the CIA tended roses in Jamaica in the 70s

• the CIA tended roses in Jamaica in the 70s

According to veteran journalist, my colleague columnist Ken Chaplin, my statement that the CIA was very active in destabilising the 'democratic socialist' PNP in the late 1970s was simply a lot of hot air.

To quote Chaplin (The CIA and Jamaica - July 10), 'The whole allegation of the CIA's destabilisation of the PNP Government began in 1975 at a meeting of the Inter-American Federation of Journalists in Mexico City, Mexico, where I led a delegation from the Press Association of Jamaica (PAJ). The other members of the delegation were journalists Gloria Maragh and Ben Brodie. At the meeting, the Cuban delegation moved a resolution that the JLP in conspiracy with the CIA was creating violence in Jamaica so that the PNP would not win the 1976 general elections. I opposed the resolution on the grounds that there was no evidence to support this statement. After an intense struggle with the Cubans and other "progressive" forces at the meeting, the PAJ's position prevailed.
    'At the time I was secretary of the Press Association of Jamaica and editor of the Editorial Division of the Government's Jamaica Information Service (JIS). When the delegation returned home, I was severely punished for the stand I had taken. A hard-line communist was immediately brought in to replace me and I was shifted to the Public Relations Department as chief public relations officer under director of public relations, PNP George Lee, who is now mayor of Portmore.

'Of course, the CIA was operating in Jamaica at the time, it was said, collecting political information and watching if the PNP would march from democratic socialism to orthodox socialism or communism with the backing of Cuba. There were a host of Cuban agents in Jamaica between 1975 and 1980, some unofficially advising the JIS. I knew the CIA's station chief, whose first name I will mention. His name is Jack and he was quite popular in political circles. He bore a striking resemblance to the late Clark Gable, the famous American movie actor.

'For a long period the communists at the JIS and JBC regarded me as a reactionary, and put me under severe pressure which ended only after Prime Minister Michael Manley and minister of national secretary Keeble Munn made it clear that the CIA was never involved in the destabilisation of Jamaica. In a statement last Wednesday, in response to Wignall's piece, Edward Seaga, who was opposition leader, said that the CIA played no role in the JLP victory in the l980 general election.'
    Is that it?

Let me ask Chaplin these questions. Was the size of the CIA delegation in Jamaica (as if he would know) just as large if not larger than that which operated in Chile prior to the ouster and murder of Allende in the early 1970s? He should remember that it was President Nixon who in 1970 gave the order to the CIA to 'let the economy scream' in Chile. And scream it did with dire consequences.

Was he aware of numbers of 'white men' unpacking guns from dravo boxes (small sea containers) at a particular place in the company of a well-known Jamaican 'man of interest' (now deceased) and a certain 'army man' (now deceased) who was connected to the JLP?

Is it at all possible that Chaplin reasonably believes that the US could afford Michael Manley's dangerous courtship with Castro by just standing aside and tending to roses?

Chaplin admits that he knew the CIA's station chief, a fellow he calls Jack. Apparently Jack got around a lot, wooed the women, raised his glass more than once but, terrible fellow that he was, he never told them what he was really doing. Go to your room without any supper, Jack!
    As if Jack needed to wear on his T-shirt, 'CIA in destabilising mode.'
    Does my colleague really believe, as Seaga hinted, that a PNP minister thought that it was probably the Mafia trafficking the guns into Jamaica? For what purpose?
    If we even buy into that, does Chaplin share the view that it is usual that when the CIA operates, especially after learning the lessons of the botched Bay of Pigs 'invasion' in Cuba, it uses surrogates to do its dirty work?

How did the supermarket shelves in Jamaica (between 1978 and 1980) become empty, yet the day after the election all shelves were stocked?
    Was some entity funding key members of the private sector during those times?

And, again, who or which entity paid for the sudden influx of high-powered weapons that invaded our lives between 1976 and 1980?
    Was it the tooth fairy, a rolling calf, or was it dear old Santa Claus?

observemark@gmail.com

Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/colum...#ixzz20p6ty632

Mark Wignall...proven idiot...

Wignball conviently lucid at times.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Check the archives...never considered lucid by Bricktop...time always proves him wrong...

Wignal should do some work and provide some evidence and sources...

Him tink him deh a Rum Bar ?

ah wheh di !?

evidence against the CIA?

Bout white man unpacking guns...notice him nah call nuh name...lawsuit would a sting him like bees...

So he has no evidence then...right?

is who him claim was at the heart of tings.. him nuh muss have sources and 'evidence' ?

So if he provides evidence they would sue him ? sounds like a good reason to be quiet but he does attack the journalist who dismisses him.

You guys are jokers, we all know it to be true.An influx of americans and guns in the 70s means what ? Cubans using Jamaica at an press agenda to attack the USA insinuates what ? I dont know about you but that seems like a cold war being fought.

kissteeth...evidence or lawsuit..lol...

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Calling names of the persons allegedly involved is providing evidence? Yuh didn't think this one through did you...hope you not gonna drag out this kicking off of yuh face like maudib did earlier...yuh need fi engage yuh brain before yuh tek me on enuh

So why dont they sue him for calling names and not providing evidence ? ..kick off face ....yuh figet yuh a deal wid X !...its a damming accusation esp to the JLP/Seaga.

kissteeth...try kick harder.

He can throw theories around all he wants...don't think you can sue for suggestion...when he starts getting detailed is when he leaves out names...why not call them?

lol....wow yuh good....like mi say Kick harder or is it spin harda !

Usually when people get stumped the nervous laughter follows