• Ackee and Prostate Cancer

Jan. 24, 2007

A diet rich in omega-6 polyunsaturated fatty acids may be associated
    with a higher risk of prostate cancer, and could explain why Jamaica has
    the world's highest incidence of the disease, according to study
    findings published in the January issue of the Journal of Urology.

Charles B. Brendler, M.D., of the University of Chicago, and colleagues
    conducted a study of 148 men in Kingston, Jamaica, who were tested for
    the presence of prostate-specific antigen. Biopsies were performed on
    the 54 men with 2.6 ng/mL or more of the antigen, of whom 24 had
    prostate cancer.

Erythrocyte membrane polyunsaturated fatty acid levels were also
    analyzed, revealing a positive correlation between tumor volume and the
    linoleic acid-to-docosahexaenoic acid (omega-3) ratio. There was also a
    positive correlation between the tumor Gleason score and linoleic acid
    levels.

The authors note that the Jamaican diet includes the widely consumed
    ackee fruit, which is rich in omega-6 polyunsaturated fatty acid
    linoleic acid, and also that the country's leading cause of death is
    prostate cancer.
    "The positive correlations between linoleic acid and Gleason score, and
    the linoleic acid-to-docosahexaenoic acid ratio and tumor volume support
    studies showing that omega-6 polyunsaturated fatty acids stimulate and
    omega-3 polyunsaturated fatty acids inhibit prostate cancer growth,"
    they conclude.

RE: Ackee and Prostate Cancer

The link is not ackee,butis a result of a poor diet. I have known of twoestablished Jamaicans in Hartford who have died in recent years as a result of prostate cancer. Some of these persons from the "farm worker" generation, keep themselves in poor physical shape and rarely go the doctor. The question should be asked, what are theare risk factors, such assuch as diabetes, hypertension etc.

All men over 50 need to get themselves a PSA test at least once a year.

<DIV>With all due respect, Hortikal, I am not going to take your word over that of doctors who have spent years researching this thing. How can u say their is no link to ackee? I have more studies where that came from.</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>Now, of course, no one is saying that all of us will get prostate cancer. Afterall, we all know smokers who live to be 100 while some young 40 year old will dropdead for apparently no reason, but it is suggesting that a diet high in a certain type of fat seems linked to prostate cancer. That fat is found in ackee.</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>And no, I don't work for some lobby group that is trying to fight down ackee farmers.</DIV>

How can u say their is no link to ackee?
        Mo, horti is trying to defend his ackee. He like myself love it bad! The prblem with me and ackee eating is that because I am living in the USA anddo not have access to it, I just do without it. The last time I had ackee was llast September when a friend of mine visited KC and brought me a couple tins.

Unlike some people who crave for certain foods, I eat what is at my disposal. I therefore would eat more ackee if it were readily available over here. Man I lovesome ackee! (tup)
        "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

On a more serious Horti, researchers have always been saying that Omega 6 fatty acids promote the growth of cancer cells. They also say that omega 3 fatty acids tend to reduce the growth of these same cancer cells. Fallaw mi. . .

If ackee is high in Omega 6 fatty acids, then it stands to reason that its consumption could promote the growth of cancer and result in the high rate of prostate cancer we see in Jamaica.

On the other hand, they say fish is high in omega 3 fatty acids and it reduces the cancer growth. Does this mean that eating ackee with salt fish (ackee &amp; sawlfish) should be good for you, as the omega 3 is going tocancel the effects of the damage the omega 6 does? In that case, the national dish is still good to go! (tup)
          "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

<DIV></DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>You'll only die from high blood pressure cause di salt in di codfish wi kill yuh! </DIV>

Mosiah (3/15/2007)<DIV></DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>You'll only die from high blood pressure cause di salt in di codfish wi kill yuh! </DIV>
              In other words, something is bound to get you!