• Jamaica 50th song

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Z7cCJ8MpFgU

Big disappointment for me and also the fact that they took it from one of our good producers and gave it to Shaggy.

This doesn't sound as something to celebrate 50, it doesn't sound as if it will last until September.

Another perfect example of politics screwing up something that started out as a good idea and should have been a unifying force rather than a dividing one.

Jamaica 50 song controversy

http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/news/...bration-anthem

Both songs are uninspiring and dull for a 50th anniversary "celebration".

definately, they should have tried harder and as a matter of fact why wouldn't they commission about 3 or 4 top producers and choose the most fitting one. No disrespect to Shaggy at all but for this occassion we need something inspiring.

you hear the Mikey Bennet one? Where it?

I remember the days when ALL the festival (Independent celebration) songs were good.

Maybe my ears have become Lazy...but the dance-hall/DJ blend for such an important song is not doing anything for me. The song should designed to be a classic?

What's up with Roy Rayon?

Seems like a lot of confusing to me. In my opinion a song like this need to start out slow with some strong words and build up and add a little bit of DJying in there but not much.

Don't like the format. It seems like they were building a club song but it wasn't well put together for that either and the lyrics is all over the place.

Bring in a Pied Piper and lead them all to the WATERS. Who can swim - good luck! Just tired of them now. Jeez.............

Here's the song and it sounds flat.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BdE7jq03UtY

Mek We Draw Fi Dis Song

Eric Donaldson (land of my birth)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jgk0yj_rFdc

Funny this is the song that's playing in my mind as soon as this thread started.

This song is among the standard. Anything less won't do.

Maybe Jamaica does not have any musicians [anymore]. Now-a-days the best reggae music comes from 'foreigners'.

The dance-hall ting is like fast-food...empty calories and poor in nutrients.

sound better to me but it still need some touch up. A wonder if a the final production that.

Or this:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8DLeVprkzjw

this is terrible. jamaica and we can find a reggae riddim. Terrible..