Sorry Daryl, you cannot unring a 'bell'.

• Sorry Daryl, you cannot unring a 'bell'.

West Portland now a JLP garrison ? Vaz

As the Jamaica Labour Party (JLP) seeks to put its party-election machinery into high gear, the first of its four divisional conferences was held in Buff Bay, Saturday night.

All 26 polling divisions in Buff Bay were represented at the conference. The conference participants included indoor and outdoor agents, <SPAN class=kLink style="FONT-WEIGHT: 400; COLOR: orange! important; FONT-FAMILY: Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif; POSITION: relative">runners</SPAN> and polling division captains who are also given the responsibility of carrying out the enumeration process in that division.

JLP candidate for Western Portland, Daryl Vaz, said that the conference was a success and he was pleased with the high level of representation and interest which are being displayed by party workers.

?I am very impressed upon the realisation that all polling divisions are being accounted for,? said Mr. Vaz. ?This is a clear indication that Buff Bay is ready and prepared for whenever elections are called.?

The Buff Bay division is being represented by Councillor Gloria Silvera, who is seeking a second term in office at the local govern-ment level, having first won in 2003.

Mr. Vaz declared that whenever elections are called, he will hand his opponent, Abe Dabdoub of the People?s National Party (PNP) the beating of his life, which will indicate to the people of <SPAN class=kLink style="FONT-WEIGHT: 400; COLOR: orange! important; FONT-FAMILY: Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif; POSITION: relative">Jamaica</SPAN> that it is a poor candidate selection by the rival party.

Will win at least 3,000

?I am confident that I will win this seat by at least 3,000 votes in the upcoming <SPAN class=kLink style="FONT-WEIGHT: 400; COLOR: orange! important; FONT-FAMILY: Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif; POSITION: relative">general </SPAN><SPAN class=kLink style="FONT-WEIGHT: 400; COLOR: orange! important; FONT-FAMILY: Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif; POSITION: relative">election</SPAN>. West Portland is now a garrison, and I also intend to work closely with my counterpart ? Dennis Wright, in East Portland ? to secure both seats for the JLP,? Mr. Vaz added.

But the JLP candidate did no his emotions, which were aimed at Mr. Dabdoub, and went on to state that when the seat in West Kingston is announced on the night of the counting of ballot boxes, the next confirmed seat will be that of West Portland.

The second of four divisional conferences is sl

RE: Sorry Daryl, you cannot unring a 'bell'.

Any comment on his "alleged" garrison statement, Lazie?

After reading it yesterday I wondered what he was smoking. Then an individual that was at the function called the Icon of Jamaican Journalism, Mutty, and insisted Vaz made no such statement. Vaz himself called Mutty and insisted he made no such statement.

My view is, people gonna remember the original story, even though it appears to be a fallacy. Few months from now ... watch ... ppl gonna accuse of wanting to turn West Portland in a garrison.

West Portland will never become a garrison for either party. They are voting against the PNP and Ennis for lack of representation for the last 8 yrs and Vaz is doing a good job of highlighting the problems but he better not fool himself. Majority of these people will not shoot their cousins for Vaz or anybody else.

The Coffee farmers in the hills who are dying for roads and some support will not shoot anybody. The people from Windsor to Buff Bay have their party affilliation but we are close knit so Vaz can gwaan run off him mouth. If him nuh do a good job see how fast him go garrison or no garrison.

Sorry ... the site ignored my follow up post. Here it is.

'Garrison' label denied by Vaz
          published: Tuesday | March 20, 2007
          <DIV class=KonaBody BdUr0="true">

The Editor Sir:

I feel compelled to respond to an article in The Gleaner dated March 19, 2007 titled, "West Portland now a JLP garrison - Vaz". Let me categorically state that I never said as was reported or have I ever referred to West Portland as a "garrison". The body of the article spoke to getting election ready and my <SPAN class=kLink style="FONT-WEIGHT: 400; COLOR: orange! important; FONT-FAMILY: Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif; POSITION: relative">prediction</SPAN> of winning by three thousand (3,000) votes. A victory of 3,000 out of an electorate of 17,000 does not indicate a voting pattern that could be characterised as a garrison. I can only surmise that the journalist covering the conference interpreted my prediction that West Portland would be the second seat declared for the <SPAN class=kLink style="FONT-WEIGHT: 400; COLOR: orange! important; FONT-FAMILY: Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif; POSITION: relative">Jamaica</SPAN> Labour Party on election night as an indication that it is a garrison. I am, etc.,

DARYL VAZ

pr@jamaicalabourparty.com</DIV>

<DIV>I wonder where the allegation came from. Our candidates should not be kept busy defending idle rumours, because, as you said, people will remember them, true or not.</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>That said, let me say that I am abhorred by the site of Vaz and Dabdoub running in West Portland. To my knowledge, none of them live there and it pains me to see black people running behind these white saviours in 2007!</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>Yes, I said it!</DIV>

Yuh have a problem when the people a run behind Ronnie Thwaites? Yuh have a problem with D.K. Duncan running in Hanover?

Mosiah,are Vaz and Abe Jamaicans? There is a comical quote that is called our motto that says, "Out of many one people!" Black, white or pink ... I don't see the big fuss. What yuh should be concerned about is how come Abe, after failing in his current constituency is now a candidate in West Portland.