally about either), Lloyd B, D. Chuck, some people right here on this forum, Vascianni, some NDMers, Mills and Franno, Peter Espeut, Dr Gomes, Thalia Lynn, Gregory Haughton, Wehby, etc, etc.
Less politicians and more concerned citizens that want to just serve 5 years and rotate out. It can be done, if we dare to be great. Time that we become the beacon to the world as I agree with Don1 here, we are a cultural superpower and can pave the way for upliftment for more than just ourselves.
What we have now is an abomination. We mired in 2 week agreements with IMF, Jeep crash programs that cant get off the ground, idle Labarite cussing about fete in London, a PM that is abroad more than at home and is made powerless anyway by the OLD men behind the scenes and the cross-party mafia that is quickly gaining ground and threatening to devour the body politic.
until the Jamaican civil society and voters hold politicians accountable there will be no change.
See what pressure did to Golding and the JLP? Now where are the groups and watch dogs???? Aren't they suppose to be holding the present govenment accountable??? Politicians are politicians and most will get away with what they can and you can't put your trust in them, what you have to do is watch them carefully.
While third party maybe good it will not get the support and see what happen to a third party not so long ago where the "good candidate" turned out not to be so good. We need people like Betty Ann Blaine, Peter Espeut, Gomes, churches and private sector to step up, but then again the political party have a way of sidelining them and marginlising them, they need our support. I don't know if it would be a good thin for Dr.Gomes, Peter Espult etc to be in politics but they must be a part of the policy making process.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
Critical Thinking is immune to rhetoric and idolatry.
The facts are in evidence..
The question one must ask is what separates the Africans that went to Barbados for example and the ones that came here.. because clearly there is a vaste difference in maturity of the people and priorities..
I suspect the mistep occurred sometime during the Black Power movement of the late 60's and quixotic views and not understanding how the world works.. a dark force was born and has been spewing forth spawn.. the coordinates indicated a property in the Mona area.. a supposed place of learning..
Trinidad and Barbados were not handicapped by such an entity and philosophy.. I guess is our bad luck.
Anyway.. forward wid di Chineyman dem.. if we cannot be leaders den di next best ting is to be led in comfort by fariners.
Suh it guh. Tek di money and spend pon our Athletes and Music.
We can excercise our patriotic fervor every Olympics and Word Cup and Reggae Sumfest.
Dat not suh bad...
You seem to have big chip on your shoulder with UWI (Mona). Did they refuse you as a student? Kicked you out? Messed with your head? What? Whether you like it or not UWI has played a major role in our overall development....whether or not some misguided politicians went there is a totally different matter. So take your proverbial head out of your a$$.
Spew your political garbage but don't talk on things you have no idea about.
You glaring lack of perspective and of events in the 60's indicates that you should really just hush! Shhhhhhhh! Like how Bolt hush Blake.
Not all of UWI.. just the part that has produced the minds and philosophy that have served to relegate Jamaica to the halls of ignominy..
Is not the student dem fault.. hush..
As for the 60's.. what perspective do I need ? Everybody nation in the hemisphere did haffi guh through it.. a few were models of transitional development from British Rule (Jamaica did top dat list), man come and study di ting..
Is the 70's eff wi up.. wheh yuh a duh innah di 60's ???
Oh yeah. the more things change the more they remain the same.
The video is saying that Ja was doing very well until Joshua in 1972. Okay no problem; yes you will do well if more that half the population have no access to proper health care, sparse distribution of electricity, massive housing issues, high infant mortality rates, fifty five percent illiteracy rates, low wages that doesn't match the cost of living then and a neo apartheid system where the majority are treated as slaves. yes if you don't spend to correct these ills your books will show some nice numbers.