OMG-The Results Are In!

No.. why should I not get into Campion one year because the average score is higher because we tek out low scoring students ?

As long as I still fall in the top 200 I should be ok..

Nuh suh ?

The only way mi coulda lose my place is if MORE students are scoring high averages rank them to qualify them for Campion ?

Nuh suh ?

no..........whats happening at campion been the norm the last 8/9 years

ask

nothing new

only thing change this year is that the avg score increased by about 2%

The GSAT scores have seen improvement in the national means for all subject areas with the average score for mathematics increasing from 62 per cent to 63, science from 63 per cent to 64 per cent, social studies from 58 per cent to 62 per cent, language arts from 58 per cent to 60 per cent and communication task from 70 to 75 per cent.

Girls, said Thwaites, again outperformed the boys in the placement examination. The average national mean score for boys in mathematics was 59.97 per cent compared to 64.97 for girls, in science 62.3 for boys and 65.6 for girls, and social studies 59 for boys and 64 for girls. In language arts it was 55 per cent for boys and 63 for girls, while communication task saw boys averaging 72 per cent and girls 78 per cent.

Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/news/...#ixzz1yTSzwbly

That is nice.... now let us examine this in light of the complaints about people who normally would get into JC being sent to Tarrant..

Why are students with scores that would normally qualify them for JC being sent to Tarrant ???

If less students are taking because of ASTEP.. that should not affect the rankings...

Only thing that would affect the Rankings are more people scoring higher results...

If one year mi score 60 and 500 score 61 den next year mi score 60 but 700 score 61.. mi ranking drop..

Nuh suh ?

I like that... but just be aware that sponges, even when alive, are quite dumb... you might want to choose another animal...how about a dolphin??

Only thing that would affect the Rankings are more people scoring higher results...

not just ranking...........but the amount ranked higher than you going after the same places.........one year 200 might the next 500............jus ur bad luck

But then that would leave spaces open at other desired schools.. these 'new' people suddenly changing their preferences would leave other spaces open..

Nuh Suh ?

Bottom line.. nuh matter how yuh try and spin it, the problem being experienced now could only occur if you have MORE people 'qualifying' for the finite set of desired schools based on historic acceptance scores..

Nuh suh ?

Student is from China so what?. When Jamaicans go to China do you think they go to top tier institutions?.

• noooo

if u pick 5 schools but the lowest avg req. is 95%(for all of them) and urs is 90

u r not going to be placed in a good school

• also after 13 years you are going to have GRADE INFLATION

• The problem occuring now is new.. you are not telling us anything new..

what is different this time around..?

Bottom line.. nuh matter how yuh try and spin it, the problem being experienced now could only occur if you have MORE people 'qualifying' for the finite set of desired schools based on historic acceptance scores.. when once yuh could qualify fi Calabar wid 94% for example yuh now have more people with higher scores..

Nuh suh ? (your time fi spin again)

• Wha yuh say, Sponge Sass him name?

• This does not counter nor confirm my assertion in the post you are responding to

Try again..

• As a follow up: If this 2,245 is below twelve years of age then the govt. really knows what they are doing. Eventually you won't need GSAT. Evey carrying this balance of students below 12 would be good. The Govt can use this breathing space to create more high schools.

Being creative as NYC and create high schools within schools. All age can be converted thus becoming primary and high (use 50 inch screens with internet to stream classes from traditional highs) Now is not the time for who is better than who. Time to take the nation to the next level.