• Dionne Jackson Miller

Dionne Jackson Miller
    All my Jamaican friends with their heads in the sand insisting that we are not a homophobic society should see the abusive messages I have been getting because I allowed two gay women the opportunity to tell their story on All Angles and allowed the representative of JFLAG space to say they are calling for repeal of a law that criminalises sexual activity between consenting adults. You would have thought I was showing blue movies! And no, I was not surprised and I am not at all apologetic nor am I complaining - one of the things we do is tell people's stories, however uncomfortable they may be to hear, and talk about issues, no matter how controversial. So the abuse does not bother me.

I am just saying - quit this nonsense that we are not homophobic!

Karyl Walker I agree that some of us are very intolerant of the gay lifestyle but don't you think it is hypocritical of JFLAG to call for an end to violence against gays even when the murders of gays are clearly crimes of passion? A recent case in point was the killing of the two men in Trafalgar Park> the murders had all the signs of a gay on gay crime. yet still JFLAG calls on the PM to act n their behalf. Police statistics indicate that 99 per cent of gay murders are committed by other gays. That was said by none other than Les Green who is a cop from Britain where gays are free to do as they please. Until these gays stop being dishonest about that issue they will never make any headway into mainstream Jamaica.

Karyl Walker Peter King, Robertson, John Terry, the eye gouging incident at calabar mews and the list goes an d on. The days of Jamaicans mauling gays are over or there wouldn't be so much of them selling their wares in new Kingston. My info is they have taken over that red light district and the female sellers have relocated to Back Road. JFLAG is not being honest.

Karyl Walker The buggery law is not an anti gay law but anti anal sex whether between man and woman or man and man.

Karyl Walker If I say I don't agree with that lifestyle and think its unatural and nasty is that hate speech? Do straight people have a right to an opinion on the matter ithout being lambasted for not agreeing> Is disagreeing hate?
    Last edited by Skeng DX; July 5, 2012, 01:36 PM.

Yvonne McCalla Sobers Dionne, thank you for your courage in facing tough issues and giving people like the lesbian couple a chance to tell their story in their own way. And also giving churchpersons the chance to present opposing views.

Some may deny homophobia, or blame victims for being killed or maimed. However, those hate messages you received signal a societal problem, whatever name we give it.

A man whose sexual orientation was outed with an unauthorised photograph in a local newspaper yesterday received his sixth death threat. The police did little to protect him here, despite international pressure to address the death threats, so this man moved overseas for his security. This latest threat warned him of brutal treatment if ever he set foot in Jamaica again.

It is all too easy not to investigate murder of gays by assuming that these are crimes of passion. Case closed and homophobia justified. On the other hand, incidents could be thoroughly investigated on a case by case basis. But that is not our practice here - it seems so much easier to assume than investigate.

Unearthing the facts about murders of gay men may show a number of societal problems that affect us all:

* domestic violence that is a problem in many relationships, gay and straight.
    * predator behaviour that is also a problem in many relationships, gay and straight. For example, some straight young men can make a living being "gay for pay" with men whom the buggery law keeps in the closet. This is a form of blackmail. If payment stops or if demands become out of reach of the gay man, he may pay with his life. There is also predator behaviour among heterosexuals, usually referred to as transactional sex.
    * mob violence stirred and perhaps even condoned by the respectable in society who may even use the Bible to support hate.
    * Inability or unwillingness to tolerate differences.

Issues surrounding homophobia together with other dysfunctional behaviour in theJamaican society are too potentially explosive to keep piled up and festering out of sight.

Thanks again, Dionne, for your courage. Bravery has consequences, one of which is ultimately greater freedom for the society as a whole.

Rodney S. O. Campbell
      Rodney S. O. Campbell ‎Dionne Jackson Miller...Dionne my two cents worth being a street arab all my life and a journalist as long....1 - without getting into the old Oxford meaning of homophobia I can understand the attacks on which were actually expected...like it or not we live in a country with the most churches per square mile in the world...that is the upbringing of our society...yet we also master the murder rate...we expect our society to simply switch with a world view of acceptance and tolerance for a lifestyle we have been taught for generations is biblically incorrect....that's ideal for the travelled and intellectual, but not realistic

Rodney S. O. Campbell ‎2- On a more practical and actual note, I remember the 80's when all that was needed for a beating on men was just the slight appearance of femininity....all that was needed was a shout of "**********man!"...just like a man bawling out "thief"....and a man could be beaten within an inch of his life....not because he was seen with a man, known to be with a man or dressed in ways to suggest anything odd...ALL IT TOOK was one man thinking "how da bwoy deh look suh?" Jamaica is NOT that country anymore....

Rodney S. O. Campbell ‎3- Jamaicans now walk and drive past mass gatherings of men dressed like women in the corporate area ...who openly declare they are gay....and murmur, grumble and shout slurs....not just the 'uptown' people, but the hardcore garrison man as well...as for the dancehall, it has legitimized the dress code for women being ruled by men and one of the most famous public personalities...Shebada...has been accepted AND has performed in usually hostile communities like Spanish Town without police guard or threat of violence....

Rodney S. O. Campbell Im not saying many Jamaicans are not homophobic, but it is dishonest to still label Jamaica that way....members of the gay community who keep doing interviews telling people that ALL the killings of gay men for years have been done by homophobic straight men...and that merely being gay in Jamaica guarantees you will be killed....dishonesty and lies that have helped to fuel the misconception....out of all the THOUSANDS of Jamaicans murdered in this country over the last few years how many of them have been KNOWN to be gay and killed by 'straight' people for being gay? As a matter of fact, on my radio programme gay men have stated that 95% of the gay men stabbed to death in Jamaica have been killed by gay men...

Rodger Hutchinson Its noteworthy to read Karyl's post... spot on! Therein lies the hypocracy and the external pressure to change. A huge percentage of the 'defense' to same-sex couples is bfueled by people with an agenda... and not only for fairness and human rights. notice that there is still a stigma associated with Rasta!

Dimario Dipsomaniac Hibbert Esq Rodney I agree with you

Rodney S. O. Campbell For us to simply get up tomorrow and expect most Jamaicans to "tolerate and accept" men kissing, holding hands in public, dressing like women in skirts and long hair, having parties in residential areas and not say a word or act with animosity is like asking Catholics to remain calm when a Rastafarian says all churches that endorse the Pope should be burnt to the ground....this country is far more tolerant than it is homophobic....look around you and see in every aspect of life how many openly gay men and women exist every day freely and flauntingly...we must be honest at all times no matter how emotional or divisive a matter might be

Rodney S. O. Campbell By the way...I don't accept ANY man literally trying to seduce another in public...and I don't endorse ANY man trying to do it to a woman...the 'gay community' is quite divided on what they find as acceptable behaviour and I will dare say that on a DAILY basis gay men are beating, stabbing and seriously injuring each other....most of the gay men involved in these issues are homeless and destitute...many are involved in criminal behaviour and get beaten for double reasons as well...a gay man caught stealing a bag or clothes from a store is beaten the SAME way a straight man who gets caught is treated...is it a right way to treat people just because they steal? No, but one case is called "gay beating"....and let me say this without apology....why should ANY group of person think that because they want to have a lifestyle all who oppose it are hateful and hate filled? The fact that I will cuss bad wud and mek noise at the church nearby making noise at midnight for their crusade means im anti-Christ?
      Rodney S. O. Campbell Most of the men I know who say "all **********man fi dead" have never beaten one and have never incited anyone to beat a man or woman...on my wall last Thursday I pointed out that Bembe Thursday was in progress in New Kingston while across the street in front of FCB were 27 men dressed as women carrying on on the sidewalk...I stood outside for an hour and the most vocal anti gay artistes and hard core men looked across and grumbled and mumbled...not ONE even shouted at them ...."dem Bwoy deh stay ova deh suh we ova yah suh"....ANY JAMAICAN who can deny that one time gone the whole crowd of them would be chased, beaten and chopped is a liar...and we still want to call this country homophobic? Are we telling countries who by LAW kill people for being gay that we are the same as them? And since we have a bigger problem of a Jamaican being killed just because someone wanted his cell phone what is all this need to be accepted by the gay community? Which other group outside the social norm in Jamaica is being given protection like that? Why don't we bat for the disabled community as much who face 100 times more discrimination? Bullshit at it's best for a foreign agenda held by a few

Rodney S. O. Campbell And why doesn't JFLAG be honest about it's own issues and handling of their own gay community? The constant problem of irresponsible and reckless behaviour by members with sexual acts and lifestyle, social behaviour, and daily wars that rage on and cause mass bloodshed daily? Why not be honest about funding and the need to reclaim a lot of it that is lost and who they need to appeal to....? And we must stop demanding that just because we want tolerance that others who disagree are ignorant and stupid...so many of us claim to be Christian, but we don't go to church and lambast the pastor or priest when he preaches anti-gay scripture and messages...but we want regular society to think how we think and agree with what we think....what's the use of knowledge, information, education, teaching, culture and socialization if all we want people to do is agree with OUR views?
      Rodney S. O. Campbell Put this in our pipe and smoke it as a dunce comparison...how come there was a news item about people complaining re preaching the word of God on public transport and attempt by some commuters to have it banned...was THAT anti-Christ behaviour and sentiment? Was that "hate speech" against religion, God, Christians? Why dont the churches just come out and launch a campaign on behalf of bus preachers...I've seen one of them beaten for talking too loud too long....people are free in Jamaica and anywhere else to voice their disapproval for any lifestyle....the mighty U.S the land of the free, who is a part of the world leading voices for gay acceptance has hundreds of stories DAILY of young men and women beaten and maimed for being gay and there are still places where just showing up as a Black, Hispanic, Chinese person can get you beaten and killed by members of a constitutionally accepted white group....

Rodney S. O. Campbell Teaching acceptance and tolerance in Jamaica is not about accepting gay men and women...it should be taught about going back to the love of thy neighbour, care for others, decency and principle in our existence, demanding and getting what we expect from persons in every sector....policemen, teachers, pastors, politicians etc....Jamaica is a violent society and we have ALL felt it directly or indirectly...we leave the colour out of a flag, a national symbol of pride, but we say "forget it and move on".... But we want to invest special care and teaching for people to accept one group who can't even find acceptance and tolerance among themselves? Will this society be any better just because we accept men marrying men? Will the blind and deaf and those in wheelchairs be less ignored and overlooked in this callous uncaring country where we don't give a ******** about anyone else but me, myself and I? Let's be very real and honest and drop the intellectual dishonesty....maybe if the gay community gave a ******** about anyone else in society and championed a cause that had nothing to do with them they would achieve much more...selfish pursuits for selfish gains don't deserve praise...Jamaica has problems...the gay community has more problems in house than anywhere else....

Rodney S. O. Campbell I know several persons who are gay and I've never asked any of my friends to declare their hands...when I just turned 18 I was sitting in a car along the airport road with a girlfriend...not having sex...sitting having a chat....late at night and here comes the police, who told me he could lock me up for what he thought I was doing blah blah....after minutes I told him nicely I thought he was against my being with a woman in this setting and he promptly quoted law and took me to the police station...I suggested to him he was against my heterosexual moment and that he should have ignored it and left me alone...he told me "just because YOU think it is ok doesn't mean I should accept it young man" ....he detained me for an hour then released me...although Jamaica is accepting of heterosexual behaviour as the 'norm' you notice how some spots are reserved and known for being 'sex points' like Lookout up Red Hills? It is still not acceptable for a couple to have sex or make love in a car in full open public view just because it is a man and a woman....there is no call being made for society to accept heterosexual couples doing things in the open, because we will never accept it no matter how heterosexual it is...

Rodney S. O. Campbell We are the same society who talks about morals, values and setting examples for our children in principle, practice, music etc...but we go out in thousands and jump carnival and say "hey this is just for fun and it is not like dancehall...just more raunchy, fleshy and hedonistic...nothing really"....when we are ready to fight for balanced scales for all and not champion the cause of a few, then fine by me....I spoke at the Children's Rally in New Kingston and cried at Emancipation Park when I saw how much the numbers of media, 'civil' society, leaders, movers and shakers were MISSING ....so many members of the gay community were abused as children...is THAT their major cause to fight for or is it being gay? Spending years of molestation as a child, but being able to walk free as a gay man...and what do they fight for and demand from society? We are so screwed in this country because we don't have any idea of what makes a society great...

Rodney S. O. Campbell By the way Dionne...any day you do a programme on a controversial topic and don't get a lot of comments ...many negative....means you didn't touch the nerves of many...truth is, it sometimes takes a cutting, jarring effect on people to help them effect change...my friend has a son who is gay and he always swore he would kill him if he found out...he did and threw him out....he was beaten after he was found sleeping in a garage and the man thought he was a thief....my friend is now tied on and chained to his son...it took something like that for him to realise a lot and accept and relate to his own child....some haters don't hate what exists, they just hate what they perceive it to be....

Gays are the most "anti-gay"

It's very regrettable that people would attack a journalist for airing this issue...quite ridiculous....backward even

That said...

There absolutely is intellectual dishonesty & hypocrisy within the gay rights community in not acknowledging the violent crimes on gays by their own.... it's common knowledge that this is the vast majority of "anti-gay" violent crimes. It may be fair for these advocates to say that Jamaica's anti-gay outlook contributes to repressed gays being so violent to their fellow men...that's for the sociologists to study.

Instead the gay lobby dishonestly uses the issue of violent gays committing crimes on their fellow men to tar the entire Jamaica for being excessively homophobic.

There's something rotten in Sodom

All me know is, we need fe develop an App dat can collect and store the energy and passion generated by Jamaicans whenever the gay issue is discussed.

If we can then redistribute dat to some more productive endeavors....Jamaica 2030 Vision tun up!!

Your fascination with anything gay is disturbing...do you type "gay" in google every morning and post the results on this site?
            Last edited by Bricktop; July 5, 2012, 02:29 PM.

LOL...fi reel

Agreed,

It is clearly gay men who are the criminals here an JFlag trying to make it seem like straight people killing gay men. Pathetic and downright liad behaviour.

lol...yu no easy at all...

A lot of truth to that but there are still many incidents of gay intolerance in JA. We have come a long way though.
                    Just last week, CVM TV broadcast a story in which community members in Jones Town burst into a private dwelling because the occupants were suspected of being homosexuals. The suspicions allegedly confirmed, the crowd started to beat the men, and police had to rescue the occupants, incurring the wrath of the crowd. One man wanted to know why taxpayers’ money was being used to rescue gays.
                    http://newsandviewsbydjmillerja.word...phobic-or-not/

you can't say it better and also use that energy on people who rape young girls. I say rape because they don't reach the age of consent.

One isolated and stupid village incident?

Mi know seh countryman often limb up praedial larcenists too, so should they form an Association and protest the village mob passing dem place? Steeuupps.

We can all name at least 5 prominent fishy murders over the last 25 years and none of them involvent any so-called intolerance.

What is urgently needed is to set an example out of the murdering gays so these gruesome killings can stop!!! Ah dat J-Flag supposed to be agitating for, but no, their stone cold hearts care more about their stupid, misguided agenda.

Nuh mek mi get ignarant in here tidday! LoL

Gay on gay killings are the least of our murdering problems.

Cop-out dat Willi.

That is the equivalent of a racist society using black-on-black killings as a smokescreen, instead of dealing with the core issues.

There have always been and will always be crimes of passion.

So why if J-Flag and everyone knows this dem a pretend otherwise???

THAT IS THE POINT.