Is Christianity a farce?

• Is Christianity a farce?

<TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=1 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR><TD><SPAN class=TopStory>Is Christianity a farce?</SPAN>
    <SPAN class=Subheadline></SPAN></TD></TR><TR><TD>Rev Mervin Stoddart
    Tuesday, March 13, 2007
    </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>
    <P class=StoryText align=justify>There is a certain contradiction seen in Christianity that requires examination. It might be just a weakness in the religion or, God forbid, if there is no reasonable explanation, it might require that Christianity be declared a farce. Before identifying this Achilles heel of the number one religion of the West, let us revisit its biblical roots.<P class=StoryText align=justify>One accepted scriptural canon offers 27 New Testament books as the basis for Christian faith and practice, with 39 Old Testament books, equally inspired, providing background. The Christ of Christianity is presented in the New Testament as God the Creator's final revelation of himself to mankind. The OT is presented as God's progressive, dispensational revelation from the origin of the universe to the birth of the Christ, with a 400-year intertestamental period when God seemed silent. During those four centuries, the Greek and Roman empires, respectively, held global sway, insofar as biased reported history is concerned. In addition, the so-called chosen people of God, the Jews, institutionalised their politico-religious practices to ensure their survival amidst Roman imperialism.<P class=StoryText align=justify>Somewhere between 6 - 4 BCE, the Christ was born in Judea of Israelitish parents, to use the OT name for the Jews. Those Israelites, descendants of the OT's Jacob, aka Israel, must not be confused with the modern Israelis whose European-oriented religious customs, skin colour and socio-political practices belie the authentic OT records. It is best to look among the modern Ethiopians for the authentic descendants of the biblical Jews, including the possible resting place of the all-important Ark of the Covenant, said to be hidden in Aksum, Ethiopia, Africa.<P class=StoryText align=justify>Let us summarise the birth of the Christ. Apparently, 17-year-old Miriam (Mary) was engaged to 30-odd-year-old Yosef (Joseph) when an angelic being announced to Miriam that she was pregnant by the Holy Spirit. Since the science of cloning was disclosed, that immaculate conception has become less mysterious. Nevertheless, Miriam and Yosef were not very well accepted among their people and their son, named Yeshua (Joshua or Jesus), was stigmatised a bastard. The NT records the story of Yeshua's claim to be the Messiah (Christ) of Israel, predicted by the OT prophets. It also notes that the Jews of the first century CE rejected Yeshua as Christ and demanded that the Romans crucify him as an imposter. However, the canonised Gospels and apostolic NT writings (especially the Pauline texts) claim that the Christ had to be crucified to effect redemption from sin for all mankind, in the will of the Creator God, named Jehovah, or Jah, for short.<P class=StoryText align=justify>To those who accept the NT record, the teachings of the Christ are mostly clear, though sometimes muddled, especially when the Synoptists vary in their accounts of the same event. Nevertheless, there are certain indisputable Christian doctrines that followers of the Christ cannot ignore. First, love is the bedrock doctrine of the NT Christ.Second, the Christ was a pacifist who opposed wars and condemned even the thought of taking human life. Third, the Christ championed the cause of the poor, the weak and the downtrodden of society. Fourth, the Christ taught that true religion was moreso practical application of love rather than pious practice of rituals. In fact, both the Christ and his apostles, especially John the beloved and James, taught that all the important tenets of Christianity could be summarised in one word: love.<P class=StoryText align=justify>How, therefore, did Christianity become a religion of such hatred, wickedness and murders? Should it not be impossible for Jama

RE: Is Christianity a farce?

Bwoy wi really need the reparation money fi

fix wi education system. We are making noise for a religion that we had thousands of years before the greeks. Look at the first part of the movie Davinci code and you will get a glimpse of the truth. Okay it was not called Jesus and mary 3000 years ago but, yuh know what unnuh carry on.Some things are best left alone.

Reparation money? A when unuh ago start being proactive? Nuh wonder unuh love Manley!

and you don't like joshua ofcourse because you revel

in the idea of 53% illiteracy, masses have no way to decent housing, no way to starting or owning a business, cannot enter the hotels, cannot bathe on the beaches. Thanks man; but you tell me how can such society progress or contribute anything meaningful to the global population.

Can't really blame you for feeling inferior; in

short you don't feel you have it in you. Yes four hundred years of being constantly told that you are inferior will damage. Do your research and you will see that you have been lied to; it's just that you lost a war and has been sold into captivity. You had an empire with vast riches before this happened. Have you considered what was going on in the rest of the world when Europe was in the "dark ages"? Yes there was thriving business and commerce in other Empires. Do your research to know where these empires lied.

Jawge (3/13/2007)and you don't like joshua ofcourse because you revel

in the idea of 53% illiteracy, masses have no way to decent housing, no way to starting or owning a business, cannot enter the hotels, cannot bathe on the beaches. Thanks man; but you tell me how can such society progress or contribute anything meaningful to the global population.
            Never met the man, all I know is that in 72 he got a growing economy and focked it up. Amazingly unuh idolize him for it. In which other country a leader than causes the GDP to depreciate by 25% would be treated like a god? Only Jamaica.

Funny, explain to us why we're now ranked 2nd to last in the caribbean? Oh. .... Black Man Time? Or yuh ago claim those that compile the stats nuh like black people? I forgot, your goal was to go to Doctor's Cave beach, I guess the ppl at the UN HDI should have considered that.

Stop sidddung and rely pon reparation money .,. I know its hard for ppl like you.

Nuh worry bout me, cause truss mi

Jawge good. :P Okay tell us what to do instead of getting aid for the education system. Give us a bright idea on how to raise money. Please don't come with no fool fool talk like last time (cardon off Mobay and ask for ID to enter) Let me hear you Lazie.

cardon off Mobay and ask for ID to enter
                Lazie made no such suggestion. Sitting back and waiting on reparation money is an idiotic method .. then again.

then again? explain yourself. Yuh know start a different thread

and let's discuss this fully (whilst I can spare the time). Right now this thread is about the history of chrsitianity and you obviously have nothing to offer on the subject so start a post on the issue of reparation. BTW who said to sit back on wait? Mi juss sorry say Joshua did mek the drastic and revoltinary change becuase had henot not done so you would not be posting here (you wouldn't even be able to write). Come tell be bout growth and percentages. Go read more an stap mek dem turn yuh inna idiat.

As mi say, you're a cartoon character!

Cho mi can only laugh at you

twice Cartoon is your source of inspiration and for the other part is this quote:"the foolish dog barks at the flying bird". All I can say is that Jawge won't end up in a nursing home Carry on skippy woooeeeeeee. I am happy. Lazie let me not waste anymore of your time see that you are busy working. I have corne to go hang on LOL

Remember,you said this,"<SPAN id=_ctl1_ctlTopic_ctlPanelBar_ctlTopicsRepeater__c tl3_lblFullMessage>Bwoy wi really need the reparation money fi fix wi education system"</SPAN>