Dionne Jackson Miller

OUr problem, maybe, but it should be high on the agenda fort J-Flag as their biggest problem. They are killing their most prominent members at an alarming rate and they chose to focus on red herrings.

If dem was bunning these Gay killers and protesting other incidents of intolerance from straight society, I would have no problems with that. However, this pretense of conflating the 2 issues into one is rank hypocrisy and plain owl liad behaviour.

I challenge anyone here to say otherwise.

This is a disingenous response.

Are there any upstanding black groups blaming black on black violence as being evidence of racism? You see how absurd that sounds.

That is in essence what J-Flag is doing.

Do mek dem fool yuh, or even try to skool yuh....

Yes, That is a valid point to be made against J-flag and thier approach. However it does not change the reality that we are still far more intolerant and homo-phobic(or homo-hostile if you prefer that) than most societies that we consider to be progressive. This is the problem I have, we shift the debate to discussing JFLAG, when JFLAG is not the central issue. They like any public organization are open to criticism, but they are not the core issue of the debate. It is the same JFJ thing all over again.

We are more tolerant generally, of grown men taking advantage of young girls than we are of homosexuals. Those of us who may not be among worst in this regard need to stop the denial and admit this.

I will repeat, we have come a FAR way in the last 10 years, so there has been progress. The mere existence of JFLAG, Shebadas populrity among other things is evidence of this and I think JFLAG should say this. Maybe they already have, I do not follow this debate that closely. But we have some way to go still.
        Last edited by Islandman; July 8, 2012, 07:05 AM.

Calling out the gay killers, I am with you on that. That falls squarely in their portfolio.

But you really think JFLAG should take up the fight for other areas of intolerance in straight society? Is that their cause?

Like I say this is the same JFJ argument all over again. Because JFJ don't also deal with rape victims, feed the hungry, shelter the homeless, and comment on every wrong in JA society we call them hypocrites for defending the cause that they have chosen. Makes no sense.

I didnt say that!

I said they should be bunning the gay killers and bunning GENUINE intolerance against them, eg the village mob invading that house and beating the gay men!

Instead they throw in in the gay killers as if that is straight people persecuting them and almost ignore the mob invasion, by compatrison.

The hype is far worse than the reality.

All of us knew about gay people living in our vicinity growing up. We were told to and did give them a wide enuff berth while still remaining civil when we encountered them. Only time I heard of problems was when men were caught in public places, but lower class people, doing what they shouldn't.

In contrast, we have all heard of American teens driving around with baseball bats in pickup trucks, on weekends looking to beat b@#$yman! Never heard about Jakans doing that.

In fact, before this house invasion incident, I never heard of such a thing in Jamaica and THAT I find alarming and disturbing.

As for the young girl thing, that sickens me greatly and we need to start bunning that despicable behaviour with much more urgency and force.

OK I misinterpreted the post. Got you.

Jamaicans lined up in Halfway Tree with all kinds of 'implements' and a gay march had to be cancelled.

"Lower class people"? Pls expand.

Is more a "ghetto" thing, the mob threat.

HWT mob is not the same thing, as that was a public march and display, as opposed to the Home invasion.

Jamaica is a prudish society, even for straight activities in public, so dem certainly nah guh "attallarate" gay march.