• UDC's downtown assets worthless - Azan

UDC's downtown assets worthless - Azan

Published: Friday | July 13, 2012 Comments 0

Gassan Azan

Businessman Gassan Azan believes the Urban Development Corporation (UDC) should use a different land strategy to promote development.
    An agitated Azan aimed most of his comments at Lenworth Tracey, the UDC deputy general manager, economic development and corporate relations, who was speaking at the UDC's Downtown Kingston Network Exchange yesterday.

"The UDC is vested with a lot of development lands in the area. The lands that are vested with you, stop trying to believe that they are worth anything. They are worthless! The entire downtown Kingston that you own is worthless. If you start from that standpoint, anything you get from there would be gravy," Azan said. He suggested that if the lands were worth anything, the forum would be filled with potential buyers.

"If it was worth the price, or the reserve price that you have on these properties, somebody would have bought them long time ago," he argued.
    Azan said he offered to transform a facility along the waterfront into a sports bar and restaurant, anticipating an increased people presence due to companies like Digicel setting up headquarters downtown.

"UDC responded to me and said we have a valuation on that property for J$150 million. I would love to look at your books and see what it costs you to maintain that crackhouse which you claim is worth (that). For me, you wouldn't even get one dollar," he declared.

Azan suggested the Tax Incentive Programme (TIP), through which the Government gives a tax relief incentive to individuals or companies undertaking capital investments in land or buildings in social development areas, would not generate the desired interest.

"Unless you come up with a programme that is going to get people interested, if you even have to give it (land) away for free, that's how you're going to get growth," he said.

Azan said this should go for all government assets across Jamaica, but felt it should be given to people who have a proven track record of performance.

But Tracey explained that the network series was to facilitate various viewpoints and that this particular forum would not look at investment issues. An overview of the TIP was presented at yesterday's forum. He said at the end of the series next month, the various opinions would be incorporated into a final plan for downtown Kingston. Tracey noted the deadline for the final plans was December 2012. He asked Azan and others to judge the UDC going forward.

But first vice-president of the Jamaica Chamber of Commerce, Francis Kennedy, pointed out another snag in the UDC's plan. He noted that a large percentage of the land the UDC has drawn up for its downtown redevelopment plan is not owned by the corporation, something Tracey admitted. He said the UDC was guided by procurement and divestment procedures about how your assets can be protected.

Package assets
    "Outside of that, however, we would also like to package assets, where we have them... and to present them, so we can get interest from investors," he said. Tracey said the UDC has been collecting data from the private sector and that a goal of the networking series was for the property owners to see possibilities for development.

"Arising from these sessions, what you might have happening is that owners decide that they need to do something because they are aware of a particular development." He said some owners were already making moves and opined that the parish council might be able to influence other owners. Tracey was adamant it all had to start with dialogue.

"We plan to continue with the dialogue (dealing) with the intent and purpose for these buildings and also to start to fertilise the ideas of what might be done through individual effort or through partnerships."

But persons within the gathering believed that more coercive action was needed, pointing out that some properties have remained untouched for decades. But Tracey was adamant it was the best way forward.

"Sometimes you cannot find where there was a structured approach and proper dialogue with those owners."

mek im gweh, den y him want it suh bad

him fi talk bout the overvalued properties in the innercity weh poor people caan buy, an it remain stagnant, Town will always be town

"Unless you come up with a programme that is going to get people interested, if you even have to give it (land) away for free, that's how you're going to get growth," he said.

Azan said this should go for all government assets across Jamaica, but felt it should be given to people who have a proven track record of performance.

And I wonder who that would be....

Ah bwoy. Dats why Anthony B haffe say Fya pon dem.

Anthony B -

Mi haffi bun fire fi the one Naree Azan
            Everybody know how downtown a fi di poor man
            How dem claims it an sey a to dem it belong
            No more hustling, dat mean no food inna hand
            one help wi have is the Almighty One
            Jamaicans help sing mi song

Worthless until he and his cronies get their filthy hands on it, then it will be priceless. There we go again. Same set of players, same set of thieves. Alibaba and the 40 thieves, in the most literal sense.

More Fiya!

Black people don't get weary,
                Dem tek off the shackles an face we,
                But still we under mental slavery,
                Unno sing with the Startrail posse

Chorus

Fire pon Rome,
                Fi Pope Paul an him scissors an comb,
                Black people waan go home
                A Mount Zion a di righteous throne

1. This is my question to Issa and the one Matalon
                How unno get fi own so much black people land
                After dem slave, achieve nutten inna hand

Check out greater Portmore, Braeton
                One room unno build a sell fi one million
                Dem dey studio house nuh worth a hundred gran

Thrue mi a lick out dem waa mi keep quiat
                But mi a bun fire fi di one Butch Stewart
                Who buy out di plane an all di pilot

Thrue mi nuh inna Jamaica, love fi tan

2. My Lord, don't talk jus listen,
                Mi haffi bun fire fi P.J. Patterson
                Him mek certain move an wi nuh too certain
                How much black youth behind iron curtain

Thrue mi naw go trod inna Babylon order
                Mi haffi bun fire fi one name Seaga
                Everyday cost a living get harder
                Have more seller more than buyer
                Oh my Lord , what a pressure

Chorus

3. So many things politician have stolen
                Still them return with the one Bruce Golding
                Saying a brand new party dem forming
                But a part dem a part we with dem politics meeting
                Out A politics poor people get them beaten

Look who dem have a tun metropolitan officer
                Fi tek yuh hustling out a yuh hand
                When yuh look pon dem face a yuh own black man

Well out of the slum di poor people send mi
                Fi look what a gwaan and don't disagree

What is the benefit of GCT?
                It benefit you but it never fit me.

Black people don't get weary,
                  Dem tek off the shackles an face we,
                  But still we under mental slavery,
                  Unno sing with the Startrail posse

Chorus

Fire pon Rome,
                  Fi Pope Paul an him scissors an comb,
                  Black people waan go home
                  A Mount Zion a di righteous throne

1. This is my question to Issa and the one Matalon
                  How unno get fi own so much black people land
                  After dem slave, achieve nutten inna hand

Check out greater Portmore, Braeton
                  One room unno build a sell fi one million
                  Dem dey studio house nuh worth a hundred gran

Thrue mi a lick out dem waa mi keep quiat
                  But mi a bun fire fi di one Butch Stewart
                  Who buy out di plane an all di pilot

Thrue mi nuh inna Jamaica, love fi tan

2. My Lord, don't talk jus listen,
                  Mi haffi bun fire fi P.J. Patterson
                  Him mek certain move an wi nuh too certain
                  How much black youth behind iron curtain

Thrue mi naw go trod inna Babylon order
                  Mi haffi bun fire fi one name Seaga
                  Everyday cost a living get harder
                  Have more seller more than buyer
                  Oh my Lord , what a pressure

Chorus

3. So many things politician have stolen
                  Still them return with the one Bruce Golding
                  Saying a brand new party dem forming
                  But a part dem a part we with dem politics meeting
                  Out A politics poor people get them beaten

Look who dem have a tun metropolitan officer
                  Fi tek yuh hustling out a yuh hand
                  When yuh look pon dem face a yuh own black man

Well out of the slum di poor people send mi
                  Fi look what a gwaan and don't disagree

What is the benefit of GCT?
                  It benefit you but it never fit me.

One of the most powerful lyrical compositions in reggae history

Downtown ah fi di poorman...??

ah wheh di... !?

Since when ?

yes.. problem is ongly sing dem can sing.. di liberators dem nevah sing dem way to Justice..

dem nuh serious..

Chiney man tuh di rescue !

There is a role for singers...and a role for others as well

It seems you are profoundly unfamiliar with the use of allegory in art

Assimilate dis:

Lattes cyan guh one side...chawklit tea tuh di Werl!
                            Last edited by Don1; July 15, 2012, 08:56 PM.

Very disingenuous...some have to sing, some paint, some write poetry, some lick shat! Some play with computer and websites, dis people, defend slackness.