Something must be done about Jamaican driving...

• Something must be done about Jamaican driving...

Posted this before:

I lost a very close (Jamaican) friend who lived most of his life in the US...and decided to return home to Jamaica.

He built a lovely house and things were great!! He contributed lots to his community in Jamaica.

After ~ 4 years I got the news that he was killed in a motor-vehicle accident.....

I read about Ranking Trevor below and ~~sigh~~

There is a large segment of Jamaican drivers that are stupid.

its just EGO

EGO!!???

Please explain.

Thanks.

Jamaicans always will tell you they are the best drivers in the world. I think they equate fast driving with good driving. Too many ackasses on the road driving in Ja.

yeah something must be done. Too many promising lives have been cut short there is reason for some of the drivers to be driving they way they are.

License buying scam?

Originally posted by Reggaedoc View Post
              Jamaicans always will tell you they are the best drivers in the world. I think they equate fast driving with good driving. Too many ackasses on the road driving in Ja.
              hmmmmm...OK....

Jamaica does not have a clue how to solve a simple problem & rake in big bucks.

1) Parking on opposite sides of the street..ticket$$$

2) DWI....ticket$$$

3) red lights ..ticket$$$

4) registration ...ticket$$$

5) Inspection ticket$$$

6) speeding ticket$$$$

We have an antiquated road code system desinged to kill & corrupt, yuh know gimmie a something and yuh can gwaaan.Everyone that slips through is a danger to self & society.

Why blame the drivers , they dont make the rules they follow them
                Last edited by Sir X; August 8, 2012, 08:04 PM.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Economic Malpractice..

That is why yuh can bribe a Policeman with a pack of cigarettes..

"It is expensive to be poor"

Suh labor couldnt fix it ,when dem was in powa or dem did like di status quo.Duduss etc ?

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Seriously tell all di police man dem , fi drive through dem area and give tickets fi everyone who park on the wrong side of the road or in the wrong direction !

Billion$$$ ,a ticket lead to other violations, outdated inspection , unsafe vehicle , stolen etc, etc.

X is not that some of the laws are not there. Teh police have road block and them friends a drive 90 and just blow them. When I police patrol I felt good and say to mi brethren, you have more patrols now, him say them only stop who they want.

A senior citizen who has a lot of influence in the community saw some robber with a gun pass her house and she refused to call the police, she told me "a mi you want them kill?" She said you tell the police and them tell the criminals who come looking for you.

I am convince it is not so much the laws we make, it is how we stop loopholes and make people pay. We have tax laws in place and look at the compliance rate? see how many drivers who a drive around with so many outstanding tickets? some should be in jail.

You have heard of technology ? If a cop stops you in New York he scans your I.D Liscene & registration , it goes in a system that

1) Info is collected time of stop

2) Location of stop

3) Driver Info

4) If any violation was issued .

Not all cops scan you , but if they do the precent knows about.But NYPD is smarter than that, where every precent has to meet a quota systemInfo is put in a data base.

If they do revenue comes in to the city/state its seen as productive , if not they analyse why not , is it because everyone is obeying the laws , or officers not enforcing it. Action is taken to better the system in quality of life laws to rake in money and bring down crime,stats have proven they are linked, esp in holiday seasons ,spot checks are random.

Like you said its enforcement and i have serious reservations about our laws,it cannot be coincidence that cars park where ever they feel like in residential areas, as long as its (my side walk ).

Remember when they buy the scanning machine a wharf and them sabotage it? At one stage most of the DWI machines a yard wasn't working. Technology is good but if you have people with corrupted mind them get around it.

You nuh see the lotto scam involves people working in the ICT industry and people in the remittance companies them. Your technology is only as good as the people operating them.

Re read my post again about analysing to rake in money , lets say we agree.