• That MOU just a fairy tale

<SPAN style="COLOR: red">Trinidad Guardian
    Thursday 15th March, 2007
    Editorial
    </SPAN>

ON MONDAY, Jamaica Prime Minister Portia Simpson Miller and Venezuela President Hugo Chavez signed a memorandum of understanding covering the supply of liquefied natural gas (LNG) to Jamaica from Venezuela.

This MOU has some significance for the local business community which has looked on in shock and awe at the bellicose rumblings coming from Jamaica on this thorny issue of LNG.

Jamaica’s private sector is upset at what it perceives to be T&amp;T’s failure to live up to its undertaking to provide cargoes of LNG to Jamaica.

Last week, the Jamaica Manufacturers Association (JMA) said it had reached the end of its tether with respect to trade relations with T&amp;T. Referring to T&amp;T’s private sector, the JMA said it had never witnessed a “more insular and selfish group” which seemed to be only interested in “plundering our country to increase their wealth and the current US$500 million trade surplus which they enjoy with our economy.”

The JMA also advocated that T&amp;T “must be brought to book and held accountable” and threatened the Jamaican Government that if it did not do so “the JMA will be forced to act on behalf of its constituents.”

Not to be outdone, the Jamaica Chamber of Commerce issued a news release stating that T&amp;T’s perceived failure to supply Jamaica could threaten the future of the Caricom Single Market and Economy and disrupt Jamaica’s future development.

“The perception of a large segment of the Jamaican business sector is that it has always been difficult to trade with Trinidad, because non-tariff barriers are used to block the entry of Jamaican goods and services into Trinidad, even while there is the expectation that Trinidad will have free access to the Jamaican market,” the Chamber said.

Thankfully, the local private sector and its leaders have responded in a mature and measured fashion to the intemperate language coming out of Kingston.

Is the anti-integrationist rhetoric from Jamaica’s private sector justified? Absolutely not.

The first difficulty for our northern neighbours lies in an appreciation of the difference between an MOU and other kinds of agreements.

By its very definition, an MOU is an expression of intent and not a promise to supply.

By its very definition, therefore, an MOU cannot be breached because in signing an MOU one undertakes to use one’s best efforts to deliver a product or service. Such an expression of intent is subject, always, to the undertaking of feasibility studies and negotiation of the final terms.

So the common-sense understanding of the MOUs between T&amp;T and Jamaica (one in 2004 and one last year) is that T&amp;T expressed an intention to supply 160 million cubic feet of LNG to Jamaica by 2009.

The MOUs that T&amp;T and Jamaica signed are likely to be quite similar to the one signed by Jamaica and Venezuela on Monday. This means that Venezuela would have expressed an intention to supply LNG to Jamaica by 2009, just as T&amp;T had done.

It would be interesting for the Jamaican private sector to note that President Chavez signed the MOU without having in place any identifiable LNG facilities whatsoever. While President Chavez may purchase LNG shipments on Jamaica’s behalf, it would be difficult for Venezuela to supply LNG over the long term without the requisite liquefaction units.

It is also worth mentioning that it took Atlantic LNG four years from the signing of the sales contracts (not the MOU) to the delivery of the first LNG shipment—and that was considered to be warp speed in the LNG industry at the time.

Also relevant is the fact that Venezuela has been trying since the early 1970s (more than 30 years) to get an LNG facility off the ground and that the closest the South American country has come is the framework agreement signed by Shell and Mitsubishi five years ago. Little has been heard of that project, involving two bl

RE: That MOU just a fairy tale

However, it does seem to be a nice 'fairytale' turning real of that U$500,000,000.00 trade surplus T'dad enjoys? :w00t:

Seems to be somewhat tilted in T'dad's favour? (Tant)

who fault is that ??? steep go make allyuh deal with the devil

<DIV>If dem did listen to me from long time...I will speak again. Depending on favours from T&amp;T is a sure way to your death. And formal dealings with them are hardly any better. Better we forge our way with people who are less insular and green.</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>Dun talk!</DIV>

This is the "blow by blow" history as compiled by the Trinidad Business Guardian:

http://www.guardian.co.tt/bussguardian6.html

When a response by the Guardian has to begin like this:<P align=left>IT is not unusual that a ruling party in the Caribbean, faced with a closely-fought upcoming general election, should seek to divert the attention of the electorate by attacking imaginary foreign enemies. <P align=left>This is the most plausible explanation for the rumblings coming out of Jamaica about T&amp;T’s failure to advance a proposal to supply LNG to our north Caribbean neighbour. <P align=left>The tendency by Jamaican politicians to use T&amp;T as a whipping boy to score points with the Jamaican electorate harks back to the late 1950s and the discussions over the establishment of the Federation. <P align=left>...then it makes me wonder if I have to read any further. They are hung up with Federation and muddy their talk about election motive. If they had a point, they would gone to it and not waste time with rubbish. Then again, what to expect from T&amp;T!

One thing that is clear judging from what I have observed, Jamaican companies either a) do not know how to compete or b) have the most difficult time entering the T&amp;T market for whatever reason...

One "fact" that is true (as far asI know and I am open to correction) is that T&amp;T manufacturer's do have the advantage of paying significantly less for manufacturing overhead (energy) than other Caribbean counterparts. In fact my domestic electricity bill (I do not use air conditioning at home), with five of us, lights on outside at six differents points at night, washer (no dryer, clothes line fi me), electric stove etc etc is typically $600TT every two months which is dirt cheap if you ask me. Good for the population. This low cost electricity is also enjoyed by manufacturers, tho they pay a different rate than domestic.

Gasoline retails at $2.70 and $3.00 per liter for super and premium unleaded respectively. Diesel is $1.50 per liter. (TT dollars approx 6:1 US)

I believe only Venezuela pays a cheaper domestic consumption rate in the Caribbean basin.

pr

Is the Guardian wrong? I see everybody chosing sides due to nationality. However, I fully recall when Portia returned from her T&amp;T trip and announced the deal for which the court jesters round here, Jawge and Karl were swinging from the drapes, she and her press secretary refused to give details about the deal. Suh how come all of a sudden, without knowing the full details of the deal .... its all T&amp;T's fault? On one radio program it was said a contract was signed, now it come to light that all existed was a MOU.

I haven't studied the issue to "know" who is wrong and who is right. But I am disappointed with the way the Guardian responds, like it's on some discussion forum. They need to grow up, stick to the issue and save the barbs for us forumites.

Yuh lick hard dis mawnin :P

I saw where the gleaner did an editorial on the issue and there was a response from the Guardian (I think). After seeing the reponse I took a step back. Maybe the T&amp;T PM understood he is working on behalf of the people of T&amp;T and saw it as his duty to make the details public. Look at how our PM handled the issue?

Now with this Chavez deal. Has anyone considered the argument put forward in the original article that he may not be able to deliver? Or we gonna sidestep that and bash Trinidad instead?

Mosiah (3/15/2007)<DIV>If dem did listen to me from long time...I will speak again. Depending on favours from T&amp;T is a sure way to your death. And formal dealings with them are hardly any better. Better we forge our way with people who are less insular and green.</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>Dun talk!</DIV>
                        buh wait who pitch pave your roads, who gave you all 30 million in hurricane relief funds buh wha the jail .. YOU POST SHOULD GO LIKE THIS MOSIAH.

If dem did listen to me from long time...I will speak again. Depending on favours fromJamaican Politicians /Donsis a sure way to your death. And formal dealings with them are hardly any better. Better we forge our way with people who are less insular and green