Blacks suffer most in U.S. foreclosure surge

• Blacks suffer most in U.S. foreclosure surge

Blacks suffer most in U.S. foreclosure surge <DIV id=ynmain><DIV id=storybody><DIV class=storyhdr>

<SPAN>By Jason Szep</SPAN>Tue Mar 20, 10:42 AM ET <DIV class=spacer></DIV></DIV>

Barbara Anderson and her husband know racism. Among the first blacks to move into an Ohio neighborhood 25 years ago, she watched in horror as white neighbors burned her garage nearly to the ground.

Fast-forward to 2007 and Anderson talks of a different sort of discrimination: brokers of subprime mortgages who prey on borrowers with weak credit histories like the Andersons, who raised eight children in Cleveland's Slavic Village district.

"These subprime lenders target you to take you through disaster," said Anderson, 59, who filed for bankruptcy after a legal tussle with a subprime lender, a "nightmare" that she said ended four years ago when her home was nearly foreclosed.

"I was fortunate. I went to another bank that decided to give me a chance with a new loan. The day that happened my headache stopped, my blood pressure lowered, my sick stomach went away, and it was because now I could see some daylight."

Across the United States, blacks and Hispanics are more likely to get a high-cost, subprime mortgage when buying a home than whites, a major factor in a wave of foreclosures in poor, often black neighborhoods nationwide as a housing slowdown puts millions of "subprime" borrowers at risk of default.

Even more troubling, real-estate industry analysts say, is an alarming proportion of blacks and Hispanics who received subprime loans by predatory lenders even when their credit picture was good enough to deserve a cheaper loan.

In six major U.S. cities, black borrowers were 3.8 times more likely than whites to receive a higher-cost home loan, and Hispanic borrowers were 3.6 times more likely, according to a study released this month by a group of fair housing agencies.

"Blacks and Latinos have lower incomes and less wealth, less steady employment and lower credit ratings, so a completely neutral and fair credit-rating system would still give a higher percentage of subprime loans to minorities," said Jim Campen, a University of Massachusetts economist who contributed to the study.

"But the problem is exacerbated by a financial system which isn't fair," he said.

In greater Boston, 71 percent of blacks earning above $153,000 in 2005 took out mortgages with high interest rates, compared to just 9.4 percent of whites, while about 70 percent of black and Hispanic borrowers with incomes between $92,000 and $152,000 received high-interest rate home loans, compared to 17 percent for whites, according to his research.

"It's a huge disparity," he said. High-cost mortgages usually have interest rates at least 3 percentage points above conventional mortgages.

PREDATORY LENDERS

Predatory lenders moved aggressively into the subprime mortgage market as a housing price boom between 2000 and 2005 cut the risk of lending to people with damaged credit ratings.

Many focused on minority neighborhoods in slick sales pitches that offered the American dream: home ownership with no money down and little worry about poor credit.

"The predatory lenders reach out to those who don't really know, people with a lack of education," said Cassandra Hedges, a black 37-year-old mother of two fighting to stave off foreclosure of the Ohio home she bought three years ago.

"One of the first things my broker asked me was 'How do you know you are ready to buy a house. Have you done any research?' We said 'No'. At that point I think he realized 'Okay I got some people that don't know what the heck they are doing'."

She and her husband Andre now face a 10.75 percent interest rate on an adjustable-rate mortgage and monthly payments of $1,600 -- more than double the $650 she told her broker she could afford. Foreclosure looms after she missed a payment.

"If you're white they overlook the fact that your credit score is a l

RE: Blacks suffer most in U.S. foreclosure surge

Some of these black people need to get up off them ARSES and read and do them own research. Tell them to stop buying the damn $200 sneakers etc. and start saving those monies to buildtheir own equity pool. Downsize the countless store credit cards and the must have fashion, and going to the beauty parlor and the nail salon every week &amp; trust me nuff money will be in the kitty.

Our race have to get SMART and stop BAWL. Things go wrong, but there are a number of circumstances than we can exercise control over. We need to start NOW!!

<DIV>How do you know when you are being discriminated against? Many times, you don't! It is near impossible!</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>Some of our own forumites are here reading and saying, pity it happens to those other people, not realising that they themselves are probably paying more than they have to just because of the colour of their skin. Have you asked your neighbour how much they pay? Do you know your neighbour's credit rating?</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>Just look at the numbers - "...black borrowers were 3.8 times more likely than whites to receive a higher-cost home loan, and Hispanic borrowers were 3.6 times more likely...". Wi not talking 10% more likely, rather it is almost 400%!!!</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>I know you hate for me to be telling you that you have been victims of racism, maybe when you bought your house too. But don't hate me for pointing out the truth. This doesn't happen to the "other" person. The "other" person is you! </DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>Don't worry. When I lived in the States it must have happened to me too. Was my salary the same they would have offered a white person? Probably not, but how was I going to prove it?</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>So, MdmeX, I agree. Blacks need to value education and strive to learn more about what they are getting into, but the point must be made that sometimes, indeed oftentimes, the most savvy black person will have no clue that he has just been a victim of racism. Trust me on that!</DIV>

These so called christians really and truly amazes me.

The bible says "Honor your mother and fore-fathers" so that your days will be longer and dem can go a church everyday and recite it but still dem no know the meaning. Our forefather or father of black consciousness Marcus Garvey told us in his book to "never trust a "friend of the negro" as dem will laugh and grin with you when you a take out a loan and a pay the interest but as soon as you start building equity dem do everything fi take the house back from you.

Nothing in life is new and history repeats itself so why are we repeating the same mistakes our forefathers made when the path is laid out for us? The prophet was right when he said that we will never know ourselves until our backs are against the wall.

See Maudib a beg fi help from the diaspora when a from when the prophet tell unnu say a the diaspora ago lead them

sometimes its good to just ignore them make dem bawl because who can't hear ago feel.

respect

MdmeX (3/20/2007)Some of these black people need to get up off them ARSES and read and do them own research. Tell them to stop buying the damn $200 sneakers etc. and start saving those monies to buildtheir own equity pool. Downsize the countless store credit cards and the must have fashion, and going to the beauty parlor and the nail salon every week &amp; trust me nuff money will be in the kitty.

Our race have to get SMART and stop BAWL. Things go wrong, but there are a number of circumstances than we can exercise control over. We need to start NOW!!
          MdmeX you are spot on. There is one rule to life and that is "Big Fish Eats Little Fish". Enough of the nonsense. It is natural selection time now iyah. I am sick and tired of the wailing and gnashing of teeth. If our test scores are low....its white peoples fault.....if we commit crimes.....its white peoples fault......if our children are regularly born out of wed lock its white peoples fault......Enough is enough iyah. Either we evolve or we should just simply go extinct now. Tiyad of the f-ery.

Here you are making the biggest investment of your life in buying your home and you don't educate your self on the process? you don't educate yourself about things like FICO scores and so on? you don't educate yourself on the pitfalls?No sah. That is not racism that is just stupidity. Everyone knows that when you finance anything it is their job to try and fleece you. They are not your friends....they are not working on your side.....they are trying to get as much money from you as possible. It is not a black thing....it is not a white thing....it is simply the same cycle that has been happening for thousands of years. The uneducated and unskilled get the short end of the stick. Look at any society and that is how it works.

As well since for 99%of people thehome is the biggest investment they will ever make. Doesn't it make sense to have a Real Estate Lawyer read over every document you are asked to sign? Like duh. You pay a couple thousand of dollars to Re Lawyer and it saves you tens of thousands of dollars.You tell me. It such common sense that it just ticks me off because it is like everyday we reaffirm to racists that we are not a thinking people.

The problem isnot that blacks are getting fleeced by these companies the problem is that we don't value important things like reading and education so we are the most likely to get taken advantaged of. Ask a black person about the US Attorneyscandal right now they have no cluewhat that isbut ask them the score of the Lakers and Kings and they are all over that.

We're too busy looking forthe white man to come save usfrom ourselves that we have given upany sense of responsibility for our and our family's own well being. As me sehnatural selection time now. - T.K.

<DIV>TK, sorry to advise you but you could have an army of advisers at the time of your home purchase, if they want to discriminate against you there is absolutely no way you are going to find out.</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>That is a fact!</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>So, yes, I agree that we should educate ourselves, and arm ourselves with lawyers and all that (by the way, how many people can afford lawyers? Isn't the mortgage already pushing it?) and we should stop blaming whitey for everything, but racism occurs in all forms, some more detectable than others.</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>What is needed is more openness when it comes to loans and options. And criminal prosecution when racism is discovered!</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV></DIV>

Mosiah (3/21/2007)<DIV>TK, sorry to advise you but you could have an army of advisers at the time of your home purchase, if they want to discriminate against you there is absolutely no way you are going to find out.</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>That is a fact!</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>So, yes, I agree that we should educate ourselves, and arm ourselves with lawyers and all that (by the way, how many people can afford lawyers? Isn't the mortgage already pushing it?) and we should stop blaming whitey for everything, but racism occurs in all forms, some more detectable than others.</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>What is needed is more openness when it comes to loans and options. And criminal prosecution when racism is discovered!</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV></DIV>
              I never said that our goal was to find out if they were discriminating against us. Our goal is to buy a home at reasonable terms.

The first stepis to educateourselves about buying a home. If you have a Real Estate Lawyer they can tell you accurately whether you are being taken to the cleaners or if you have legit terms. So can a financial advisor. Ifone cannot afford to use one of those temporarily thenone cannot afford to buy a home because you end up paying considerably more for ignorance then anything else in life and that includes skin color.

You are spot on in regards to criminal prosecution for racism.Many times however people bawl racism when really it has more to do with the fact that the strong pick on the weak. We have tostopacting like thelamb to the slaughter and realize that we have the responsibility to take care of ourselves and our business. - T.K.

["One of the first things my broker asked me was 'How do you know you are ready to buy a house. Have you done any research?' We said 'No'. At that point I think he realized 'Okay I got some people that don't know what the heck they are doing'."]

With a response like that you are setting yourself up to be TAKEN for a ride(IMO)

T.K. (3/21/2007)

The problem isnot that blacks are getting fleeced by these companies the problem is that we don't value important things like reading and education so we are the most likely to get taken advantaged of. Ask a black person about the US Attorneyscandal right now they have no cluewhat that isbut ask them the score of the Lakers and Kings and they are all over that.

We're too busy looking forthe white man to come save usfrom ourselves that we have given upany sense of responsibility for our and our family's own well being. As me sehnatural selection time now. -

T.K.

I do not necessarily agree with your entire rant. However, predatory lenders will exploit the uneducated and ignorant folks among us. It is up to the legal system to prosecute lenders who break the law. Unuh need to fi check out one of dem urban schools that are under educating black people to really understand the problem of poor education = exploitation. Granted everyone should have at attorney at closing.

<DIV>That's the thing, Hortikal. It would be ignorant of us to look at these things in isolation. The fact is the exploitation and discrimination did not just start with housing. It all has it roots in slavery, chattel slavery that was practiced by the Europeans in the New World.</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>That said, we must begin to shake ourselves loose of the shackles that are holding us back. Our oppressors won't do it for us, that's for sure. But to just forget the roots of our problem means that we probably won't fully understand how to rise up from it.</DIV>

T.K. (3/21/2007)

Many times however people bawl racism when really it has more to do with the fact that the strong pick on the weak. We have tostopacting like thelamb to the slaughter and realize that we have the responsibility to take care of ourselves and our business. - T.K.
                      True!

That's probably the answer I would give them too! Just to see what dem up to!

Man know thyself or as Maudib would say "understand youself"

Done talk

But then again - the same discrimination can be said to apply to the lower echelons in the Jamaican society. Nuh poor people bearing the brunt of the high interest rates from the bank man when him approach to get a loan? All the middle class folks, especially them who ripped off the banks wasn't their interest rate "little or nothing".

A real estate lawyer MAY be able to tell you if you are being offered reasonable terms...but, so could a garbage man.

Many real estate lawyers are so concerned with the fees of other professionals that they forget to give the client-buyer best advise.Many are the owners who followed the attorney's 'direction'who now have problems with the mortgage products 'they purchased'.

The real key to a buyer assuring himself/herself of using best options is ENGAGE COMMONSENSE. Know the reason why you are making the purchase. Find best product for time over which it shall be used. Simply, the purchase and or use of the mortgage product must make good financial sense to and for the buyer.

Rule of thumb for the buyer; if it does not make sense, do not 'buy'!