That Trafigura matter affects our chidren

• That Trafigura matter affects our chidren

<TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=1 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR><TD><SPAN class=TopStory>That Trafigura matter affects our chidren</SPAN>
    <SPAN class=Subheadline>Heart to heart</SPAN></TD></TR><TR><TD>Betty Ann Blaine
    Tuesday, March 20, 2007
    </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>
    <P class=StoryText align=justify>Dear Reader,
    Trafigura Beheer is more than just the name of a Dutch firm with links to Jamaica's governing political party. It represents a principle that strikes at the heart of the moral fibre of our nation, and brings into question issues of ethics and the integrity of those we elect to lead us.
    <P class=StoryText align=justify>The issue is not just another scandal involving technicalities of dates and times that sums of money were sent and returned to Trafigura Beheer, and whether it was sent via courier or bank transfer, or all the other details that the spin doctors would prefer that we focus on. All of that is merely an orchestrated sideshow.<P class=StoryText align=justify>The principles and morals of the matter run deep and ought to be unacceptable to our citizens.
    To my mind there is a direct correlation between the Trafigura payment matter and the state of Jamaica's children, and it has to do with the issue of good governance.<P class=StoryText align=justify>In any nation where there are practices and concerns of corruption, you can expect that the social conditions generally, and the plight of children in particular, are severely compromised. In other words, a government that seeks to feather its own nest, and to fatten and reward its colleagues and cronies, usually does so at the expense of the people, including the children.<P class=StoryText align=justify>Corruption breeds myriad sins that affect nations and their peoples, not just socially and economically, but spiritually as well. In Jamaica's case, poor governance has resulted in a steady deterioration in the welfare and well-being of our children, culminating in growing sexual violence and murders, among many other daily maladies.<P class=StoryText align=justify>Just last week two young children were brutally murdered in Portmore. While we know that parents are unquestionably responsible for the protection of their children, it is the responsibility of the state to ensure the safety and security of all its citizens, particularly its children. That over the past five years hundreds of children have been murdered and thousands raped and physically abused is a testament to the poor quality of governance, and it's time that we call a spade a spade.<P class=StoryText align=justify>Quite frankly, the nation has reached a saturation point in public commentary regarding the abominable state of the nation's children. I'm not sure what else can be said about the causes and effects of the neglect and abandonment of the youth of this country.<P class=StoryText align=justify>The regurgitation of the same stories within periods we label as "nine-day wonders", is steadily losing traction. There is almost nothing else we can say to embellish the subject, even while the situation worsens day by day.<P class=StoryText align=justify>The truth is that given the present climate of chaos and lawlessness in the country, it is almost impossible to protect children. When the rule of law deteriorates the way it has in Jamaica, you can expect that children will be the main victims. In a society with as rigid class divisions as ours, you can also expect that it is the children of the poor who are most vulnerable and who suffer the most.<P class=StoryText align=justify>Not only are we unable to protect our children in an atmosphere of disorder, we can't protect them in communities that live by their own values and their own laws. Most of our garrisons are now operating as self-governing enclaves where the rules are set by self-appointed leaders.<P class=StoryText align=justify>In these communities, adolescent girls are sexually violated upon request by dons in a manner starkly reminiscent of slavery. One mother

RE: That Trafigura matter affects our chidren

It represents a principle that strikes at the heart of the moral fibre of our nation, and brings into question issues of ethics and the integrity of those we elect to lead us.

Sofar so good! ....but, the rest of the article as presented seems to be coming from a crazy!

Karl (3/20/2007)
      It represents a principle that strikes at the heart of the moral fibre of our nation, and brings into question issues of ethics and the integrity of those we elect to lead us.

Sofar so good! ....but, the rest of the article as presented seems to be coming from a crazy!
      hehehe, you comrades have no conscience? How is the lady being crazy? Obviously she touched one of yuh nerves? hehehe. Talk the truth Komrade KArl, yuh didn't read all the article.
      1. <LI>
        it has to do with the issue of good governance
        </LI><LI>
        In Jamaica's case, poor governance has resulted in a steady deterioration in the welfare and well-being of our children,
        </LI><LI>
        While we know that parents are unquestionably responsible for the protection of their children, it is the responsibility of the state to ensure the safety and security of all its citizens
        </LI>

All those quotes among others are in the article you posted, but didn't read. Now who is Krazy Komrade KArl?

Karl, are you really so deep in the PNP gutter to not make any sense of the rest of the article? Sad, sad, sad fi true!