• Official Team Jamaica Song for London 2012

Babsy and Lisa in agreement on this one:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SpMjzEkgRyI

good work man.

Excellent Stuff!

Originally posted by LannyD View Post
      Babsy and Lisa in agreement on this one:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SpMjzEkgRyI
      My feelings in three words after repeated listening: I Love This!

What we have here is an enjoyable and relevant anthem by young Nando Griffiths! First, the tune is very catchy (the chorus, in particular just seems to stick in one’s mind all day!). Secondly, the words are patriotic and certainly relevant for Jamaica in this Olympic year, which coincidentally coincides with our 50th Anniversary celebrations.

The melody and arrangements are very simple, but sometimes simplicity works best, and in this case it certainly does. When listened to through high-quality speakers or stereo headphone, it becomes quickly obvious that the musicians are no slouch -- their playing is restrained and very tasteful (I wish I could find out who played the bass guitar and the keyboard parts). The vocal harmony is likewise very tasteful and at no time intrudes into the lead vocals.

Special commendation should be made to the person(s) responsible for putting together the lovely video clips from the 2008 Olympic Games and 2009 IAAF World Championships. Jamaica’s achievements at these global athletics meets are well communicated within the three-minute span of this video.

Wonderful production! Now I just hope that this project gets the local and international exposure it deserves!

Historian what are your thoughts on the Mikey Bennett fly the flag song.

Originally posted by Historian View Post
          My feelings in three words after repeated listening: I Love This!

What we have here is an enjoyable and relevant anthem by young Nando Griffiths! First, the tune is very catchy (the chorus, in particular just seems to stick in one’s mind all day!). Secondly, the words are patriotic and certainly relevant for Jamaica in this Olympic year, which coincidentally coincides with our 50th Anniversary celebrations.

The melody and arrangements are very simple, but sometimes simplicity works best, and in this case it certainly does. When listened to through high-quality speakers or stereo headphone, it becomes quickly obvious that the musicians are no slouch -- their playing is restrained and very tasteful (I wish I could find out who played the bass guitar and the keyboard parts). The vocal harmony is likewise very tasteful and at no time intrudes into the lead vocals.

Special commendation should be made to the person(s) responsible for putting together the lovely video clips from the 2008 Olympic Games and 2009 IAAF World Championships. Jamaica’s achievements at these global athletics meets are well communicated within the three-minute span of this video.

Wonderful production! Now I just hope that this project gets the local and international exposure it deserves!
          Yes Historian; thanks for the feedback. You're right the musicians are no slouches. The bass was played by my good friend Jonathan Maron (he is responsible for the bass on Maxwell's big hit Ascension), while the keyboard and drum programming were handled by another good friend Deewaan ( official remix for Lady Gaga). They work together really well on another track called My Everything that is getting some good rotation on the radio and mixtapes in Jamaica. I will post a link to it in a next couple of days. My Everything and Affairs of teh Heart are the top two lovers rock songs so far in 2012.

My Thoughts on Mikey Bennett's Song

Originally posted by OJ View Post
            Historian what are your thoughts on the Mikey Bennett fly the flag song.
            First let me say that I have a great deal of admiration and respect for BOTH Mikey Bennett and Shaggy. Our country is definitely blessed in having these two talented stalwarts of music and so I will NOT attempt a comparison in any way between Shaggy’s excellent effort and Mikey Bennett’s excellent effort. My discussion here will focus ONLY on Bennett’s production in response to the question asked above by OJ.

Thanks to the tribalism which has increasingly been displayed as a part of our nature since the British handed us the island to govern on our own, the Jamaican authorities had to find a way to mess up a seemingly straightforward situation! They somehow always do; it is like a gift from Hell!

Now to answer your question, OJ, Mikey Bennett’s “Fly the Flag” is a relevant production for our 50th Anniversary celebration. First of all, the music used, an obvious fusion of ska and reggae (also rock steady to some extent, in the case of the opening bars of rhythm guitar strumming), is definitely very relevant to us at this time. Notice also the strong emphasis on drumming; the drums have been an integral part of every genre of Jamaican music throughout our modern history.

Secondly, bearing in mind the context in which the song is intended (our half a century as an independent nation), the choice of artists -- Ken Boothe, Marcia Griffiths, Freddie McGregor, etc. -- is both an appropriate and excellent choice. This is certainly one occasion where the use of these trail-blazing singers is visionary.

The quality of the recording is outstanding -- the texture throughout is very rich and so we are provided with a lush tapestry of vocal harmony blended with good quality music. And through it all, the drums ensure that legs -- both old, middle age and young -- will dance to this gem. Thankfully, Bennett used live musicians, guys who are obviously very accomplished on their instruments. The rhythm is certainly Jamaican to the core, and I can visualize people dancing in the streets to “Fly the Flag.”

This song reeks of patriotism, and I love it!

I came across this song....

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=k5yX4...&feature=share

Re: I came across this song

Yesterday, I shared my thoughts on Nando Griffith’s very commendable product (see third post in this thread). Today, I feel even more strongly towards his “Team Jamaica (Let’s Light The Torch)” after multiple listening.

CONTEXT: This effort by Griffiths is not a national song contribution to the 50th Anniversary celebrations but rather, a contribution to our Olympic effort. In other words, there is no huge expectation that it should reflect our musical history in the way that Mickey Bennett’s outstanding effort did. So, Griffith’s use of a current rhythm and arrangement style cannot (logically) be a problem in any way.

I am particularly happy that this contribution to our Olympic effort was done by a young Jamaican who is a new artist. And, equally important, Griffiths is a good singer!

VIDEO: Note the careful, intelligent editing that was done to the video clips in “Team Jamaica.” Without exception, each scene is perfectly in sync with what the singer is saying. In other words, the video editor did not merely place random excerpts of performances by Jamaican athletes inside the music video. Rather, each video scene, from the opening bars of the song to the very end, was totally relevant to the words and meaning of Griffiths at each point in the song!

I would be extremely disappointed if “Team Jamaica (Let’s Light the Torch)” was not selected as our official Olympic Games anthem. This is how highly I have come to regard this song and the entire project!

P.S., I never heard of Nando Griffiths prior to yesterday, so my enthusiastic comments have nothing to do with bias generated by knowing him. The guy is, simply stated, the type of person I have in mind whenever I discuss Jamaican talent on this forum.

Yesterday I stated that the video selections represented Jamaican success at the 2008 Olympic Games and the 2009 IAAF World Championships. However, I neglected to mention last year’s IAAF World Championships in Daegu (for example, the video clip with Yohan Blake towards the end of the song). Also, I suspect that the Danny McFarlane piece was taken from the 2004 Olympic Games in Athens, but I could be wrong in this.

You Are Welcome, Boss

Originally posted by LannyD View Post
                  Yes Historian; thanks for the feedback. You're right the musicians are no slouches. The bass was played by my good friend Jonathan Maron (he is responsible for the bass on Maxwell's big hit Ascension), while the keyboard and drum programming were handled by another good friend Deewaan ( official remix for Lady Gaga). They work together really well on another track called My Everything that is getting some good rotation on the radio and mixtapes in Jamaica. I will post a link to it in a next couple of days. My Everything and Affairs of teh Heart are the top two lovers rock songs so far in 2012.
                  You are welcome, boss.

I am not surprised by the resume of the two musicians. Jonathan and Deewan are obviously talented and very accomplished. This was made obvious to me from the very first time I listened to the track yesterday. Their notes and, in the case of the keyboards, chords selection showed that they knew what they were doing, in addition to being tasteful.

I am normally a very harsh critic of today’s music, and I’ve never hid my disgust at what often passes for “Jamaican Brand” music in this 21st century. Nando Griffiths and all the people involved in this project should be proud of this outstanding effort.

I look forward to your next post!

LOVE IT!!!! Both the music and the video. Excellent job!!!
                    Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Yesterday, I shared my thoughts on Nando Griffith’s very commendable product (see third post in this thread). Today, I feel even more strongly towards his “Team Jamaica (Let’s Light The Torch)” after multiple listening.

CONTEXT: This effort by Griffiths is not a national song contribution to the 50th Anniversary celebrations but rather, a contribution to our Olympic effort. In other words, there is no huge expectation that it should reflect our musical history in the way that Mickey Bennett’s outstanding effort did. So, Griffith’s use of a current rhythm and arrangement style cannot (logically) be a problem in any way.

I am particularly happy that this contribution to our Olympic effort was done by a young Jamaican who is a new artist. And, equally important, Griffiths is a good singer!

VIDEO: Note the careful, intelligent editing that was done to the video clips in “Team Jamaica.” Without exception, each scene is perfectly in sync with what the singer is saying. In other words, the video editor did not merely place random excerpts of performances by Jamaican athletes inside the music video. Rather, each video scene, from the opening bars of the song to the very end, was totally relevant to the words and meaning of Griffiths at each point in the song!

I would be extremely disappointed if “Team Jamaica (Let’s Light the Torch)” was not selected as our official Olympic Games anthem. This is how highly I have come to regard this song and the entire project!

P.S., I never heard of Nando Griffiths prior to yesterday, so my enthusiastic comments have nothing to do with bias generated by knowing him. The guy is, simply stated, the type of person I have in mind whenever I discuss Jamaican talent on this forum.

Yesterday I stated that the video selections represented Jamaican success at the 2008 Olympic Games and the 2009 IAAF World Championships. However, I neglected to mention last year’s IAAF World Championships in Daegu (for example, the video clip with Yohan Blake towards the end of the song). Also, I suspect that the Danny McFarlane piece was taken from the 2004 Olympic Games in Athens, but I could be wrong in this.

I was expecting at the very least a comment on Michigans song that I post, you never mention anything in your response to my post at all.

The melody and arrangements are very simple, but sometimes simplicity works best, and in this case it certainly does
                        This bredda is the best to rhattid...hypocritical much?

Michigan's - Ametuerish.
                          Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Michigan's

Michigan's - Ametuerish.
                            Jangle, you said it better than I could, boss!

TDowl, I deliberately chose not to comment on Michigan’s recording. I’ll say this, however: It’s one thing to have simplistic stuff when the JCDC National Festival competition comes around, but it’s a completely different situation when we’re thinking of an anthem for an international audience -- an athem that provides an adequate backdrop for our world class athletes.

Thanks historian enjoyed reading your answer.