• Don’t write BlackBerry off

Don’t write BlackBerry off

RUMOURS of the death of BlackBerry have been greatly exaggerated. But, BlackBerry maker Research in Motion (RIM) is not exactly thriving either. This is a company facing very serious challenges (which have been widely chronicled).

30 July 2012 | Hilton Tarrant

Three months ago in Orlando, new CEO Thorsten Heins debuted the operating system on which RIM’s future hangs: BlackBerry 10. Ahead of BlackBerry World, it was clear that the launch of this new operating system (which RIM calls a mobile computing platform) was RIM’s last throw of the dice.

The reviews of what we know about the platform so far have been overwhelmingly positive. But, most of the early coverage has been overshadowed by Heins’s decision to delay the launch of the new platform and devices from the fourth quarter of 2011 to January 2013.

The knee jerk reaction was that this meant RIM was toast. And then smart folks and analysts realised that this discipline of not releasing an unfinished product had been missing from RIM in the past (and indeed would be more damaging than shipping in November).

If you believe everything you read these days, you would think that BlackBerry has no more enterprise customers, no more consumer users, almost zero market share and is close to shutting shop.

Thing is, we’ve become so used to the US-centric view of the world thanks to the likes of Techcrunch, AllThingsD, The Verge, that any pronouncements from these technology news sites are instantly repeated in the UK and Europe and accepted as gospel around the world.

Yes, Blackberry’s position in the US market is under threat. Enterprise customers are spooked (yet, it remains unclear exactly how serious and widespread these reports are).

In other markets, including SA, the situation couldn’t be more different. Today, RIM earns 63% of its revenue outside of the US, Canada and the UK (vs 56% a year ago). In South Africa, BlackBerry’s success has been well documented.

Arthur Goldstuck, MD of World Wide Worx, estimates there are 4.5 million BlackBerry devices in SA. Vodacom revealed recently that it has 2.4 million BlackBerry smartphones on its network. The estimated figure on MTN is below two million, with the remainder on Cell C and 8.ta. Goldstuck’s figure may be slightly conservative. Also, this number continues to grow.

Compare that to the fewer than one millon Android smartphones in South Africa (only 500 000 on Vodacom), and around 400 000 iPhones.

RIM’s new MD for South Africa and Southern Africa, Alexandra Zagury believes there is definitely an opportunity to continue growing in SA. She moves to Johannesburg after a stint heading RIM’s operation in Turkey.

RIM’s enterprise business in the country is still growing – around 80% of the JSE’s top 300 companies run BlackBerry Enterprise Server (BES). Growth in the SME space continues. And there’s the “untapped opportunity” in 11 adjacent markets which Zagury is responsible for (she’s particularly excited about the potential in Angola).

But if things are so bad in the US, surely they can head south and quickly? The Mobility 2012 findings shared by Goldstuck last week are helpful. Nokia – “written-off”, “limping”, “dead” Nokia – still leads the pack in SA with 50% market share.

This figure is indicative of just how strong Nokia was in SA, and how long shifts take in markets. These changes don’t happen overnight. Beyond emerging markets, smartphone adoption in the US has only just hit the halfway mark – despite all the hype.

The switch from feature phones to smartphones will continue in all markets, including SA. RIM’s Zagury says her number one focus is “making our South African customers happy”.

As part of this, BlackBerry is planning to launch loyalty and retention campaigns in the months ahead. She also wants to make sure “BlackBerry people have the best BlackBerry experience” by ensuring as many as possible upgrade to the latest available OS 7.1. Here it’s working with the four network operators.

RIM is also working with operators to launch low-cost BlackBerry Internet Service (BIS) plans. The all-you-can-eat top packages remain, but tiered services mean subscription prices of as low as R15 per month. 8.ta, Cell C and MTN have all launched cheaper packages, and Vodacom is expected to unveil its bundles soon. The lower cost plans will no doubt see BlackBerry continue its push into the lower end of the middle-market, where price sensitivity is high.

The Mobility 2012 data is useful here too. On average, consumers using BlackBerry spend R306 on mobile services per month, compared to the overall market average of R200. This higher average revenue per user number has been separately backed up by senior executives at the two largest networks in the country. One can easily see why operators are so enamoured with BlackBerry.

Expect to see loyalty programmes rolled out globally as RIM defends its 78 million-strong (and growing!) global subscriber base. It has to. It needs to ensure (in time) as many of these customers migrate to FNB as possible. This is what Samsung has achieved to some extent, and what Nokia has mostly failed at with the Lumia launches to date (its had surprising and somewhat unexpected success in the US thus far).

RIM has managed to attract attention from developers too, thanks largely to the work by evangelic Alec Saunders (RIM’s Vice President of Developer Relations and Ecosystem Development). Its BlackBerry 10 Jam World Tour – in two-dozen cities worldwide – has sold out in most locations. It hits Cape Town on Tuesday and this leg too is sold out. There is real excitement among developers globally about BB10, which provides an alternative to dominant iOS.

Now RIM needs to deliver BlackBerry 10, and deliver it well. The margin for error at RIM is small.

Tiny, even. But don’t write off BlackBerry just yet.

hilton@moneyweb.co.za

Is BlackBerry worth buying or have Apple, Android OS overshadowed it?

Go through BlackBerry's various features and services to know if BlackBerry can still deliver, and where it stands with respect to the competition

From its iconic status among corporate elite a few years ago, BlackBerry has been forced to mingle with the masses. Is it still a smartphone worth buying or have the newer operating systems overshadowed it? ET finds out.

It was the phone that popularised mail on the move. It then added a new dimension to mobile messaging with its BBM service, which lets its users swap messages and files with each other free of cost. However, the competition caught up with BlackBerry.

Today, many people are not just criticising the devices, but the company ( Research In Motion) as well. So should you buy one? Go through its various features and services to know if it can still deliver, and where it stands with respect to the competition.

OPERATING SYSTEM

There are those who believe that like the Symbian, the BlackBerry operating system (OS) is beginning to show its age. This is perhaps why it is likely to receive an overhaul in the coming months, when version 10 of the OS will be launched. However, even in its most recent avatar, the OS 7, the interface remains easy to use, though it does not have the intuitiveness and ease of use that Apple's iOS and Android do.

Our opinion: If the interface is important to you, you will find the icon-based interfaces of Android and iOS as well as the tile-based one of a Windows Phone much easier to use than a BlackBerry. They also score heavily in terms of style and presentation. However, the BlackBerry interface works very smoothly on high-end devices.

MULTIMEDIA

The BlackBerry crowd is lagging behind its peers in this segment. The competition boasts better cameras, displays and sound quality in the same price segment. However, as some people will insist, you do not buy a BlackBerry for multimedia.

Our opinion: If you want a great camera and sound quality, BlackBerry is not your best option. The seamless sharing across BBM is undoubtedly amazing, but every smartphone is expected to have multimedia muscle, and in terms of sheer quality, the opposition has stolen a march over BB.

BlackBerry remains a formidable device for handling e-mails. However, it is no longer the only device capable of doing well in this department. Windows Phone, Android and iOS are giving it a good run for its money, offering larger, higher resolution displays in smartphones.

Our opinion: The playing field in mobile e-mail is a level one now. Most BlackBerry devices remain wonderful options for those dealing mainly with text-heavy mails. However, if you get heavily formated attachments regularly, this is not the best option for you.

MESSAGING

With its trademark Qwerty keyboard and BlackBerry Messenger, RIM has carved a niche for itself in messaging. However, with the emergence of services like WhatsApp and Nimbuzz, messaging and file sharing is not limited to BlackBerry users. What's more, these services work across platforms and are not restricted to BlackBerry, making them more flexible.

Our opinion: BBM rules the roost when it comes to messaging, and the keyboards in BlackBerry devices are very helpful to those who write long texts. If your friends do not have BlackBerry devices, you will not be able to make the most of BBM, but since WhatsApp runs on BlackBerry devices, you can have the best of both worlds.

Only if Google is buying stock into it, they are dead .

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

what do you mean about google buying stocks?

Windows 8 is coming in the mix and is going to take some market share. To have the same operating system on your computer, phone and tablet is a good idea and is going to place Microsoft right in the mix of things as long as it is a roboust operating system.

Did google buy R.I.M last i heard they were thinking about it , like everyone else ?

Thats what i mean.Blackberry is outdated tech wise as a phone, they need a majour app overhaul and the only way I see them doing it , is hooking up with samsung,toshiba,google or apple.If not they are dead.

Google would be my preffered choice.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

google bought Motorola ...if i remember right

No RIM still stand alone. They are working on their new operating system which should be ready early next year.

ok fair I wanted to level set before commenting. No Google did not buy RIM. Blackberry challenge is that they have a 11 year old enterprise infrastructure that is tied to the end point ( the phone) It is still king in the enterprise for reliability and security. However the handhelds are not seems to be as sexy as the iphone ( they are not) nor the android devices. Now you need to understand the economics. Google gives away android the operating system to samsung, htc and whomever makes their phones. MS. license to a third parties also but they have not caught on in the enterprise and Blackberry rules the enterprise but are losing market share. The reason is while IOS is generally insecure employers and big enterprise are compromising and are willing to allow connectivity so RIM approach was to change to sleeker handhelds however this has not been handled all that well. The new BB10 platform is a very powerful devices but RIM has been late to market with it and it is now schedule for January ish. Now why would they sell to google? Google does not make most of the devices? samsung, logical yes but wont happen. Is not that RIM needs to sell they are cash rich but one possibility is license the hardware to 3 rd parties and worry about the O.S. So you could buy a bb on a samsung or HTC or Nokia. At the moment they have not announce this but I dont think they are dead. The big issue is they dont have new devices in North America while we wait on BB10 but they are doing well outside of N.A. The U.s media tend to be pro apple so don't believe what you read.

windows 8 will take so enterprise share but so far only the nokia device is a winner in my view. The metro interface is decent but we will need to see how well it does.

yes they did but motorola is just an endpoint. Blackberry is a ecosystem.. endpoint noc, servers network. It complex to rebuild one piece without affecting everything. That is why RIM is moving so slow. too slow in my book but I understand the challenge.

but Android an ecosystem or am i wrong?

it has more to do with patents ...i think

Media might be influenced by the market cap position and brand value of Apple.. (and nuh fully leverage that Brand and design genius yet in other consumer product markets.. is den yuh ah guh si market cap)

by eco system i mean you need the phone but behind that you have a privante network and operation centre on so on. so when i send a corp message on a bb it goes to rim network operation center over thier private network then to my enterprise network. So for them to make change they have to take that all in the picture where ios and android dont. they are just on the internet and dont care so much about security. i am saying that to explain why it is taking RIM so long. Reason being they are rewriting the entire thing in the background. The pretty device is just the tip of the iceberg.

true.