• Pitfour residents angered by arrests

Pitfour residents angered by arrests

Published: Thursday | July 19, 2012 Comments 0

Emotionally charged constituents of the Granville division in St James protest the security forces' arrest of Michael Troupe, deputy mayor of Montego Bay, in Pitfour, Granville, yesterday. - photo by Stephen Brown

Nagra Plunkett, Assignment Coordinator
    WESTERN BUREAU:
    Emotions ran high in Pitfour, Granville, as the police whisked Deputy Mayor Michael Troupe away from his home in the community yesterday.
    Personnel from the Lottery Scam Task Force detained Troupe and one of his sons, Jovaughn, at the premises.

"A same way dem crucify Jesus, but nuh worry mi councillor, the battle is the Lord's. Dem cyaa stop yuh!" shouted one woman as the security officers prepared to transport the Troupes from the community.

The small crowd that converged at the scene contended that the deputy mayor was a good political representative and suggested he was being unfairly targeted.

An elderly woman managed to pat Troupe on the shoulder and reassured him that he would be in her prayers.

Like those gathered outside his home, it was shock and awe as the police truck transporting Troupe and his son drove through Granville Square on their way to the police station for processing.

Persons gasped noticeably as they watched their handcuffed councillor.

The police say the arrests of Troupe, his two sons and Councillor Sylvan Reid of the Salt Spring division are connected to the illicit lottery scam. Granville is considered the epicentre of the rip-off.
    nagra.plunkett@gleanerjm.com

Come unto me ye - lickey, lickey people

Termites love deify dem representatives baba...

Ignorant people who probably benefit from their alledged illicit gains. Mi need fi call mi Congressman fi see if him can link up the US Attorney fi the Southern District of NY fi an extradition request.

Wow!

Originally posted by MdmeX View Post
          "A same way dem crucify Jesus, but nuh worry mi councillor, the battle is the Lord's. Dem cyaa stop yuh!" shouted one woman as the security officers prepared to transport the Troupes from the community.

The small crowd that converged at the scene contended that the deputy mayor was a good political representative and suggested he was being unfairly targeted.

An elderly woman managed to pat Troupe on the shoulder and reassured him that he would be in her prayers.
          Unbelievable! Just friggin’ unbelievable!!

What's new here really? It's Jamaica, land we love....full of criminals...

Maybe was Reneto Adams was right - 75% of Jamaicans are criminals (or something to that effect).

And to think that we are discussing whether the councillors should resign or not.

Listen, I am not waiting on any court decision. The PNP has this high-powered committee in place to ensure that they maintain some level of decency within their party. There must be some internal party rules that force people like the deputy mayor to resign immediately once he is arrested.

Once again, Portia's response is idiotic and vacuous. She never really knows what is going on. She has been busy all day or away on business. Bunting and Julian Robinson said the correct things and I do believe the party will not seek to protect these individuals, thanks to their presence.

mental midget

The hyper-crytes coming out, same people dem support, who ave dawg wear green banners ,a bawl bout unbelievable , and a talk bout JLP a run di nation good when a narco-political-terrorist ave dem nation by di balls.

Mi nuh put nutting pass none a dem , yuh ave man a yaad & virago a run di place loooong time.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

B@tty & Scamming...look what unnuh call down pon good good Jamaica...pathetic

Quite frankly , we should stop acting all "surprised" when some of our more disadvantaged people have this kind of response to an arrest of a Don or a politician that they support.

These people are struggling to survive on a day-to-day basis. I have said before that if I had to live the way some people in Portias constituency and others like that are living I would probably defend the community Don who leaves me a small change now and again too.

What those of us who are not "hungry" and who have not been conditioned to depend on the patronage of these low-lifes should be asking is if this is the best leadership we can come up with.

Quite frankly , we should stop acting all "surprised" when some of our more disadvantaged people have this kind of response to an arrest of a Don or a politician that they support.

These people are struggling to survive on a day-to-day basis. I have said before that if I had to live the way some people in Portias constituency and others like that are living I would probably defend the community Don who leaves me a small change now and again too.

What those of us who are not "hungry" and who have not been conditioned to depend on the patronage of these low-lifes should be asking is if this is the best leadership we can come up with.
                        Absolutely correct

All these "wows" and similar declarations on the issue are either disingenuous or naive to the point of idiocy

House a sell fi $200K US in Pitfour...not too sure bout dat struggling on a day-to-day basis thingy

the empathy is only there when a fi you don(not yours personally). We are full of hypocrites. "My" Don not so bad but yours a criminal straight.

Did you notice when the security minister had his meeting in Mobay the overall message to him was clamp down on the crime but leave the scammers them? Mobay is a small and corrupted place.

I am familiar with Pitfour, it is a mixed community.

Somehow I doubt that anybody with the means to purchase a US$200K house (however they got it) was out there protesting.