Sorry, the 80s was when good dancehall started. The 70s was downright awful!
Ranking Trevor, pioneer of rap reggae killed
Ok Mo , your (opinion) is noted ..mek wi enjoy win innocence.
Fade away
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gUA1x...eature=relatedTHERE IS ONLY ONE ONANDI LOWE!
"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.
I understand, because it wasn't mainstream then but you had some good underground artist then, best of them was General Echo. Listen to his few recording that he did like "arlene" "sex educational class" and "hotel fee" with Madoo. Lone Ranger, Nicodemus and others was great. Before then I call the "chica bow" days which was pretty much toasting and adding something to record.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
Not all of them were awful, but I can remember the boring Brigadier Jerry, repeating lines and just putting people to sleep!
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=K58jRz5sWz4
SNORE!!!!
Yuh nuh rate Michigan & Smiley ..Diseaes ?One love Jam down ,Rub A Dub style ?Nice up di dance ?Sugar daddyTHERE IS ONLY ONE ONANDI LOWE!
"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.
late 70s early,early 80s.THERE IS ONLY ONE ONANDI LOWE!
Briggy was great but how can you expect a DJ to DJ for 4 or 5 hours?
Sometimes that is what sound like Jah Love which is a cultish sound use to do. Some of those dances use to be like a Rasta Grounding. LOL
Give Briggy one hour with Josey, Charley and a singer to hold few notes and dance night but when the man chat from 11-1 after that how much more orginal he can be???? Briggy timing was excellent but bwoy you had to be cultish to be listening to him for 6 hours as he use to chat all night still.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
Michigan and Smiley was the first ones that consistently wrote lyrics that actually made sense and was entertaining.
Good yute dem. I believe their contribution to dancehall music has been underrated."It is easier to build strong children than to repair broken men" - Frederick Douglass
Originally posted by Mosiah View PostBoring!!!!
No wonder the only dance move that made sense then was rub. The beat was monotonic, the lyrics trite.
Seh if yuh have a paper, yuh must have a pen
and if yuh have a start, yuh must have a end
seh five plus five, it equal to ten
and if yuh have goat, yuh put dem in a pen
and if yuh have a rooster, yuh must have a hen, now.
Jesus Christ! Nice! Chicken and rice!
HUH?!?!?
“Life is a system of half-truths and lies, opportunistic, convenient evasion.”
him a gwaan like them nuh have them lyrics deh inna dancehall today. LOL.
look on Shabba Big hit
"Tinga ling a ling
School bell ring
knife and fork a fight fi dumpling
Booyaka Bookaya"
Check out most a Ele tune them.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
Ole veteran , im waaan mi draw fi some demus , jawbone connection ...lol
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hCEOqMr7HtcTHERE IS ONLY ONE ONANDI LOWE!