Father struggles to come to grips with son's killing

• Father struggles to come to grips with son's killing

Don1 look like the Babylon boys gunning down your JC boys (this is the 2nd youth)

Father struggles to come to grips with son's killing

Published: Tuesday | July 10, 2012 Comments 0

Tyrone Romar Reid, was controversially killed by cops.

A dejected Lester Reid, whose son, Tyrone, was controversially killed by cops.

1 2 >

Gary Spaulding, Senior Gleaner Writer
    So choked up was he that 41-year-old Lester Reid struggled to speak, as he sat dejected, his hands on his head, his eyes unseeing and unblinking.

Lester's 17-year-old son, Tyrone Romar Reid, a Jamaica College (JC) student, will never know how well he fared in the seven subjects he sat in the Caribbean Secondary Education Certificate examinations last month.

A mere three weeks after he graduated from JC, Tyrone became the victim of a policeman's bullet - his young life snuffed out under circumstances that have sparked a probe by the Independent Commission of Investigations (INDECOM).
    Tyrone was one of four men killed in Windsor Heights, St Catherine, early Friday morning.

Tyrone's father, a farmer who resides in Mason River, Clarendon, told The Gleaner he sent his son to spend the fifth-form year with his two cousins, Dwayne and Delroy Johnson in Windsor Heights, in a bid to facilitate easier access to the Hope Road-based institution as he was preparing for exams.
    Lester Reid walks with the graduation portrait of Tyrone, the first of his four children, as well as his graduation certificate, his identification card and other reminders of the 17-year-old.

"I just break down in tears. It's my first son and I worked so hard on him. I tried everything by farming in the country and selling in the market. Sometimes it was so difficult when he came to my house for his lunch money and food," he recalled.

"No one would want to see him go down like that. It's time that they (the authorities) stop this foolish practice by the police to shoot first and ask questions after," Reid lamented.

Shot in house
    Tyrone's cousin, Dwayne, was also killed in the incident. Dwayne's common-law wife, Rochelle White, stood silently and seemingly calm, until she could no longer hold back her emotions.

Reid said Dwayne and two of his friends were occupants of a motor car that was shot up by the police but Tyrone was inside the house with his other cousin, Delroy.

"They ordered Delroy out of the house and then they killed Tyrone," he claimed.
    Reid said the police had claimed they had been pursuing a man who ran through the premises at the time of the shooting, which led them into the house.

The official police report stated that officers from the Area Four Special Ops Team were on an operation in the area when they encountered four men in a car and signalled the vehicle to stop.

The police said the occupants failed to comply with their instructions and alighted from the vehicle. Their report added that one fled and those who remained behind opened fire on the police, who then took evasive action and returned the fire.
    The report further stated that the police team, which was divided into two groups, entered a premises nearby where they were fired upon. One of the officers was hit in the chest through his bulletproof vest. The men were engaged and one was hit.

The police said on their return to the car, three men were found suffering from gunshot wounds.

The fourth occupant escaped. The injured men were taken to the Spanish Town Hospital where they were pronounced dead. The injured officer is currently undergoing treatment.

According to the police, three firearms were recovered - a Browning 9mm pistol with nine rounds, a Super 38 pistol with one live round, and a Walther pistol with two .380 rounds.

gary.spaulding@gleanerjm.com

Bud season !

saw this couple of days ago..very sad

so who is the other JC youth killed?

The Mountain View killing a few weeks ago, the lad was a JC past student! Think his last name was Shue.

Ok thanks much...will check it out

Police seem to be getting out of hand

I will tell you this, every time I read one of these reports I read with skeptism. Schue I know nothing about but I know the other Lad is no angel. You will hear mothers and fathers talk how wicked police are but until they start being proper parents and keep their kids out of wrongs this will always happen..YEs that JC student was involved in killings...That's the info I have from my sources who know him personally..I choose to believe that over the news reporters...
            Just like 3 guys were wiped out execution style in NY over the wkd and u hear news talking about it was over a girl.....Stupid tyhem not knowing that all those guys were into drugs and guns and that was the reason for their downfall
            I support Indecom and I do think the police kill innocent victims at times but society needs to play their role and stop bashing and blaming police on every incident...I read this morning a report in the paper about how Police want to kill this one Omar Stewart and His mother crying out to save her innocent child....I know Omar and he is no angel..countless people he attacked gun and knife...His mother said its not always his fault a jus salt him salt....go figure.
            More examples...The guys who shot up a house in kingston and surround the house with guns and wash it burn with a child and a old lady in it..where you think they are..NY yes they were bought visas...Other guys who are responsible for multiple killings in JA..They are hin NY..Walk out of Jail today and a few days later they are on a flight
            As a police, do you see how difficult your job is? Can you really charge any of these guys and have it stick?
            No simple answer that is going to solve this overnight..no matter who is security Minister.

If as you claim you have "info" (whatever that term means to you) that the kid was involved in killings and are bright enuff to make that claim in a public forum...you should report this "info" to the authorities so they can act on it

Either that or shut the fcuk up

Report to what authorities? Big man, you shout di fcuk up if u nuh have nutten good fi seh. Didn't u see where I said "My Sources" or do you lack reading skills..Two sides to a story and parents who bawl when dem kids get kill fi first check weh dem pickney a duh on road....Baffoon

how yuh a race up Mdmex suh ??

Mi nuh disrespect no one on dis forum..I simply comment on topics now and then so I don't see why some feel they need to disrespect..Mi nuh deh pon dat

go to Display Modes and select Threaded View...

"Baffoon"

If as you claim you have "info" (whatever that term means to you) that the kid was involved in killings and are bright enuff to make that claim in a public forum...you should report this "info" to the authorities so they can act on it

Either that or shut the fcuk up
                          Now ... was that called for? There was no need to sketel up the thing ...

I hear too much grapes can cause bouts of aggression..

Correction...not just any old grape...the seedless variety