Karl, how Claude a trow wud suh ?

• Karl, how Claude a trow wud suh ?

yuh nuh brief him bout di great nineties and di revitalized business class ?

http://jamaica-gleaner.com/gleaner/2...cleisure2.html

<This decision to sideline manufacturing in favour of services seemed completely divorced from rationality, given the relative vibrancy of the manufacturing sector at the time. Jamaica's manufacturers were outperforming CARICOM competitors in regional trade by as much as 40 per cent before Trinidad imposed its trade embargo against them. Manufacturing's contribution to exports and import substitution was significant in bringing our exports to within 40 per cent of imports - a level not seen since then. Today, imports are almost four times the value of our exports.>

lol ! woiee !

Jamaica has largely missed the global shift towards low-cost production of goods and services that enriched more developing countries than ever before. Some, like Singapore, have ridden this wave across the economic divide between the North and the South to become First World. Jamaica has drifted in the opposite direction.

The problem we face today is that the global economic landscape is no longer what it was in the 1990s and 2000s. The export of manufacturing and services jobs from the industrialised North to the South has slowed to be barely perceptible. Now, following the global economic crisis, the guiding mission of the developed countries is to repatriate their previously exported manufacturing and services jobs in a new phenomenon called 'insourcing'.

Have any of our economic planners even begun to think about a strategy to address this? I think not. They are still hopelessly lost in denial of their past economic malpractice.
    Yuh an Karl cyaan gwaan quarrel bout di past til KINGDOM COME.... si di key shot above yah she wi dun si langlang time

In 21st Century manufacturing JA cannot compete on cost...worker benefits thru unions & social legislation too high as well as utilities....when compared to the likes of Vietnyam & 100 others...So we must move up the value chain:

Advanced Computer Aided Design Skills

Advanced Mechtronics skills

Advanced Computer Aided Engineering skills

Advanced Computer Aided Manufacturing skills

Dis is not your Granpa's manufacturing environment atall

Fortunately we have an app for that... ALL ABOARD!! TOOT TOOT!!

His point of more attention to manufacturing and exports of same is well taken. The nonsense about putting more attention on it is faulty.

We have a number of sectors all needing the FULL 100! ...and it must be all at the same time. Surely we have the talent pool to ensure same. [Reminds me of the (faulty) talk on academics over sports being touted for our schools. Never heard 1 sensible reason why we cannot be 'great' on multiple fronts... What gives with us?

Yuh an Karl cyaan gwaan quarrel bout di past til KINGDOM COME.... si di key shot above yah she wi dun si langlang time

In 21st Century manufacturing JA cannot compete on cost...worker benefits thru unions & social legislation too high as well as utilities....when compared to the likes of Vietnyam & 100 others...So we must move up the value chain:

Advanced Computer Aided Design Skills

Advanced Mechtronics skills

Advanced Computer Aided Engineering skills

Advanced Computer Aided Manufacturing skills

Dis is not your Granpa's manufacturing environment atall

Fortunately we have an app for that... ALL ABOARD!! TOOT TOOT!!
        ...so why can we not maximize on what you are leading and in other areas all at the same time?

...surely there is no shortage of human capital on our side and financial capital in this world?

The past is only appropriate for discussion when it serves your objectives..

and his claim of Economic Malpractice ???

Surely you cannot let that stand...

...move FORWARD!

And just what manufacturing or value added production are we leading in that we can maximize??

Mebbe the production of hot air via incessant yappin'

Present company excepted of course

Yes... 1000% correct

Perhaps you discuss the past to serve the objectives of others?? LOL

but of course.. educational objectives... if yuh don't learn from the errors of the past one is doomed to repeat them..

haffi repent fuss..

but of course.. educational objectives... if yuh don't learn from the errors of the past one is doomed to repeat them..

yes...and one error of the past is incessantly wallowing in it to the extent where it's to the detriment of the present and the future
                        Last edited by Don1; July 9, 2012, 12:31 PM.

wallowing ?

Yuh have some man strill ah seh di holocaust never happen..

Have any of the architects admitted their errors ?

wallowing ?

Yuh have some man strill ah seh di holocaust never happen..

Have any of the architects admitted their errors ?

who cares...yuh cyan gwaan wait fi tician fess up...LOL

meanwhile di nex side ah wait suh dem cyan score point said speed

not sensible PRACTICE in dese parlous times...

ALL ABOARD!! TOOT TOOT!!!

revealing the inconvenient truth is always sensible practice..