Jamaican citizens have NO rights.

• Jamaican citizens have NO rights.

How many other countries would turn over their citizens like that? Jamaica ... joke country!

<TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=1 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR><TD><SPAN class=TopStory>Ramcharan, Williams extradited to US</SPAN>
    <SPAN class=Subheadline></SPAN></TD></TR><TR><TD>
    Monday, March 19, 2007
    </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>
    <P class=StoryText align=justify>Accused drug dealers Lebert Ramcharan and Donovan 'Plucky' Williams were yesterday handed over to United States marshals, two days after the Appeal Court turned down their applications against extradition.<P class=StoryText align=justify>"They were handed over at approximately 9:00 am at the Norman Manley Airport," a highly credible police source told the Observer yesterday.
    The source declined to say where in the United States both men were taken, offering only that they were flown out of the island by a US Marshals Service jet.

<TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=5 width=330 align=center border=0><TBODY><TR><TD></TD></TR><TR><TD><SPAN class=Description>Ramcharan (left) and Williams. flown to the US </SPAN></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE><P class=StoryText align=justify>Yesterday, the Sunday Observer reported that Ramcharan's brother, Councillor Answerd Ramcharan (JLP, Red Hills division), had said they would take their appeal to the United Kingdom Privy Council, Jamaica's final appeal court.
    "We are going to take it to the Privy Council for the fact that justice was not served," Councillor Ramcharan told the Sunday Observer after the Appeal Court decision was handed down on Friday.<P class=StoryText align=justify>Lebert Ramcharan, described by US President George W Bush as a "drug kingpin", and Williams were wanted by US prosecutors on drug trafficking charges.
    US prosecutors alleged that Ramcharan and Williams smuggled millions of dollars worth of cocaine into the US through their Colombian connections.<P class=StoryText align=justify>Both men were held by narcotics agents in March 2004 as part of an international crackdown on the cocaine trade.
    They were ordered extradited in the Half-Way-Tree Criminal Court in June 2005 by Resident Magistrate Martin Gayle, but applied for judicial review of the extradition order.<P class=StoryText align=justify>The provisional charges against them included possession of cocaine and conspiracy to import and distribute cocaine and attempting to import 1,422 pounds (647 kilograms) of cocaine into the United States. However, the court dropped the third charge because of insufficient evidence.

RE: Jamaican citizens have NO rights.

The men lost their appeal. I assume the US provided sufficient evidence for the men to be charged with the crime.

Man dem deal with them life wrong, dem have fi go deal with it.

More important tings fi worry bout than them man deh.

Not debating how they lived their lives. Can you imagine if these were Americans that Portia labeled "Drug Kingpin" Yuh think the USA would send them citizens to Jamaica willy nilly? Then again, look at the USA Constitution, then look pon fi wi own.

Evidence? Isn't there a case where the US is refusing to provide evidence? Hortikal .... get serious.

Lazie stop embarrasing yourself

like that man. Come on, you are getting ridiculous now. Funny thing is this; I knew Donavan since I was five years of age. He was living at the top of Market street (near overton) and I was was staying with my mom on East street. Those boys would always play and I always wanted to play with them (John who played for defenders lived up the road then was their icon, guess most people wouldn't know that Donavan and John were childwood friends since Donavan was what you would call uptown man). It's sad to see it end like this but such is life. I can recall a friend (bonified from CC days) who hadn't seen me for years said Jawge if yuh did deh yah when mi come , mi wouldn't inna dis (underworld) mi would ah be ahbig wall street exec. bright youth too. I guess it must have been fate when I left Mobay because only God knows. Really sorry to see it end like that for Donavan though.

Lazie couldn't care less who yuh know Jawge. President Bush labeled them D.K.s yuh think they're going to get a fair trial? If people are being extradicted without necessary evidence, who's to say what can happen when they're in US custody?

I don't think that's why you are arguing and

belly aching. Are you saying the US law enforcement is falsely accusing these men? Weren't you the one say Ja's judicial system is a joke and peopel need to come to the US to see a real Judicial system? Be careful what you wish for Lazie.

Jawge (3/19/2007)I don't think that's why you are arguing and

belly aching. Are you saying the US law enforcement is falsely accusing these men? Weren't you the one say Ja's judicial system is a joke and peopel need to come to the US to see a real Judicial system? Be careful what you wish for Lazie.
                  Don't think Jawge! You've proven its not one of your better traits.

so now the tracing and personal attacks

begin. Ah well, only Mutty and yourself are brilliant thinkers :P

I hope these men get what they deserve. If they were in fact drug dealers think of the life's that were probably lost as a result of their thirst for riches and wealth. I will never feel sorry for a drug dealer, not when I think about the chaos and carnage that it causes. It is a fair assumption that with their wealth they were able to afford the best attorney's to fight thier extradition. It seems to be wishful thinking to presume they have been wronged by the criminal justice system.

Briggie (3/19/2007)I hope these men get what they deserve. If they were in fact drug dealers think of the life's that were probably lost as a result of their thirst for riches and wealth. I will never feel sorry for a drug dealer, not when I think about the chaos and carnage that it causes. It is a fair assumption that with their wealth they were able to afford the best attorney's to fight thier extradition. It seems to be wishful thinking to presume they have been wronged by the criminal justice system.

Know what I like about the American Justice system? As much as it have its faults,from the biggest to the smallest criminal have RIGHTS. Again, you think after being labeled a drug king pin they're going to get a fair trial? Or yuh couldn't careless if them get a trial. Just lock dem up!

Lazie (3/19/2007)

Know what I like about the American Justice system? As much as it have its faults,from the biggest to the smallest criminal have RIGHTS. Again, you think after being labeled a drug king pin they're going to get a fair trial? Or yuh couldn't careless if them get a trial. Just lock dem up!
                          Cho Lazie, do betta than this star(N). Individuals who are alledged to be significant players in the drug bizness are labeled as Drug Kingpins by the DEA. The justice department still has to prove its case beyond a reasonable doubt to a jury. How come all of a sudden you have become such a staunch supporter of these individuals

My understanding is that the Kingpin Designation speaks to the fact that the U.S. has determined that an individual has participated in illegalities to the point that the U.S. wants to agressively target this person for apprehension and prosecution. Unlike, the "enemy combatant" designation it does not bring, as far as I am aware, a suspension or preclusion of the consitutional rights afforded a defendant in the criminal justice system. Fortunately for Jamaica, the U.S. federal criminal justice system is very efficient in prosecuting criminals successfully. The grerat majority of defendant's end up plea bargaining because the evidence against them is typically comprehensive and overwhelming. It may be safe to say that these two shall not have the opportunity to contribute to the crime problem of Jamaica again. Something that I rejoice.

I'm surprised it took this long for me to be accused of being a supporter. I am not. Are you aware that in one of these extradition hearings, the US is refusing to provide evidence? I'm not certain if its these guys or another case. I maintain my position, Jamaican citizens have no rights. Yuh think such a step could be taken with a Canadian, British or French citizen?

Same way when the 76 state of emergency was kicking off, people were rounded up ... including Pernel Charles. The British High Commission called up our gov't officials and asked if a specfic individual was in their custody. After getting the confirmation, it was pointed out that he was a British subjec ..... by the time the 't' could be pronounced he was released. Pernel Charles, a Jamaican citizen, remained in custody for 1 year without being charged.