OMG-The Results Are In!

mi feel seh Skengy likkle bit confused here..

The Minister saying one thing (that mek sense)... Skengy saying anneda ting that not quite mekking the grade..

But that is just me.. mebbe summady else unnastan.. Weh Jawge deh ?

tweaked allocation formula

no tweaking was done.........

d taking up all the "good" spaces

wrong again.........that happen every year

Dont know, dont care about astep in this case. Cant even understand why you bring that up
      because 4000 out 50000 gsat age students who can barely read or write didnt take it
      hence the increase(2% or so) in average........

"BTW mi figget seh mi did promise miself fi tek time wid yuh like ow mi get fi ovastan seh yuh open to paradigm breakin... mi nuh waan promote nuh discouragement...but mi know seh yuh back broad still "

What that suppose to mean? Mi alway open to be a sponge and help anything progressive if I can. Mi just come from a background that my granny say that "little things make a difference".

Mi nuh know wheh AStep is an mi nuh cyare.. what I want you to do is give me you intepretation of this statement:

<EDUCATION Minister Ronald Thwaites says that there has been significant improvement in the grades of students who sat the Grade Six Achievement Test (GSAT) this year resulting in more students with high averages being placed in non-traditional high schools. Thwaites was speaking at today's Jamaica House press briefing.>

Tek yuh time now..

what u nuh understand?

<EDUCATION Minister Ronald Thwaites says that there has been significant improvement in the grades of students who sat the Grade Six Achievement Test (GSAT) this year resulting in more students with high averages being placed in non-traditional high schools. Thwaites was speaking at today's Jamaica House press briefing.>

What is he saying ?

sigh

if u tek out 4000 student who wuda avg 30 %

the over all thing nuh muss guh up?

u nuh know that only 98% and up guh campion

well... mi nevah tek GSAT..

explain how spaces are awarded under this regime..

um.. hold on likke bit.. mi nevah tek Miggle passage innah stats class suh tek time wid me..

If you have 10 spaces at Campion and 10 scores submitted for acceptance

Year (x) Before Astep

90, 90, 90, 90, 90, 90,90,90,90,30

Year (y) After Astep

90, 90, 90, 90, 90, 90, 90, 90, 90

Are you saying that one of the 90 in year (y) going get sent to KC because ASTEP tek out di 30 score thereby increasing the average score ?

LOL.

ok

the computer rank each candidate

with 100% being 1st, 99.99% 2nd etc.........0% last

each student averaging 100% ranks number one ,99.99% 2 etc...

spaces are given to students base on their ranking and the order of their choice(5 of them).......space the schools makes available

over all

Are you saying that one of the 90 in year (y) going get sent to KC because ASTEP tek out di 30 score thereby increasing the average score ?
                            the average score
                            think bout that

Right so.. what is the relevance of the average GSAT score variance to probablity of being accepted at Campion if it is based on ranking ?
                              Last edited by Muadib; June 21, 2012, 07:29 PM.

probablity of being accepted at Campion
                                the brightest 200 from all Jamaica for most part select it as 1st choice...they usually avg. 98% +

what is the relevance of the average GSAT score variance

the gov to boast bout..........but thwaites failed to give whole truth ie 4000 didnt do the test