• 'Teach English As Foreign Language' - one day, we'll all see

the light.

'Teach English As Foreign Language'
    Published: Friday | August 17, 2012 0 Comments

Grace Baston: The teaching of standard English to students whose first language is Jamaican must be approached as one would the teaching of any foreign language. - File
    Nadisha Hunter and Lauren Williams, Gleaner Writers

Even as some educators raise concerns about the significant decline in the English language result for this year's sitting of the Caribbean Secondary Education Certificate (CSEC) examinations, they are suggesting strategies to elevate the standards in coming years.

The result of the examination, which was released last week, indicated that only 46.2 per cent of the students passed English language this year, compared with a pass rate of 63.9 per cent last year and 64.9 per cent in 2010.

Principal of Campion College Grace Baston, said the result was disturbing and troubling but the problem existed because some students did not have English as their first language.

"I believe that among the factors contributing to this low level of achievement is our failure to recognise that English is not the first language of the majority of Jamaica's children," Baston said.

"The teaching of standard English to students whose first language is Jamaican must be approached as one would the teaching of any foreign language," she said.

GET TO KNOW KIDS

Baston also argued that teachers need to take the time out to be more familiar with their students' vocabulary and grammar.

"Obviously, the teacher will be more successful in enabling this language learning and acquisition if he/she is familiar with the structure and vocabulary of the student's first language," added Baston.

Jamaica College principal Ruel Reid said the English language curriculum needs to be revised.

"I am advocating that we need to shake up the curriculum, use the oral component in terms of assessment. We need to motivate the kids because a lot of children think that it is not something you have to prepare for," he said.

Reid added: "So a lot of it has to do with how we motivate our youngsters and part of that motivation is to make sure that the teaching and learning approach is interactive and motivating," he explained.

For Sharon Reid, principal of St Andrew High School for Girls, it is a serious cause for concern and principals of various institutions will have to work together to fix the problem.

"I guess as a nation, certainly at the level of principals' associations, we will have to look at and analyse just what could be the cause. Well, we are going to have to share best practices, but remember always one has to look, too, at the level of intake, in terms of whether or not the students who are taking the exam are ready for the exam," she said.

In the meantime, Education Minister Ronald Thwaites has extended an invitation to the CXC, for an enquiry in the poor performance of candidates.

The team, which will be led by the Council's registrar, Dr Didacus Jules, should be in the island for the meeting next week.

"We have asked the director general of the CXC to come to Jamaica so that we can include him in a full discussion of the results that have been published.

"Clearly we need further investigation. We are not going to panic, but we are going to look and see what happened and how we can improve in the shortest possible time," Thwaites said.

heard a discussion on NNN yeaterday about this.

So we are going to segregate classes based on what is spoken in the child's household? That should be inneresting...wait till that whole debate comes up and yuh start hear bout who arrogant and what not

wait 'pon debate? fi wha?!! wi already know who arrogant!

Re: 'Teach English As Foreign Language'

I guess that mathematics should be taught as a foreign language as well?

Originally posted by The Gleaner
          The dismal performance of students in the core subjects of mathematics and English in the 2012 Caribbean Secondary Education Certificate (CSEC) examinations is sparking fresh concerns among regional educators.
          Originally posted by The Gleaner

For Jamaica, passes in English plummeted from 63.9 per cent in 2011 to 46.2 per cent, while in mathematics, they dropped from an already low of 33.2 per cent in 2011 to an even more disappointing 31.7 per cent, prompting Education Minister Ronald Thwaites to express shock.

Mr Thwaites has also revealed that only 16 per cent of Jamaica's math teachers are competent, a statistic we expect him to provide further particulars on, including the criteria of assessment and whether there have been such evaluations in the past.

However, if an honest assessment is made of the results of the annual Grade Four Numeracy and Literacy tests, no one ought to be surprised that four years after these poor performers enter high school, they are unable to catch up and turn around their performance.
          (My source: “Assessing CSEC Exam Results,” editorial in The Daily Gleaner, Saturday, August 18, 2012)

Full editorial: http://jamaica-gleaner.com/gleaner/2...cleisure1.html

I agree with Historian.This is just nonsense,they have given up.It comes down to a failed educational system,poor teachers.

The best english teacher i ever had ,taught me to read what i typed aloud to an audience, family or friends ,if you fear an audience then privately in a room (a loud ) to highlight mistakes.

I learnt that here in the states.Jamaican teachers stress on the written art of english,its more than that its holistic, the written and oral,how do you put the two together ? do the above suggestions.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Re: The Importance of Reading

If anything, English language minders must be even more dismayed. We are told that Ministry of Education figures show 46.2 per cent of students passed English Language this year, down from 63.9 per cent last year, and 64.9 per cent in 2010.

Amidst the blame game as it relates to English, we suspect there will be those ready to identify the Jamaican dialect as a main reason for the poor results.

However, this newspaper believes serious thought should be given to the input of senior assistant registrar at CXC, Dr Gordon Harewood, who according to yesterday’s edition of the Sunday Observer, linked poor results to a falling away of the reading habit.

"Students have to read a lot more. You can't spend every evening on Facebook chatting, you've got to pick up a book or an e-book," Dr Harewood said.

How many of us, we wonder, even know for sure what an e-book (electronic book) is? Fortunately, the younger ones will know.

It seems to us that Dr Harewood has touched on a key factor that is very directly impacting education and language as we know it. We speak of the rapidly evolving communication technologies. ‘Texting’, so important for our young people, in particular, now seems to be creating a language all of its own.

Just a couple of decades ago before the onset of cable TV, the Internet, cellphones and computer tablets, many of us entertained ourselves by reading “a good book”. Some of us became ‘bookworms’. We learnt to write English well largely because we hungrily read Dickens, Hemingway, Steinbeck, Mais, et al.

We have no numbers to back this up, but we suspect that “bookworms” are now rarely to be found in our schools. Caught up in mindboggling computer games, social media and television, far too many of our children have no time for old-fashioned, paper-based or even e-books.

As we seek to find solutions, it seems to us that those in charge of education in our schools, at the various ministries of education regionwide and at CXC need to seriously assess the impact on our children of the growing, changing technologies. Crucially, they should always be proactively contemplating how best to use emerging technologies to assist education.

History teaches that technology will not be curtailed or reversed, but if we are smart, we can use it to serve desired ends.

My source: The Jamaica Observer (editorial), Monday, August 20, 2012

Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/edito...#ixzz24BcwnHbq

Before it was a few people pushing the idea ... now the noise getting more loud. Didn't agree then .... still don't agree now.

I don't see why Patwa should be taught in school but I don't see any reason why teachers can't use it to get to their students.

I think back to Primary school and I know a lot of the teachers weren't really using English and we ended up ok. What we should be talking about is "any means necessary" We can't exclude Patwa to reach to our students.

pushing what idea.. wheh di good school principal seh ?

Teach english with the realization that for a large cohort it is virtually a second language.. one might have to apply similar techniques to get desired results..

Who is advocating tecahing patwa in school? and here lies our problem comprehension ,recognising a language as our official dialect and teaching it are two different things.

Patwa is our official dialect, recognising that should not be an issue.

Back to the english problem that we have , we type,write like how we think and speak, that is a fact.

If a 100 % of the population speaks patwa and they are literate (english) ,they will type and speak as such in any setting formal and non formal .If they are illeterate and speak patwa , they cannot type it or read it ! that is what you call comprehension of a written language , not the oral and only be able to express themselves in the oral form.

That is why , I understood the practicality of reading after you have typed , to root out the official dialect that I was brought up in , to make better presentations in a formal setting , and my english by Jamaican standards was not bad.

Food for thought,minorities in the USA blacks and latinos have the same struggle,street slang is the official language in the hood, not english.
                      Last edited by Sir X; August 21, 2012, 11:02 AM.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Who have problem get a First Aid in English.

Originally posted by Historian View Post
                          I guess that mathematics should be taught as a foreign language as well?
                          Not one of your usual well thought out responses.

So how do you explain our poor English skills before the texting era?