Very interesting that

• Very interesting that

'white people' can be proud to be Jamaican...

http://jamaica-gleaner.com/gleaner/2...s/sports3.html

Out of Many.. one people ?

What are they proud of.. Butch Stewart ?

She look Jamaican to you? Yuh ever see anybody look like her in HWT? Tap tek people fi fool wit dat silly motto that attempts to bring cultures together...right Mo...bright...

well.. she kinda look like Michael Manley.. sort of..

Yuh gud to the last word!

The motto has always been ridiculous. Makes me puke every time I hear it!

White and Colored Jamaicans....

She look Jamaican to you? Yuh ever see anybody look like her in HWT? Tap tek people fi fool wit dat silly motto that attempts to bring cultures together...right Mo...bright...
            So Chris Blackwell is not a Jamaican? And Edward Seaga? And Butch Stewart? And Norman Washington Manley? And Michael Manley? And Carlton Alexander? And John Issa?

What makes those proud white and colored Jamaicans any less Jamaican than, for example, John Barnes?

Samantha Albert, in my view, displays more genuine Jamaican pride than many black, born-at-home Jamaicans!

Nothing is wrong with the motto, “Out of many, one people” except that due to a number of factors this optimistic view of society has not adequately lived up to its name. Ironically, black people (not the often maligned whites) have been at the helm of government for decades now.

We need to stop this fockery of knocking white and colored Jamaicans and dividing Jamaica into the symbolic “uptown” versus “downtown”!

What is next, a Rwanda-type cleansing?

Originally posted by Historian View Post
              So Chris Blackwell is not a Jamaican? And Edward Seaga? And Butch Stewart? And Norman Washington Manley? And Michael Manley? And Carlton Alexander? And John Issa?

What makes those proud white and colored Jamaicans any less Jamaican than, for example, John Barnes?

Samantha Albert, in my view, displays more genuine Jamaican pride than many black, born-at-home Jamaicans!

Nothing is wrong with the motto, “Out of many, one people” except that due to a number of factors this optimistic view of society has not adequately lived up to its name. Ironically, black people (not the often maligned whites) have been at the helm of government for decades now.

We need to stop this fockery of knocking white and colored Jamaicans and dividing Jamaica into the symbolic “uptown” versus “downtown”!

What is next, a Rwanda-type cleansing?
              there are those who doubt Seaga is Jamaican.

racism is a serious ting...

Bricky only a throw word on Mo. LOL

thought that would have been obvious but...guess not

Well spoken, Historian!

Black man time?

Somethings nuh fi joke bout!
                          Family is one! ...dat dere is Jamaican family memba!

Out of Many One!
                          The World of Tan is fast approaching and nowhere like JA is that more 'in your face'!

Perhaps you have not been around to understand why I have cursed that stupid motto.

It has nothing to do with knocking white and "colored" Jamaicans. Hell, one of my real heroes is Dr. Carolyn Gomes, who is more Jamaican than Reneto Adams!

But if unnu don't understand what I was saying over all these years, then, why unnu going to understand now, when we should all be caught up in this euphoria of our 50th anniversary.

And speaking about black people being at the helm of government, maybe you have forgotten that since independence it was Busta, who was a figurehead for the real PM, Donald Sangster, and a heap of whites and off-whites that led the country, at least by the vote! The first time we voted for a black man was when we voted for Patterson, many decades after independence. So don't try and slip it by us that it was the blacks among us that screwed up the nation.

sigh