• Briggie, have a bone fi pick wid yuh!

In a previous post you asked,
    Is it only me who is tired of the JLP beating the hell out of the Trafigura issue?
    I noticed that you have no sympathy for ALLEGED drug dealers, yet our governing party is caught either taking a bribe, tekking taxpayers' monies or some corrupt act and yuh want it swept under the carpet? Come now bredren, be consistent.

What yuh must ask is why the Jamaican police nuh start investigate this issue yet. In real world countries agencies like the FBI and Scotland Yard would be on this issue like fly pon shaving cream but in Jamaica we want it gone?

Why did the Governor of Connecticut guh a prison? Why did the Mayor of PAterson NJ guh a prison?

One of the worst tyrants this earth ever encountered once said, "What luck for leaders when men don't think!" That statement is true when it comes to Jamaica.

RE: Briggie, have a bone fi pick wid yuh!

In most civilised countries, whole governments would have resigned because of Trafigura. So, I am not tired of the Trafigura issue. In fact, if there was anything that has turned me away from the party that I have supported most of my life, Trafigura is it!

Lazie if you've seen the news today as it relates to Trafigura you will see where Portia has suggested campaign finance reform with full disclosure of donations to the political parties. Assuming this would be effectively implemented Trafigura like scenarios would not repeat themselves. However, Bruce has consistently been opposed to real campaign reform as it does not benefit his party who like the PNP can continue to be bankrolled by questionable sources. If Trafigura was anything other than a way for Bruce to seek to make political hay, why is he not embracing campaign reform. If you want to speak about inconsistency speak to that. Also I've noticed your deafening silence as to AJ's declaration that the attorney's for Ramcharan et. al dropped the ball as far as preserving the right to appeal to the privy council. As i indicated yesterday, the Jamaican government did not appear to abuse anybody's legal rights and the defendant's in fact were able to exhaust over two to three years the options available to them. Now if the issue is whether or notJamaica should extradite its citizens who have been accused of criminalities that is obviously a different topic.

<DIV>
        Briggie (3/21/2007)Lazie if you've seen the news today as it relates to Trafigura you will see where Portia has suggested campaign finance reform with full disclosure of donations to the political parties. Assuming this would be effectively implemented Trafigura like scenarios would not repeat themselves. However, Bruce has consistently been opposed to real campaign reform as it does not benefit his party who like the PNP can continue to be bankrolled by questionable sources. If Trafigura was anything other than a way for Bruce to seek to make political hay, why is he not embracing campaign reform. If you want to speak about inconsistency speak to that. Also I've noticed your deafening silence as to AJ's declaration that the attorney's for Ramcharan et. al dropped the ball as far as preserving the right to appeal to the privy council. As i indicated yesterday, the Jamaican government did not appear to abuse anybody's legal rights and the defendant's in fact were able to exhaust over two to three years the options available to them. Now if the issue is whether or notJamaica should extradite its citizens who have been accused of criminalities that is obviously a different topic.
        </DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>Briggie, you are right. The JLP is not serious about campaign reform. Just last week Bruce said he would not want the names of contributors to be revealed. Then why was he in such a rush to reveal Trafigura? (Still upset about the Trafigura deal, however!)</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>When it comes to the attorney general, in my eyes, he is the pits. He lacks integrity, credibility and decency. In any case, I am uncertain about the timeline but something is indeed fishy when any part of our justice system moves with such alacrity. Makes you wonder.</DIV>

Gentlemen, once again both of you are falling for the 3 cyaad trick. Trafiguria has nothing to do with campaign financing, its just the anancies in the PNP keep throwing that out to divert attention. Get to the bottom of this Trafiguria thing, then dem can talk bout campaign financing.

By the way ... unuh think Jamaica is ready for an era where we all know who and who contribute to which party? I can tell you there are comrades and labourites who would rather bun candles if dem should find out that JPS contributed to a party. If Lazie'sBrothel should contribute toone entity people that support the other entity would stop spending at that brothel. How much money did Century National Bank contribute to the JLP's campaign? Where is Century National Bank now? I guess unuh all gonna recite Omar's version. Fine!

So Lazie you agree that campaign finance can not be tackled until the Trafigura issue has been laid to rest. Personally, I don't see why one is contingent on the other. In reality Bruce does not want to tackle this issue and I don't accept that Jamaica is not realy for full financial disclosure in our political camapaign. At some point in time leadership has to lead and this can not be determined based upon a presupposition of the whims of the people but by the circumstances in the country demanding it. How else will we as a country progress?

Personally, I don't see why one is contingent on the other
              Pay attention. If you recallit is when I asked about Trafiguria you brought up campaign financing? Same way when Trafiguria is exposed Trevor Monroe, Bobby Pickersgill and all the other spinners started mekking noise bout campaign financing.

When a policer officer is caught takinga bribe, anybody excuse it? No .. its a bribe and they are punished. Suh why the smokescreen with Trafiguria? Get to the bottom of it first, then focus pon campaign financing. How I see it, smady should guh prison fi this.

Jamaicans nuh ready bredren. A traffic light was installed in St. Ann and when it was turned on, the light went on green. Can you believe people saw it as disrespect to the PM?

Who determines what Jamaica is or isn't ready for? You are playing politics when you are seeking to tie Trafigura to Campaign finance reform. Both can be tackled at the same time. It is hypocritical to say it has to be placed on the backburner because Trafigura has not been resolved. I know this is the labourite's position but it is nonsensical because progress should not have to be halted for the sake of seeking to score political points. This is one of the persisent problems with the political parties in Jamaica. Let's seek to put Jamaica first for once and let politics come second, our country would be much better off for it. This change has to start with regular folks like me and you.

progress should not have to be halted for the sake of seeking to score political points.
                  Where have you been? What yuh thing been taking place for the last 18 years? I hope yuh not gonna tell me is progress?

Other than Abe Dabdoub, no one else was interested in campaign finances until our governing partywas caught either taking a bribe or skimming taxpayers' monies. Their quickest lie was it was a political donation .. now Portia guh Parliament yesterday with a different tune, "service agreement" As I said .. something stinks.

My reason for wanting the issues to be addressed seperately, is that the expert spinners will sweep Trafiguria under the carpet. Have you heard of Bredda Anancy ... aka Trevor Monroe? In case yuh never know, Lazie has never fallen for the tricks of a 3 cyaad man. My best move is to take 2 steps backwards and THINK! ("What luck for leader when men don't THINK!")

You are playing politics when you are seeking to tie Trafigura to Campaign finance reform.

Briggie, obviously yuh not paying attention. Again, I asked you about a statement you made about Trafiguria and you brought up campaign financing. Yet you blaming Lazie for your deeds? Damn! I hope you're not one of the spinners.

Finally, I always find it amusing when people cry "playing politics" when a political situation is being discussed.(Anybody see Comrade Balla). Stop fool yuhself bout starting with you and me.Small frieshad nothing to do with Trafiguria. Again, after we get to the bottom of this scam and put unda the jail who belong unda deh ,... then we can talk bout campaign financing. Oh ... I for one don't think the state should be financing these political parties. These ********s .. JLP &amp; PNP dun rich already.

Lazie you and I will agree to disagree on this one as I see you are standing by the party line Which is another problem many ofus Jamaicans suffer from which is blind allegiance to political parties and their positions . On a slightly different note what do you think will be required for Jamaica to be ready for campaign finance?

Briggie (3/21/2007)Lazie you and I will agree to disagree on this one as I see you are standing by the party line Which is another problem many ofus Jamaicans suffer from which is blind allegiance to political parties and their positions . On a slightly different note what do you think will be required for Jamaica to be ready for campaign finance?
                      Standing on party line? hehehe ... I could say the same about you. Lazie is a thinking person Briggie. Based on our revenue from our deal with Nigeria, 12 cents per barrel it is clear that something is fishy. You can get distracted with campaign financing.

To be ready? We need to stop being tribalistic. Yuh think is mistake PJ mek when he reffered to them as "hostile tribes"? As long as potential contributors fear ending up like Century they will back away. Remember a state minister referred to them as using gestapho like tactics.

Trust me Lazie I am a long-standing PNP supporter but I'm more interested in Jamaica than the PNP and could easily support a JLP administration. However, Bruce has been less than inspiring hopefully he will be able to convince the populous to give him a chance. Portia has made some public relation stumbles that may end up doing her in. The PNP has become arrogant with the years of rule and Jamaica does need a change. However we don't need change for change's sake, we need a positive and effective alternative. Whether JLP is it, i'm currently not convinced. The century experience cannot be allowed to freeze us into inaction on the campaign finance issue.