• OMG-The Results Are In!

Really?!?
    -------------------

School officials from some institutions in the Corporate Area are concerned about the social and emotional welfare of students who have been placed in non-traditional high schools, following yesterday's release of the results of the Grade Six Achievement Test (GSAT).

Principal of Sts Peter and Paul Preparatory School in St Andrew, Karen Siyanbola, told The Gleaner that despite the fact that the results were excellent, with most of the overall grades averaging in the very high 90s, she was surprised that some of her students were being sent to Kingston Technical High, Pembroke Hall High, Tarrant High, and Dunoon Technical High, which are all outside of their geographical area.

Siyanbola noted that in the past, in addition to high percentage placements in the traditional high schools, she would have a few students placed at Papine High and Mona High. But this year, some students were being placed in schools that were outside the norm.

"I know the Ministry [of Education] is trying and they will say all our schools are viable, but we have to be realistic," she said.

"The concern for parents is not so much the academic standard of those schools, but the social fabric, because the cultures of the children are very different."

She said, for example, she had two non-Jamaican, second-language students placed at Tarrant High.

"One is from mainland China and the parents are not even sure what to do at this stage. My concern is, will they be able to manage socially and emotionally?" the principal lamented.

She said another concern was that students were being placed in technical and vocational schools, which required a specific line of study that they were not prepared for.

"The children are crying. They feel as if they have failed," she said.

Siyanbola also noted that the reality was that parents with children in private preparatory schools paid to ensure that their children could matriculate into a school that was going to help them succeed.

"So they see it as almost a lack of fairness and injustice that their children are being used to elevate a system," she said.

On Tuesday, Minister of Education Ronald Thwaites announced that students with good grades would be placed across all schools.

She said while she applauded the move as a noble idea, it could only work when the proper infrastructure has been put in place.

Siyanbola was among a number of principals who expressed surprise and disappointment with the placements.

Irene Foster, vice-principal at Rousseau Primary in St Andrew, said she was also happy with the results, but very disappointed with where some of her students were being sent.

"With passes in the 90s, we got places in schools like Jamaica College, Kingston College and Meadowbrook High. But we also have students being sent to some schools that we have never gone before like Edith Dalton James High, Tarrant High and Pembroke Hall High," Foster stated.

"The students are crying; they are very disappointed. The worst they think could have happened to them is Norman Manley High and they are not even placed there."

Parents were also visibly upset, openly declaring the placements were unfair.

anastasia.

Built by Labour....

Lol. Our students going to THOSE schools? Those are for the ghetto people!

Well, this will be something of a social experiment. Mek we see how it go.

explain

While you were sleeping..

<The Holness plan calls for primary level students to master the grade four literacy and numeracy tests in order to move from the primary to the secondary level. The grade four students will have a maximum of three chances to achieve mastery of the grade four test - in grades four, five and six.>

Fruit a bear.. yuh can reap now..

what fruits

students being sent to Kingston Technical High, Pembroke Hall High, Tarrant High, and Dunoon Technical High

what unuh was doing for 18 years.. guh sort out dat 'problem' nuhbadda mek di fruit spoil.. check Holness if yuh need advise..

explain.......what about the uptown yutes going to ghetto schools?

is that part of the fruits

I know the Ministry [of Education] is trying and they will say all our schools are viable, but we have to be realistic," she said.

"The concern for parents is not so much the academic standard of those schools, but the social fabric, because the cultures of the children are very different."

She said, for example, she had two non-Jamaican, second-language students placed at Tarrant High.

"One is from mainland China and the parents are not even sure what to do at this stage. My concern is, will they be able to manage socially and emotionally?" the principal lamented.

Wow the above speaks volumes for a nation ninety five percent black. Apparently this lady is saying some people are too good to mingle with the majority. Certain schools should be set a side for certain people. The truth is coming out.

something is wrong. I see people who are missing from this argument as they say only the bright kids are afforded certain schools. Now is this changing anything? Who is to get the credit for this?

If we can do it now why not consistently? Has this proven we are a country of excuses and can do better with what we have?

I thinik he means that the pass rate "downtown" shot up and now there is more pressure on places in the desired high schools. Hence, not every uptown passer can get a spot in the trad. high schools like before.

Apartheid?

LoL

When di parents drop money fi prep skool, I guess dem want a guaranteed RETURN. LoL

Mek wi see how this turn out. Pass the popcorn! LoL

Mek wi see if this soshal experiment leads to a new kontrak!

if this continue them can open back priory(private high school) fi tek in some of these uptowners

Dat mi ah seh too.

Hillel sell off!

Mind di Jesuit dem reconvert Campion to all bwoy private skool! That is how it started, as an StGC offshoot!