British and the language

• British and the language

having to work and communicate with many people in England on a regular basis it is really surprising to see the spelling and grammer etc. of some of these professionals

I see we coming down hard on our own with Patwa but I don't know if only me alone but it get to me sometimes when I have to fight to understand English from people that "take so muh pride in their language" and it is not limited to Blacks in ghetto in Britain but others.
    Last edited by Assasin; August 21, 2012, 08:08 PM.

I Understand

having to work and communicate with many people in England on a regular basis it is really surprising to see the spelling and grammer etc. of some of these professionals

I see we coming down hard on our own with Patwa but I don't know if only me alone but it get to me sometimes when I have to fight to understand English from people that "take so muh pride in their language" and it is not limited to Blacks in ghetto in Britain but others.
    ‘Sass, I understand your point, although you probably forgot that we generally speak patois, NOT write it (except, of course, in informal situations such as various message boards where individuals (not just Jamaicans) make an effort to proudly display/highlight their national culture).

Now, I will ask you for two favors here, and they are:

1. The next time you make a contribution to your company’s staff or department meeting, do so in patois.

2. Post on this forum a summary description of the immediate response/reaction by others on the staff to your comments (that is, your contribution).

I am not making a judgment here; I’m just making a friendly request. Looking forward to your descriptive response post in the near future.

sigh

...g-r-a-m-m-A-r....

You sir are a genius at making your point...are you English??

unnuh fi CEASE and seckle!!!

Lol!

...g-r-a-m-m-A-r....
              Peter, I know how to spell “grammar” (lol)!

What you are correcting was not written by me; I was simply quoting what another poster wrote. Of course, I spotted the error and could have placed the usual (sic) next to the word, but because this is an informal message board, I pay no serious attention to things like punctuation and grammar.

the irony could not be overlooked, that's all...

mi nuh worry cause I am not the best in grammar. That is why mi have up my White Smoke to do my checking where it matter most.

When mi come a rum bar mi just a talk the ting.

one on one I will buss some Patwa with some of my collegue(patois).

I often recommend Jamaica to some so they are aware.

My work force them to listen to me anyway.

Maybe I could do it with my immediate team but I also have to correspond with people in other places like Mexico, Asia, Quebec, and it is only by communicating through email or other written media it can be done as English maybe 2nd or 3rd language.