Labourites programmed to Beg & Borrow....PJ!

• Labourites programmed to Beg & Borrow....PJ!

'We hesitated too long' — PJ Patterson

BY CONRAD HAMILTON Sunday Observer senior reporter hamiltonc@jamaicaobserver.com
    Sunday, August 05, 2012

FORMER Prime Minister PJ Patterson says the failure of the Golding administration to respond in a timely manner to the global economic recession, was the main factor that caused Jamaica to return to the International Monetary Fund (IMF).

In 1995, Patterson received much accolades when he announced that Jamaica was ending its borrowing relationship with the IMF.
    Former Prime Minister PJ Patterson addressing a special sitting of the Jamaica Observer Monday Exchange meeting.

#slideshowtoggler, #slideshowtoggler a, #slideshowtoggler img {filter:none !important;zoom:normal !important}
    1/1

"Goodbye, ta-ta, au revoir," Patterson said as he made the announcement to thousands of supporters attending a conference of the Peoples National Party (PNP).
    In the 1970s, the PNP administration, then led by Michael Manley entered into a borrowing relationship with the IMF in a bid to rebound from the ravaging effects of the world oil crisis.
    However, the imposition of strict loan conditionalities forced successive administrations to effect cost cutting measures which had devastating social consequences, including massive public sector job losses, wage freezes, the closure of some public institutions and a significant reduction in Government spending.
    For many, the IMF's structural adjustment programme represented an albatross around the necks of Jamaicans.
    However, in 2008 Jamaicans were stunned when they were informed that the Golding administration was engaged in efforts to resume a borrowing relationship with the fund. Through much public relations, the then administration sought to allay the fears of Jamaicans by suggesting that the IMF had changed its posture and was no longer a harsh institution.
    The following year, then Finance Minister Audley Shaw completed negotiations which resulted in a 27-month standby agreement between Jamaica and the IMF.
    But speaking at the weekly Jamaica Observer Monday Exchange, Patterson said he was disappointed with the move to return to the IMF.
    "I believe when the signs were emerging of trouble in the international economy, which would have an adverse impact on Jamaica, we hesitated too long before taking appropriate action on the domestic scene, and as a consequence, by the time the size and the nature of the problems, and its impact on the Jamaican economy became evident we really had no recourse," said Patterson, who was providing an overview of Jamaica's progress and development since 1962.
    "I can only say that I was disappointed in the extreme that we reached that point where the return of the IMF became inevitable," said Patterson.
    Former Finance Minister, Shaw has previously been criticised as a result of his slow response to the global economic crisis.
    In the early days of the recession, Shaw stated that Jamaica would not be hit by the recession, but could instead benefit from its effects.
    However, in subsequent attempts at clarifying his position, Shaw said he had to take such a stance, as anything else would have created panic

Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/news/...#ixzz22g0T9SzM

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Steeeupps..

If bigger dan we haffi run to imf....

PJ a gwaan like seh him leff Jamaica as a model of financial stability.

Dese politicians, I tell yuh.

<"I believe when the signs were emerging of trouble in the international economy, which would have an adverse impact on Jamaica, we hesitated too long before taking appropriate action on the domestic scene, and as a consequence, by the time the size and the nature of the problems, and its impact on the Jamaican economy became evident we really had no recourse," said Patterson, who was providing an overview of Jamaica's progress and development since 1962.>

ah.. ha-ha.. hah-hah. hahaahHAHHAHHAHAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA AAAAAAAAAAAA !!!

wait.. lemme catch mi mi brea... brea... Hah ahahhaaahahahahahhhaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaahahahhhhahah hhaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa !!

HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAH !!! HAAAHHHHHHHHAAAAAAAAAAAAAHHAAA !!

no babah.. X.. tenks.. di pressure ah tidday race was a get tuh me.. needed some comic relief..

lolo!lolool !! woieeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee !!!

man seh if wi did get the Tsunami alert earlier wi coulda build a better shelter with the straw innah storage !

lol !! woieee !!!! no baba !

Well.. it work cause yuh have man a repost with seriousness !!

hahahahhhahahaha !!

Ah wah suh Rasta ?!

WTF !?

Mi wake yuh up........lol, seriously though mi nuh inna di IMF, Jamaica fi leggo dat.Jamaica always were under the impression that the economy cannot be managed without the IMF,PJ dispelled that myth.

Anyone who believes its bigger than us handling it without IMF help ,need to look at 3rd world nations that refuse to go there and ask why !

Kissteeth.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

PJ can tell us where he would get money from in 2008 with our debt to GDP ratio. The European bond market was closed to us and still is, US is even worst, PJ presold all the bauxite and everything he could already.

Who was going to lend us money or buy our bonds? It look like them still don't believe there is a crisis.

Jamaica was managed during PJ reign ???

managed into mendicancy and MASSIVE debt yuh mussi mean...

ah wheh di.. ?!

Stap chat fvckery innah di early morning bredrin..

Cho...

How did PJ dispell that myth?

How is the ocean blue ?

What was the size of the Jamaican Debt when PJ announced the final payoff to the IMF ?

I really should not be doing this but.. mi haffi really si what a gwaan inside your brain... I might have to alert the authorities..

This is a parody article from The Onion right? Good one X...

If anything PJ show is, is that it is better to let the IMF guide us as oppose to people like him.

Wha yuh say a PNP fault & IMF a di solution ? but unnuh(labourite dont ave a clue ) caaan negotiate wid dem ...lol

Tell me one positive economic contribution PJ Patterson administration made to the economy. Thanks in advance.

It is not about the PNP, it is about the numbers.

I told you one we left the IMF , you on the other hand would argue the JLP taking us back there is better.

You are always welcome.