Ratchedness

• Ratchedness

I am the only male in a household of women. My wife tells me all the time that whilst I may be the "head" of the household, she is the neck and the head has to turn in whichever direction that the neck want. We have five tv's in the house, but the one in the living room is dedicated to "family" time. That's the code word for wifey and big daughter time. If I choose to go watch one of the other tv, I would be setting up myself to hear a barrage of below-the-belt comments like "yuh caan spend some time wid di family and watch something weh we waan watch?" They even have the likkle 3 y-o baby mimicking them about "daddy watch soccer all the time". Talk about low blows. Never have I heard from them, "let's all watch Manchester United play Liverpool". ~sigh~

Single men, here's a nugget of advise to you. For a long and happy marriage, try to watch as many of the same programs with the wife as possible. You will have lots to talk about. That being said, I compromise as much as possible because come Saturday, football season returns and all the complaints and yapping, weekend grass-cutting and general maintenance of the house will take a faaaarrrrr back seat and will be calculated around the schedules of Fox Sports and ESPN.

So a few years ago, I got caught up into watching Flavor of Love. I missed the first season because one glance told me that this show was a damn waste of time. I however, eagerly couldn't wait on the second season after the wife told me about 2 girls kissing and how much booty shaking and "ratchedness" went on in the show. I was not disappointed. I was thoroughly intrigued and watched all of the follow-ups and spin-offs from that "ratchED" show. Now, you can't turn on the tv without seeing one of those "ratchEd" shows. Despite my resistance, I cannot help being sucked into these shows, Real Housewives of Atlanta, Love & Hip Hop of Atlanta, Ex Wives, The Bad Girls Club and the list goes on and on. So even though I don't go out of my way to watch them, I can't escape the constant discussions about them between the wife, the daughter, the in-laws and Hot 97 and Power 105.7 every morning while driving to work. These networks are making a killing on these shows because they are cheap to produce and come with a ton load of drama - albeit, most times staged. They are "supposed" to be reality shows, but they re nothing more than just lightly scripted. The producers create situations and scripts and just leave the rest to black ghetto people to provide the drama. Bingo! A hit series is borne.
    Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

I am the only male in a household of women. My wife tells me all the time that whilst I may be the "head" of the household, she is the neck and the head has to turn in whichever direction that the neck want. We have five tv's in the house, but the one in the living room is dedicated to "family" time. That's the code word for wifey and big daughter time. If I choose to go watch one of the other tv, I would be setting up myself to hear a barrage of below-the-belt comments like "yuh caan spend some time wid di family and watch something weh we waan watch?" They even have the likkle 3 y-o baby mimicking them about "daddy watch soccer all the time". Talk about low blows. Never have I heard from them, "let's all watch Manchester United play Liverpool". ~sigh~

Single men, here's a nugget of advise to you. For a long and happy marriage, try to watch as many of the same programs with the wife as possible. You will have lots to talk about. That being said, I compromise as much as possible because come Saturday, football season returns and all the complaints and yapping, weekend grass-cutting and general maintenance of the house will take a faaaarrrrr back seat and will be calculated around the schedules of Fox Sports and ESPN.

So a few years ago, I got caught up into watching Flavor of Love. I missed the first season because one glance told me that this show was a damn waste of time. I however, eagerly couldn't wait on the second season after the wife told me about 2 girls kissing and how much booty shaking and "ratchedness" went on in the show. I was not disappointed. I was thoroughly intrigued and watched all of the follow-ups and spin-offs from that "ratchED" show. Now, you can't turn on the tv without seeing one of those "ratchEd" shows. Despite my resistance, I cannot help being sucked into these shows, Real Housewives of Atlanta, Love & Hip Hop of Atlanta, Ex Wives, The Bad Girls Club and the list goes on and on. So even though I don't go out of my way to watch them, I can't escape the constant discussions about them between the wife, the daughter, the in-laws and Hot 97 and Power 105.7 every morning while driving to work. These networks are making a killing on these shows because they are cheap to produce and come with a ton load of drama - albeit, most times staged. They are "supposed" to be reality shows, but they re nothing more than just lightly scripted. The producers create situations and scripts and just leave the rest to black ghetto people to provide the drama. Bingo! A hit series is borne.
    Dude you have to know how to work around it. My daughter always reminding me that its time for mommy to watch American Idol or Dancing with the stars. So what I did I bought an Xbox and FIFA 12. She now turns it on, plays as much as she wants. She now knows the players based on controlling them on the Xbox. When a game is coming on that I want to see. I tell her were gonna see Rooney or Messi or Ronaldo.

Battle won .... for now!

Here's some advice for you...you need to take sm testosterone shots....the estrogens getting to you...it's all over the house...floating in the air....stop eating tofu....and soya...take 2 shots of Wray and Nephew...get a white vest..the long one...a cotton shorts....and put on your best gameface....detelete all saved programs on all the TVs and replace them with football, sports or fighting...esp when their programmes are on...lol...then tell me what happened when you wake up...

Well the new school year is about to start so the big daughter will be going back to college and the wife, who is also going to school, will also have a very tough schedule leaving me alone with the 3 yo. When she was a baby and wasn't yapping away and telling on me, I used to get away with sitting in front of the tv for hours with her in my lap drinking her "ba-ba". Now, I feel guilty if I don't give her enough daddy time. Someway somehow football haffi watch as that is my second job.
        Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

yeah right.....lol. The wife walks around with my two balls in her handbag and only let me look at them ocassionally. I thought I had misplaced them some years ago, it turns out that she had taken them without my knowledge.

Lol...good one...

lol

I get similar for Track and Field.

How many of them diamond league events dem have suh? Track and Filed again? I thought the season would be over by now. You didnt get enuff in the WChamps or Olys? Yuh know that Bolt going to win anyway! LoL

Yuh need to watch that on the computer (mind yuh, now I have a 27inch iMac so its not too bad), etc.

Fox Soccer 10 pm show. "Yuh nuh see dat already??!!!!" or the repeat at 6 am - "Yuh never watch dat last night??" or "Yuh nuh done hear dat news inna di day already???"

WWWoooooowww. Mi tell unnu long time. Anytime a family time and fi watch a show as family, it is never your show, anytime a hussy and wifey time she always a choose the movie. We have a thing work out for Saturdays. She get breakfast in bed and leave me alone until after 2. but now mi bwoys them a go have soccer on saturday morning something have to change.

Only so much of wife of this and that a man can watch. You notice all them "wife" deh single or a go through divorce?

I want to attach my internet cable direct to my TV to get faster streaming...but "the wireless is working", or "too many wires in the living room".....one day mi run a bright red ethernet cable from a back room to the front...on the ground.....lol...never last too long....

Just get a long cable and wrap ip up when not in use.

What she dont see most times dont bother her...