Will FATCA cause probs for world economy?

• Will FATCA cause probs for world economy?

Listen here:
    http://worldradio.ch/wrs/news/switze...my.shtml?31266

Monday, 25 June, 2012
    'FATCA will cause problems for world economy'

Late last week Switzerland and the U.S. declared they came to a compromise on sharing banking information under the American Foreign Account Tax Compliance Act (FATCA). While U.S. tax authorities agree not to push Swiss banks for automatic exchange of information, Swiss banks agree to hand over more information and more easily. However, this is not going over well with American Citizens Abroad, who say that the U.S. government, and the world economy, are going to run into a major ’iceberg’ with this agreement. The association has its global headquarters in Geneva and WRS’s Dave Goodman speaks to its director is Anne Hornung-Soukup:

i feel suh ... what i not sure about is dual citizens e.g. a jamaican who is also a us citizen, opens a bank account in jamaica using a jamaican passport ... is the bank now entitled to ask if they are dual citizens?

would that in any way violate their constitutional rights as jamaican citizens (by the way substitute jamanaica for any other country).

yuh ever hear bout people dat give up dem US Citizenship and Green Cyard when den get rich ?

Same thing i have been asking...people keep saying that they will know you are a US Citizen...all now them can't tell me how...

i know that wesley snipes tried it ....

you think the US really care if they want you and you have a Jamaican passport?

Anyway they may get Jamaicans to change the law to ask if you are a citizen of another country when opening a bank account.

Good question!

Yes, the number 2 at Facebook just did.

Dont need to be a US citizen, just a US person. That is a broader definition.

Want me? This is not about being wanted by the US Government...this is about declaring income being earned outside of the US...they already do ask if you are a citizen of another country when you open an account...and I simply say no...even if that may not be accurate...so my initial question stands...how will they know?

yep!!!

As Willi say if you are asked if you are a US person and you say no and you sign the paper then that can hold up in court. And yes in the international schene now, US person is commonly been used.

The responsiblity of the bank is to get you to say if you are a US person and it is your responsiblity to answer truthfully.

Great...the question still remains...I don't open a Jamaican account with a Social Security # or a set of fingerprints...

Use your TRN and Jamaican ID for local accounts. Also, if yuh have less than $100,000US in Jamaica, I would not sweat it! The IRS nuh have time fi go after crumbs overseas. Normally wid dem tings dem go after people with larger accounts fi send a message.

It no matter if you have SS or Fingerprint. There are some standards that they will use that will trigger investigation and get who they want.

Busy never use his SS or other US document yet they had info on him.